All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Aiden Maloney - Coastal Boats at the Wharf

Aiden Maloney: Talking about what it was like when the coastal boats came into the wharf.

JavaScript must be enabled and the latest Adobe Flash Player must be installed to interact with this page.

Length: 3:59 Min
File Size: 865 MB

Yes, I am pleased to relate to you, my recollections, my reminisces, my memory of the Newfoundland railway boats from the late 1920s and the 30s from my home, which was Kings Cove in Bonavista Bay. A small community of about 500 people maximum. And what I say about Kings Cove I think is probably a reflection of what was taking place between the coastal service and the people of the community in about several hundred communities around Newfoundland. At that time, there may have been as many as a thousand small communities around the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador.

So my immediate reflection of the Newfoundland railway, of course, is - the - its appearance in our lives - once - at least once a week, from the middle of May until the end of December. When the Coastal boat came on regular a bases bringing passengers - bringing the things that we needed from St. John's and elsewhere. Bringing the mail which was important. Bringing us newspapers and - but outstanding among all that was the appearance of new faces - which the - which the railway boats brought in their passengers.

We had by virtue of the fact that Kings Cove was isolated because of the- there was no railway and the roads were not plowed in the wintertime. The railway boat was our first contact in mid-may with the outside world. And then from, of course, from December until - mid - late December until mid-May we were -in essence - looking - just looking at each other in the community. And the arrival of the coastal boat brought a whole number of new faces, sometimes a lot of passengers, sometimes people moving to other communities or moving to Labrador. And it was customary for the - local - the locals in the community to gather at the wharf where the coastal boat arrived and to stay there and observe the passengers as they came ashore for a walk. And - to -, that - probably last - would last about an hour. But most of the people who were free to move, and most of them were, took in this social occasion. Very little conversation except a polite, good day or a comment on the weather, or that sort of thing. And - a - but it was generally mainly to see new people, and to wonder what they were doing, where were they going, they were all new mysterious characters who entered our lives.

That is one recollection that I have, a very strong one, of course as I say, I think I speak for most of the people who are of my age, which at the time I was in my teens, It would apply to most areas in Newfoundland.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Aiden Maloney - Les navires côtiers au quai

Aiden Maloney: Souvenirs des caboteurs qui accostaient au quai.

JavaScript doit être activé et la dernière version d'Adobe Flash Player doit être installé pour interagir avec cette page

Durée: 3:59 Min
La taille du fichier: 865 Mo
Transcription

Oui, je suis heureux de vous raconter mes souvenirs, mes expériences et mes aventures concernant les caboteurs du Newfoundland Railway de la fin des années 1920 et des années 1930 de mon patelin, King's Cove, dans la baie de Bonavista. Une petite localité d'environ 500 personnes au maximum. Et je crois que ce que je dis au sujet de King's Cove reflète probablement ce qui se passait entre le service côtier et les gens dans une centaine de localités de Terre-Neuve. À cette époque, il y avait jusqu'à un millier de petites localités sur la côte de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Donc, ma réflexion immédiate concernant le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve porte bien entendu sur son passage dans nos vies, au moins une fois par semaine, de la mi-mai à la fin décembre. Lorsque le caboteur venait régulièrement apporter des passagers et les choses dont nous avions besoin de St. John's et d'ailleurs. Il nous apportait aussi la poste. C'était important. Et il nous apportait les journaux, mais surtout, on voyait de nouveaux visages. Les caboteurs du chemin de fer nous apportaient de nouveaux visages et des passagers.

King's Cove était isolé. Il y avait le chemin de fer, mais les routes n'étaient pas déneigées l'hiver. Le caboteur du chemin de fer était notre premier contact avec le monde à la mi-mai. Par la suite, bien sûr, de décembre, de la mi-décembre ou de la fin de décembre jusqu'à la mi-mai, nous nous contentions essentiellement de nous reluquer les uns les autres dans la localité. Et l'arrivée du caboteur amenait tout un lot de nouveaux visages, parfois beaucoup de passagers, parfois des gens qui déménageaient dans d'autres localités ou au Labrador. Et les gens du coin avaient l'habitude de se rassembler au quai où le caboteur arrivait afin d'observer les passagers qui débarquaient pour marcher sur la côte. Cela durait environ une heure. La plupart des gens qui pouvaient se déplacer librement, et la plupart le pouvaient, profitaient de cette occasion sociale. On faisait peu de conversation, sauf pour un bonjour poli, un commentaire sur le temps ou quelque chose du genre. Et, ah! C'était surtout pour voir des personnes nouvelles et se demander ce qu'elles faisaient, où elles allaient. C'étaient tous de nouveaux personnages mystérieux qui entraient dans nos vies.

Voilà un souvenir que j'ai, un souvenir très vivant, semblable bien sûr aux souvenirs probables de la plupart des gens de mon âge. À cette époque, j'étais adolescent. Cela s'appliquerait à la plupart des régions de Terre-Neuve.