ART-MAKING

THE HISTORY OF PRINTMAKING IN HOLMAN

Embossed chop mark

The embossed chop has been used for several years to mark Holman prints. Video still: Alex Poruchnyk, 2000.

Printed chop mark

The printed chop mark was used primarily on stonecuts. The chop was carved into the stone and inked along with the print. © Holman Eskimo Co-operative.

Art Shop, Holman

Art Shop, Holman.
Photo: Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

Burnishing a stonecut print

Burnishing a stonecut print, Holman. Photo: Bernadette Driscoll Engelstad, 1981.

Two Men Hunting a Bear

Harry Egotak b. 1925
Two Men Hunting a Bear 1962 Collection: Holman Eskimo Co-operative

Original sealskin stencil for Two Men Hunting a Bear

Harry Egotak b. 1925
Original sealskin stencil for Two Men Hunting a Bear
Collection: Holman Eskimo
Co-operative

Drawing for Cold and Hungry

The original drawing for Cold and Hungry 1986, Stanley Elonak Klengenberg (1964-1999)

Cold and Hungry

Stanley Elonak Klengenberg
(1964-1999)
Cold and Hungry 1986

PRINTMAKING BASICS

Printmaking is the process of transferring an inked design from one surface to another. A fine art print is called an original because it is produced from a surface - usually a block or plate - that the artist has created. The total number of prints pulled from a block or plate is called a limited edition, which means that the plate or block will never be used to reproduce the image again. Each print must be signed and numbered by the artist (e.g. 2/50 means the second print out of an edition of 50). Unlike original fine art prints, reproductions are photographic copies of images produced on machine-driven presses. They are not considered original even if they are signed and numbered by the artist. Holman artists usually produce an annual collection of 24-30 prints each in limited editions of 35-50. Not included in the edition may be the artist’s proof (AP) or print workshop proof (PWP). Holman prints are marked with the community’s identifying designation or "chop" - an ulu with "Holman" written inside.

 

THE BEGINNINGS OF PRINTMAKING IN HOLMAN

Printmaking enables the community to remember the past, to keep traditional ways of life alive, and to tell community and personal stories. Printmaking in Holman came about in response to the growing need for economic development, and it enabled the community to use the visual arts in place of written history. Father Henri Tardy, a priest who ran the Catholic mission at Holman from 1949 to the early 1980s, was inspired by the success of the arts and crafts enterprises in other Arctic communities. He and a group of artists formed The Holman Eskimo Co-operative in 1961. Four years later, the Holman collection was praised by the Canadian Eskimo Arts Council (CEAC).

 

THE CANADIAN ESKIMO ARTS COUNCIL (CEAC) AND THE CO-OP SYSTEM

CEAC acted as an independent arts advisory council, evaluating the aesthetic, rather than commercial value of Inuit prints from the various northern communities. Through a formal jurying process the Co-op determined which drawings were to be rendered into prints for the annual collections. Communities would present their collections to the CEAC for approval before final editioning and marketing by Canadian Arctic Producers (CAP). Since the dissolution of CEAC in 1989, Co-ops have transported their annual collections directly to CAP which distributes editions to various Canadian and American dealers. The prints are also sold to collectors as far away as Japan, Germany and the United Kingdom. CAP receives a commission for its marketing function with the bulk of the revenue returning to the artists and the community. The artists are paid for individual drawings while printers are paid per print. Some artists, however, have begun to sell their work privately.

 

THE EVOLUTION OF PRINTMAKING IN HOLMAN

As printmaking continued, Holman prints were soon characterized by crisp silhouettes and a limited use of colour. Stencil and lithography were introduced to the print shop in 1976 when John Rose was hired as manager. The stonecut process became decreasingly popular with the artists due to the health risks associated with the dust it created. The Holman printmakers expressed some regret about the loss of the vigorous stonecut technique which was addressed by introducing woodblock printing. Unfortunately, a number of woodcuts had a cartoon-like character that proved unpopular with southern collectors, and its use declined thereafter.

Since 1986 the main techniques have been stencilling and lithography which allow for the detailed, naturalistic depictions that are now the main interest of Holman artists. Initially, sealskin was used to produce stencils.

Later, wax paper was used. This process is described by Mary K.Okheena:

To make our stencil paper, we would heat a flat copper sheet in the oven until it was hot enough to melt wax. Wax was then poured evenly over the top of the copper plate. Next, a piece of drawing paper was placed on top and left there until the wax adhered to the paper. We would then peel it off, and hang it up to dry. While the plate was still warm enough, we would put another layer of wax on it, another sheet of paper on that, peel it off, and hang it to dry. The plate would then be washed in soapy water, dried, and we would do the whole process again until we had enough waxed paper to do a number of prints. This was what we used for our stencil paper.

Stencil has evolved into a very precise technique using mylar, a polyester film, a technique Elsie Klengenberg in particular has developed to great effect. The growing popularity of stencilling transformed the nature of Holman prints allowing artists to create delicate tonal gradations in their images. Forms appear three-dimensional and colours are mixed to create a variety of hues. Through lithography, like drawing, it is also possible to realize a high degree of detail. Most recently, printmakers have also experimented with acid-free etching.

 

DRAWINGS TO PRINTS

Prints begin with an original drawing. Sometimes, the person who draws the image is not the one that translates it into a print. Many artists only do the drawings and are not at all involved in the printing process. Other artists, such as Louie Nigiyok, have become adept at the printing process and work exclusively as a printmaker for other artists. The example of Stanley Klengenberg’s Cold and Hungry shows how faithfully the drawing is translated into print.

Mary K. Okheena recalls that it was challenging to create stencil prints from the artists’ pencil line drawings. Her descriptions of the process attest to the close working relationship between artist and printmaker:

It was sometimes frustrating if you colour it one way and then you go to the artist, who would say it wasn’t right. So you would have to do it over again. I found that it was best to let the artists trace a drawing [onto another piece of paper] and then I would have them take it home and put colours on it with felt markers. Then they would give it to me. That was easier than me putting in the colours and them telling me they didn’t like them!

The ability of Holman artists to change, develop, and adapt has allowed their production to continue and remain vibrant for over forty years. Artists are now well-known for the unique Holman graphic spirit - detailed, naturalistic depictions produced through delicate tonal gradations and the depiction of spatial depth.

 

<Back to Top

Français

 

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. All Rights Reserved.


 

The Winnipeg Art Gallery
Home     Life in Holman     Artists     Art-Making     Gallery     Storytelling
Classroom Connections     Games     Glossary     References/Further Research     Credits     Comments

LES ARTS VISUELS

HISTORIQUE DE LA GRAVURE À HOLMAN

Le ulu embossé

Le ulu embossé fait office d’estampille pour la Holman depuis bon nombre d’années.
Image vidéo : Alex Poruchnyk, 2000.

L’estampille en forme de ulu

Au départ, l’estampille en forme de ulu était utilisée uniquement sur les gravures sur pierre. Le ulu était sculpté dans la pierre et encré. © Holman Eskimo Co-operative.

Atelier, Holman

Atelier, Holman.
Photo : Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

Brunissage d’une gravure sur pierre

Brunissage d’une gravure sur pierre, Holman. Photo : Bernadette Driscoll Engelstad, 1981.

Deux hommes chassant un ours

Harry Egotak, né en 1925
Deux hommes chassant un ours, 1962
Collection : Holman Eskimo Co-operative

Pochoir original en peau de phoque utilisé pour imprimer Deux hommes chassant un ours

Harry Egotak, né en 1925
Pochoir original en peau de phoque utilisé pour imprimer Deux hommes chassant un ours
Collection : Holman Eskimo Co-operative

Dessin de Transi et affamé

Dessin original de Transi et affamé, 1985?, Stanley Elonak Klengenberg (1964-1999)

Transi et affamé

Stanley Elonak Klengenberg
(1964-1999)
Transi et affamé 1986

LES PRINCIPES DE LA GRAVURE

La gravure est un procédé consistant à transférer une création encrée d'une surface à une autre. La gravure d'art, ou originale, a été produite à partir d'une surface (généralement un bloc ou une plaque) créée par l'artiste. On dit du nombre total de gravures produites à partir d'un même bloc ou d'une même plaque que ce sont des gravures à tirage limité, c'est-à-dire que la plaque ou le bloc ne seront plus utilisés à des fins de reproduction. Chaque gravure est signée et numérotée par l'artiste (p. ex. 2/50 précise qu'il s'agit de la deuxième gravure produite sur 50). Contrairement à la gravure d'art, la reproduction est un procédé de photocopie d'images effectué au moyen d’une presse. Les reproductions ne sont pas considérées comme des originales même si elles sont signées et numérotées par l'artiste. Les artistes de Holman produisent annuellement en moyenne de 24 à 30 gravures dont le tirage est limité entre 35 et 50 exemplaires. Les épreuves d'artiste et les épreuves d'atelier n’en font cependant pas partie. Les gravures de la Holman portent l’estampille de la communauté, soit un ulu portant le nom Holman.

 

LES DÉBUTS DE LA GRAVURE À HOLMAN

La gravure de reproduction permet à la communauté de revivre le passé, de conserver son mode de vie traditionnel et de raconter des histoires d’ordre collectif ou individuel. À Holman, la gravure est venue répondre aux besoins croissants en matière de développement économique, et elle a permise aux membres de la communauté de recourir aux arts visuels plutôt qu’à la création de contes. Le père Henri Tardy, prêtre responsable de la mission catholique à Holman de 1949 au début des années 1980, s’est inspiré de la réussite des commerces d’œuvres d’art et d’artisanat d’autres communautés de l’Arctique. Il s’est joint à un groupe d’artistes pour créer la Holman Eskimo Co-operative en 1961. Quatre ans plus tard, la collection Holman a reçu les éloges du Conseil canadien des arts esquimaux.

 

LE CONSEIL CANADIEN DES ARTS ESQUIMAUX (CCAE) ET LE SYSTÈME COOPÉRATIF

Le Conseil canadien des arts esquimaux agissait à titre de conseil consultatif en œuvres d’art indépendant, évaluant le côté esthétique plutôt que la valeur commerciale des gravures inuit des diverses communautés nordiques. La coopérative recourait à un jury pour déterminer quels dessins serviraient à produire les gravures qui formeraient les collections annuelles. Les communautés devaient présenter leurs collections au Conseil pour approbation avant que les Canadian Arctic Producers (CAP) puissent procéder au tirage et à la commercialisation du produit. Depuis la dissolution du Conseil canadien des arts esquimaux en 1989, les coopératives remettent leurs collections annuelles directement aux Canadian Arctic Producers qui distribuent leurs reproductions aux dépositaires canadiens et américains. Les gravures sont également vendues à des collectionneurs d’aussi loin que le Japon, l’Allemagne et le Royaume-Uni. Les CAP reçoivent une commission pour avoir fait office de fonction commerciale mais la plus grande part des recettes revient aux artistes et à la communauté. Les artistes sont payés au dessin alors que les graveurs sont payés à la gravure. Cependant, certains artistes ont commencé à vendre leurs œuvres individuellement.

 

L’ÉVOLUTION DE LA GRAVURE DE REPRODUCTION À HOLMAN

Au fil du temps, les gravures de la Holman ont été rapidement caractérisées par des silhouettes épurées et une utilisation limitée de la couleur. Le pochoir et la lithographie ont fait leur apparition dans l’atelier en 1976, moment ou John Rose est engagé pour diriger l’atelier. Le procédé de gravure sur pierre devient de moins en moins populaire auprès des artistes en raison des risques de la poussière de pierre pour la santé. Les graveurs de Holman regrettent la disparition de l’intéressante technique de la gravure sur pierre au profit de la gravure sur bois. Malheureusement, un certain nombre de gravures sur bois représentent un personnage fantaisiste qui n’est pas populaire auprès des collectionneurs du sud du pays, et l’utilisation de ce type de gravure commence peu après à décroître.

Depuis 1986, les principales techniques utilisées sont le marquage au pochoir et la lithographie. Ces deux techniques permettent des descriptions détaillées et naturalistes qui constituent maintenant le principal intérêt des artistes de Holman.

Plus tard, les artistes commencèrent à utiliser du papier ciré. Mary K.Okheena décrit ce procédé :

Pour préparer notre papier à pochoir, nous chauffions une plaque de cuivre au four jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit suffisamment chaude pour faire fondre de la paraffine. Nous versions alors celle-ci de façon égale sur la plaque de cuivre. Ensuite, nous mettions une feuille de papier à dessiner par-dessus et attendions que la paraffine adhère bien au papier. Nous devions l’enlever et l’accrocher pour que cela sèche. Pendant que la plaque était encore chaude, nous y remettions une nouvelle couche de paraffine, puis une autre feuille de papier. Nous attendions, l’enlevions et l’accrochions pour qu’elle sèche. Nous devions ensuite laver la plaque avec de l’eau savonneuse, la sécher et recommencer tout le procédé, jusqu’à ce que nous ayons suffisamment de papier paraffiné pour réaliser le nombre de gravures voulues. Ce papier nous servait de papier à pochoir.

La méthode du pochoir est devenue une technique de précision effectuée au moyen du mylar (film de polyester), une technique qu’Elsie Klengenberg, entre autres, a développé pour créer des effets spectaculaires. La popularité croissante du pochoir a transformé la nature des gravures de Holman et permet aux artistes de créer des progressions de luminances dans leurs oeuvres. Les formes semblent tridimensionnelles et les couleurs sont mélangées pour créer une variété étonnante de nuances personnelles. La lithographie permet la création d’œuvres aussi détaillées que le dessin. De plus, les artistes ont récemment fait des expériences de gravures sans acide.

 

DU DESSIN À LA GRAVURE

Avant d’avoir une gravure, on doit créer un dessin original. Il arrive parfois que la personne qui dessine l’image ne soit pas celle qui en fait une gravure. Bon nombre d’artistes s’en tiennent uniquement au dessin et ne participent pas au processus de gravure d’impression. D’autres artistes, comme Louie Nigiyok, sont très intéressés par ce processus et font exclusivement de la gravure pour d’autres artistes. L’exemple de Stanley Klengenberg Transi et affamé montre avec quelle fidélité l’image peut être rendue.

Mary K. Okheena se rappelle qu’il était difficile de créer des gravures au pochoir à partir de dessins au trait de crayon. Ses descriptions du procédé montrent bien les relations de travail intimes qui existent entre l’artiste et le graveur :

Il m’arrivait de me décourager lorsque je coloriais d’une façon et que j’allais consulter l’artiste qui trouvait simplement à me dire que cela n’allait pas. Il fallait donc tout recommencer. J’aimais mieux laisser les artistes calquer leur dessin (sur une autre feuille) et leur demander de l’apporter chez eux pour le colorier au moyen de feutres. Ils n’avaient ensuite qu’à me le rendre. C’était plus facile que d’avoir à tout recommencer lorsqu’ils me disaient que cela ne leur plaisait pas.

L’habileté des artistes de Holman à changer, modifier et adapter a permis la poursuite d’une production vivante pendant plus de quarante ans. Les artistes de Holman sont maintenant bien connus pour leur style graphique unique : une progression de luminances tendres et une représentation de la profondeur donnant lieu à des descriptions détaillées et naturalistes.

 

Début

 

English

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. Tous droits réservés.


 

Le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg
Introduction     La vie à Holman     Les artistes    Les arts visuels     Galerie     Les contes
Liens pédagogiques     Jeux     Glossaire     Références et autres recherches     Crédits     Vos commentaires