ART-MAKING

PRINTMAKING TECHNIQUES

Children Playing Games at Daycare

Julia Manoyok Ekpakohak b. 1968
Printmaker: Louie Nigiyok b. 1960
Children Playing Games at Daycare 1999

ACID-FREE ETCHING

A metal plate is covered with a resist, portions of which are removed by the artist to create an image. The image plate is put in a tank filled with a conducting solution with the positive pole of the power source connected to it and the negative pole to another metal plate. When a low voltage current is generated, the electricity etches the image by moving the exposed metal to the other plate. The etched image plate is removed from the tank, cleaned, inked and printed.

 

Wolves and Caribou

Peter Palvik b. 1960
Wolves and Caribou 2000

LITHOGRAPHY

The artist draws an image directly on a stone block or a zinc or aluminum plate using a grease crayon and a separate plate for each colour. A mixture of acid and gum arabic etches the surface of the plate and fixes the image to it. Areas drawn with the grease crayon are more receptive to water. Water is then sponged over the surface and greasy ink is applied with a roller. The ink adheres to the drawn image, but is repelled by the dampened areas. Sheets of paper are placed on the plate and they are put through a printing press transferring the image from plate to paper.

 

Big and Small

Elsie Klengenberg b. 1946
Big and Small 1991

STENCIL

Using the original drawing, the artist cuts a mylar stencil for each colour to be used. The image is then transferred directly to paper by applying ink through the open space of the stencils using stiff stippling brushes. The artist is able to control the texture of the colour by varying the intensity of the paint giving the effect of soft, brushed colour. Colours are applied in sequence throughout the whole edition of the print.

 

Don't Be So Noisy

Helen Kalvak (1901-1984)
Printmaker: Harry Egotak b. 1925
Don't Be So Noisy 1969

STONECUT

The image to be printed is left in relief with the negative space chiseled away from the stone. A soft rubber roller is used to apply the ink. All colours are applied at once. Paper is placed over the inked stone, transferring the image from stone to paper.

 

Bear Tracks

Mary K. Okheena b. 1957
Printmakers: Susie Malgokak b. 1955, Louie Nigiyok b. 1960
Bear Tracks 1992

WOODCUT

The artist creates an image on the surface of a block of wood, chiselling away on either side of the lines, leaving the image in relief. Paper is placed over the inked block and pressure (burnishing) is applied allowing the ink to be transferred from the woodblock to paper. As each colour is printed separately, the process is repeated until all colours are applied.

 

Printmaking demonstrations on video (Alex Poruchnyk, 2000)


Stencil printmaking demonstration by Elsie Klengenberg

Stencil printmaking demonstration by Elsie Klengenberg.

 


Lithography demonstration by Peter Palvik

Lithography demonstration by Peter Palvik.

 


Stonecut printmaking demonstration by Harry Egotak

Stonecut printmaking demonstration by Harry Egotak.

 

Back to Top

Français

 

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. All Rights Reserved.


The Winnipeg Art Gallery
Home     Life in Holman     Artists     Art-Making     Gallery     Storytelling
Classroom Connections     Games     Glossary     References/Further Research     Credits     Comments

LES ARTS VISUELS

TECHNIQUES DE LA GRAVURE

Enfants s'amusant à la garderie

Julia Manoyok Ekpakohak,
née en 1968
Graveur d’art : Louie Nigiyok
né en 1960
Enfants s’amusant à la garderie, 1999

GRAVURE SANS ACIDE

Une plaque métallique est couverte d’un agent de réserve, et l’artiste en enlève une partie pour créer une image. Il place ensuite la plaque dans un réservoir rempli d’une solution conductrice en prenant soin de brancher la polarité positive de la source d’alimentation à la plaque, et la polarité négative à une autre plaque métallique. Lorsqu’un flux de basse tension est produit, l’électricité mord l’image en attirant le métal exposé vers l’autre plaque. La plaque contenant l’image gravée est enlevée du bassin, nettoyée, encrée et imprimée.

 

Loups et caribous

Peter Palvik, né en 1960
Loups et caribous, 2000

LITHOGRAPHIE

L’artiste dessine une image directement sur un bloc de pierre ou sur une plaque de zinc ou d’aluminium au moyen d’un pastel gras, en ajoutant chaque couleur à tour de rôle. Un mélange d’acide et de gomme arabique mord la surface de la plaque et y fixe l’image. Les zones remplies de pastel gras sont plus réceptives à l’eau. On étend l’eau au moyen d’une éponge sur toute la surface et on applique ensuite une encre grasse au rouleau. L’encre adhère à l’image mais est chassée des zones mouillées. Finalement, des feuilles de papier sont placées sur la plaque et traversent une presse à imprimer où l’image figurant sur la plaque sera transférée sur le papier.

 

Grand et petit

Elsie Klengenberg, née en 1946
Grand et petit, 1991

POCHOIR

Au moyen du dessin original, l’artiste découpe un pochoir en mylar pour chaque couleur qui sera utilisée. L’artiste transfert ensuite l’image directement sur le papier en appliquant de l’encre sur toute la surface libre des pochoirs au moyen de putois raides. Il peut modifier la texture de la couleur en variant l’intensité de la peinture pour donner un effet de couleurs tendres et brossées. Les couleurs sont appliquées en séquences tout au long du tirage.

 

Ne faites pas tant de bruit

Helen Kalvak (1901-1984)
Graveur d’art : Harry Egotak, né en 1925
Ne faites pas tant de bruit, 1969

GRAVURE SUR PIERRE

L’image qui doit être imprimée figure en relief sur la pierre, et les zones inutiles ont été détachées de la pierre. Pour appliquer l’encre, on utilise un rouleau en caoutchouc mou. Toutes les couleurs sont appliquées en même temps. Pour transférer l’image de la pierre au papier, il suffit de placer la feuille de papier sur la pierre encrée.

 

Sur la piste des ours

Mary K. Okheena, née en 1957
Graveurs d’art : Susie Malgokak, née en 1955 et Louie Nigiyok, né en 1960
Sur la piste des ours, 1992

GRAVURE SUR BOIS

L’artiste doit créer une image sur la surface d’un bloc de bois et rogner les pièces indésirables pour créer une image en relief. Il suffit ensuite de placer une feuille de papier sur le bloc encré et d’appliquer une certaine pression (brunissage) de manière à ce que l’encre soit transférée du bloc de bois à la feuille. Comme chaque couleur est appliquée séparément, il faut répéter ce procédé jusqu’à ce qu’elles aient toutes été appliquées.

 

Démonstrations de techniques d’impression sur vidéo (Alex Poruchnyk, 2000)

Démonstration d’impression au pochoir par Elsie Klengenberg

Démonstration d’impression au pochoir par Elsie Klengenberg

 


Démonstration de lithographie par Peter Palvik

Démonstration de lithographie par Peter Palvik

 


Démonstration de gravure sur pierre par Harry Egotak

Démonstration de gravure sur pierre par Harry Egotak

 

Début

 

English

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. Tous droits réservés.


Le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg
Introduction     La vie à Holman     Les artistes    Les arts visuels     Galerie     Les contes
Liens pédagogiques     Jeux     Glossaire     Références et autres recherches     Crédits     Vos commentaires