LIFE IN HOLMAN

SPIRITUAL BELIEFS

Anglican mission in Holman

The Anglican mission in Holman. Photo: Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

Interior of the Roman Catholic mission in Holman

The interior of the Roman Catholic mission in Holman which is now a museum. Photo: Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

SHAMANISM

The traditional Inuit belief system centered on the power and abilities of the shaman or angatkut. In this system, everything had a soul or spirit. Shamans acted as intermediaries between human and spirit worlds, sometimes transforming themselves into the shape of their spirit helpers in their shamanic performances to facilitate this connection. Shamans could also be healers. A close relationship to animal spirits is apparent in many aspects of Inuit life and culture. People depended greatly on animals for food, shelter, and clothing; thus, maintaining good relations with the world of animal spirits was of utmost importance.

 

CHRISTIAN MISSIONS

In the early 20th century, the first Christian missionaries entered the region around Prince Albert Sound in search of converts. The Anglican missionaries were quite successful, although they did not build a permanent structure in the area until 1962. By the time Catholic missionaries arrived, building a permanent structure at King’s Bay near Ulukhaktok bluff in 1939, the Anglican mission was already established in the area. Father Tardy, the Catholic priest in Holman from 1949 to the 1980s, was very influential in the Co-op movement of the early 1960s.

In many ways Holman remains a traditional community in which family and social connections are of great importance. Shamanic rituals are no longer a major component in Holman spiritual life, although traditional beliefs still run deep. Of the two Christian missions established, only the Anglican church is still active.

 

Back to Top

 

Français

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. All Rights Reserved.


The Winnipeg Art Gallery
Home     Life in Holman     Artists     Art-Making     Gallery     Storytelling
Classroom Connections     Games     Glossary     References/Further Research     Credits     Comments

LA VIE À HOLMAN

LES CROYANCES

La mission anglicane à Holman

La mission anglicane à Holman.
Photo : Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

L’intérieur de la mission catholique romaine à Holman

L’intérieur de la mission catholique romaine à Holman, aujourd’hui un musée. Photo : Darlene Coward Wight, 2000.

LE CHAMANISME

Il s’agit de la croyance traditionnelle des Inuits, axée sur les pouvoirs et pratiques des chamans, appelés angatkut. Selon cette croyance, chaque être vivant avait une âme ou un esprit. Les chamans jouaient le rôle d’intermédiaire entre le monde des humains et le monde des esprits. Parfois, les chamans se transformaient en animaux et prenaient la forme des esprits-guides, afin de renforcer le lien entre les deux mondes. Les chamans pouvaient également guérir les malades. Un rapport étroit avec les esprits animaux est évident dans de nombreux aspects de la vie et de la culture des Inuits. Ceux-ci dépendaient des animaux pour leur nourriture, leur abri et leurs vêtements. Par conséquent, il était essentiel de maintenir de bonnes relations avec les esprits d’animaux.

 

LES MISSIONS CHRÉTIENNES

Vers le début du XXe siècle, les premiers missionnaires chrétiens arrivèrent dans la région de Prince Albert Sound. Ils cherchaient à convertir les peuples indigènes. Les missionnaires anglicans y ont réussi, mais ce n’était qu’en 1962 qu’ils construisirent une structure permanente dans la région. Lorsque les missionnaires catholiques arrivèrent pour ériger une structure permanente sur la baie King’s, près de la falaise Ulukhaktok, en 1939, la mission anglicane était déjà bien établie dans la région. Le père Tardy, prêtre responsable de la mission catholique à Holman de 1949 aux années 1980, joua un rôle important au sein du mouvement coopératif des années 1960.

Le village de Holman est toujours une communauté traditionnelle dans laquelle la famille et les rapports sociaux jouent un rôle de première importance. Les rites chamaniques ne sont plus une composante principale de la vie spirituelle à Holman, bien que les croyances traditionnelles exercent toujours une influence profonde sur les résidents. Des deux missions chrétiennes établies à Holman, seule l’Église anglicane y est toujours présente.

 

Début

 

English

 

© The Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2002. Tous droits réservés.


Le Musée des beaux-arts de Winnipeg
Introduction     La vie à Holman     Les artistes    Les arts visuels     Galerie     Les contes
Liens pédagogiques     Jeux     Glossaire     Références et autres recherches     Crédits     Vos commentaires