CLASSROOM CONNECTIONS

LETTER TO TEACHERS

Welcome to Classroom Connections, the education component of Holman: Forty Years of Graphic Art. Please take a few minutes to read this page to find out how the site is organized and how you and your students can use it most effectively. The program is divided into nine content themes differentiated at three levels. Links to each theme are provided in the black navigation bar above.

Some themes may be suitable to older or younger students within the levels. For example, the Spatial Perception middle years theme may be better suited to ages 12-14 than to ages 10-12. The early and middle years themes are written to the teacher, while the senior+ themes are written to the student and include some suggested group activities that may require teacher facilitation. Each theme uses a selection of Holman prints as its starting point for inquiry, displaying a subgallery of relevant prints selected from the Holman: Forty Years of Graphic Art Web site main gallery, as well as other photos and images. The main curricular content areas addressed in Classroom Connections are art appreciation and social studies, but the suggested activities are designed to incorporate interdisciplinary, multi-modal aspects wherever possible.

The Winnipeg Art Gallery strives to engage people in the visual arts and to preserve and promote the cultural heritage of the Inuit. Therefore, the main educational goals used to design content are:

  • to stimulate interest in art and its communicative possibilities
  • to help students relate their own lives with those of people from another culture
  • to understand Inuit art in the context of Inuit culture as a reflection of beliefs, lifestyle and point of view
  • to appreciate that Inuit artists have a variety of individual points of view and artistic styles
  • to help students make connections between art and society.

As with any ready-made general instructional materials, Internet-based instruction may require some adjustment by the teacher to adapt the themes to their particular classrooms. Please feel free to use the suggested activities in any way that works best for you, keeping in mind the above goals. The Web site pages can be printed out for your use, with text appearing in black on a white background. To print Web site pages choose landscape format from your printer settings. To print pop-up windows press "control P" if you are using a PC or "command P" if you are using a MAC, and choose portrait format.

For best results when viewing video clips, ensure that your computer has the latest version of QuickTime (download at http://www.quicktime.com).

The site can be used in a variety of ways both in and out of the classroom --- as a supplement, as an alternative textbook or in a computer lab at school. It includes activities to be explored both on and off the computer. Although the site is designed to be self-sustaining (we are unable to offer ongoing monitored online interactivity with The Winnipeg Art Gallery, such as chatrooms), it utilizes the information technology in several other ways:

  • Using Internet technology liberates the cultural assets of museums from exhibition spaces and vaults, and can thus bring the art and life of a remote northern Canadian community to the attention of the rest of the world.
  • Much of the background information required for Classroom Connections activities can be found by linking within other sections of the site, such as Life in Holman or Art-Making. We also provide many photos and video clips as well as a Glossary and a References/Further Research section. The References/Further Research section combines both print and Internet references, but the Internet links provided are meant to be used as suggested examples only. Although we will attempt to keep these links updated, the viability of the Internet resources listed is beyond our control. Therefore, it is best to think of them as one suggested resource.
  • Some interactive games are provided.
  • Learning activities often lend themselves to further types of telecomputing options such as the collection of information from the Internet, electronic publishing (e.g. posting student artwork or other projects on your school’s Web site), and collaborative learning with other classrooms.

For further information and examples of these types of options, please see:

About SchoolNet SA (South Africa)
SchoolNet SA:
http://www.school.za/schoolnet/about.htm

ArtsConnectEd
Minneapolis Institute of Art and Walker Art Center:
http://artsconnected.org/

Classroom Connect: Site Map (Teacher Contact Database)
Classroom Connect:
http://www.classroom.net/tools/sitemap/sitemap.jhtml

Education World: Site Reviews: Archives: Teachers
Education World, Inc.:
http://www.education-world.com/awards/past/topics/teachers.shtml

Education World Site Reviews Center
Education World, Inc.:
http://www.education-world.com/awards/past/topics/internet.shtml

iEARN Projects
iEARN-USA:
http://www.iearn.org/projects/index.html

Intercultural E-Mail Classroom Connections
Mighty Media, Inc.:
http://www.iecc.org/

TEAMS Distance Learning: Classroom Projects
Los Angeles County Office of Education:
http://teams.lacoe.edu/documentation/projects/projects.html

Rogers, A., Andres, Y., Jacks, M. & Clauset, T. Telecommunications In The Classroom: Keys to Successful Telecomputing
University of Illinois Learning Resource Server:
http://lrs.ed.uiuc.edu/Guidelines/RAJC.html

Walker Art Centre Education and Community Programs
Walker Art Centre:
http://www.walkerart.org/education/

 

We hope you enjoy Holman: Forty Years of Graphic Art.
The Winnipeg Art Gallery staff

Back to Top

Français

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. All Rights Reserved.


 

The Winnipeg Art Gallery
Home     Life in Holman     Artists     Art-Making     Gallery     Storytelling
Classroom Connections     Games     Glossary     References/Further Research     Credits     Comments

LIENS PÉDAGOGIQUES

LETTRE AUX ENSEIGNANTS

Bienvenue aux liens pédagogiques, la composante pédagogique de Holman : Quarante ans d’art graphique. Veuillez prendre quelques minutes et lire cette page afin de comprendre comment le site est organisé et de savoir comment l’utiliser à son plein potentiel. Le programme est divisé en neuf thèmes qui se différencient à trois niveaux. Vous trouverez des liens vers chaque thème dans la barre de navigation noire ci-dessus.

Quelques thèmes s’adressent soit aux jeunes élèves soit aux élèves plus vieux. Par exemple, le thème La perception spatiale des années intermédiaires s’adresse aux élèves de 12 à 14 ans plutôt qu’aux élèves de 10 à 12 ans. Les thèmes des années primaires et intermédiaires sont écrites à l’intention de l’enseignant et les thèmes du secondaire s’adressent aux élèves. Ces thèmes comportent des suggestions d’activités de groupe qui peuvent faire intervenir l’enseignant comme animateur. Chaque thème utilise une sélection de gravures de la collection Holman comme point de départ. On crée une sous-galerie de gravures pertinentes choisies à partir de la galerie principale du site Web de Holman : Quarante ans d’art graphique, ainsi que d’autres photographies et images. Les principaux domaines abordés dans les liens pédagogiques sont l’appréciation de l’art et les sciences humaines. Toutefois, les activités suggérées visent à intégrer, autant que possible, plusieurs disciplines et des aspects plurimodaux.

Le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg tente d’amener les personnes à apprécier les arts visuels, à préserver et à promouvoir le patrimoine culturel inuit. Les principaux objectifs pédagogiques derrière la conception du contenu sont :

  • stimuler l’intérêt face aux arts et ses possibilités de communication;
  • permettre aux élèves de faire le lien entre leur propre vie et celle de personnes d’une autre culture;
  • comprendre l’art inuit dans le contexte de la culture inuite comme réflexion sur les croyances, le style de vie et le point de vue;
  • reconnaître que les artistes inuits ont divers points de vue individuels et styles artistiques;
  • permettre aux élèves de faire des liens entre l’art et la société.

L’enseignant devra peut-être adapter, selon sa classe, le matériel d’enseignement sur Internet, comme pour tout matériel pédagogique général déjà préparé. N’hésitez pas à utiliser les suggestions d’activités de la manière vous convenant le mieux, en ne perdant pas de vue les objectifs. Vous pouvez imprimer les pages Web; le texte s’imprimera en noir sur un fond blanc. Choisissez le format « Paysage » dans les propriétés de votre imprimante. Pour imprimer les fenêtres, appuyez sur « Ctrl et P » si vous utilisez un PC et sur « Commande P » si vous utilisez un Mac, et choisissez l’option « Portrait ».

Pour bien visionner les vidéoclips, téléchargez la dernière version de QuickTime (http://www.quicktime.com).

Vous pouvez utiliser le site de diverses manières, en classe ou à l’extérieur de la classe, comme activité supplémentaire, comme alternative au manuel scolaire ou dans le laboratoire d’informatique. Il y a des activités à faire avec l’ordinateur ou sans. Bien que le site a été conçu afin d’être utilisé de manière autonome (puisque le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg ne peut pas échanger en ligne, de manière continue, dans des forums de discussion par exemple), il fait appel aux technologies de l’information de plusieurs autres manières :

  • L’utilisation des technologies Internet libère les musées, tout particulièrement les salles d’exposition et les voûtes, permettant aussi au monde entier de découvrir l’art et la vie d’une communauté canadienne du Nord.
  • La majorité de l’information requise pour les activités des Liens pédagogiques se trouvent dans d’autres sections du site, comme La vie à Holman ou Les arts visuels. Nous fournissons aussi de nombreuses photographies et beaucoup de vidéoclips, ainsi qu’un lexique et une section Référence. Cette section comprend des références électroniques et des références sur papier. Cependant, les liens Internet fournis doivent être utilisés comme des suggestions d’exemples seulement. Bien que nous tentons de maintenir les liens à jour, la durabilité des ressources Internet est hors de notre contrôle. C’est pourquoi il est préférable de les considérer comme des suggestions de ressources.
  • Certains jeux interactifs sont offerts.
  • Les activités d’apprentissage se prêtent souvent à d’autres types d’activités comme la collecte de renseignements à partir d’Internet, la publication en ligne (p. ex., afficher les œuvres des élèves ou d’autres projets sur le site Web de votre école) et un apprentissage en collaboration avec d’autres groupes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements et exemples sur ces possibilités, visitez les sites Web suivants :

About SchoolNet SA (Afrique du Sud)
SchoolNet SA:
http://www.school.za/schoolnet/about.htm

ArtsConnectEd
Minneapolis Institute of Art and Walker Art Center:
http://artsconnected.org/

Classroom Connect: Site Map (Base de données d’enseignants)
Classroom Connect:
http://www.classroom.net/tools/sitemap/sitemap.jhtml

Education World: Site Reviews: Archives: Teachers
Education World, Inc.:
http://www.education-world.com/awards/past/topics/teachers.shtml

Education World Site Reviews Center
Education World, Inc.:
http://www.education-world.com/awards/past/topics/internet.shtml

iEARN Projects
iEARN-USA:
http://www.iearn.org/projects/index.html

Intercultural E-Mail
Mighty Media, Inc.:
http://www.iecc.org/

TEAMS Distance Learning: Classroom Projects
Los Angeles County Office of Education:
http://teams.lacoe.edu/documentation/projects/projects.html

Rogers, A., Andres, Y., Jacks, M. & Clauset, T. Telecommunications In The Classroom: Keys to Successful Telecomputing
University of Illinois Learning Resource Server:
http://lrs.ed.uiuc.edu/Guidelines/RAJC.html

Walker Art Centre Education and Community Programs
Walker Art Centre:
http://www.walkerart.org/education/

 

Nous espérons que vous avez aimé Holman : Quarante ans d’art graphique.
Le personnel du Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg

Début

English

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. Tous droits réservés.


 

Le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg
Introduction     La vie à Holman     Les artistes    Les arts visuels     Galerie     Les contes
Liens pédagogiques     Jeux     Glossaire     Références et autres recherches     Crédits     Vos commentaires