All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Interactive Map

Lewisporte

People gathered at station wharf in Lewisporte, 1940s.
Lewisporte was an important stop for trains and coastal boats and it became the major port to northern Newfoundland and Labrador. Between 1906 to 1909 the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Company mill at Grand Falls was being constructed. As no rail or road connection to Botwood had been made, construction materials and machinery for this project came through this port. Fabian Kennedy Collection.
One of the early trains with its crew in Lewisporte, ca. 1906.
In the late 1930s, construction began on Gander Airport, and coal, oil, gas, and construction materials were transported from here to the construction site. Following the start of World War II in September 1939, Lewisporte was a very busy terminal as it became an important base of operations for the Canadian forces. The supply of aviation fuel for Gander was viewed to be of such military importance that guns were set up to defend against possible attacks by German U-boats. CN Pensioners Collection.
A branchline mixed train ready to leave Lewisporte for Bishop's Falls in the early 1950s.
Here you can see the Manual Hotel standing high above surrounding buildings. A coal burning 90-class locomotive is performing switching duties while boxcars and passenger equipment can be seen on adjoining tracks. Collection Job Blackmore.

Back to Interactive Map

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Plan interactif

Lewisporte

Foule rassemblée sur le quai de la gare de Lewisporte, dans les années 1940.
La ville de Lewisporte était un arrêt important pour les trains et les bateaux côtiers, et elle est devenue le plus grand port de départ vers le nord de Terre-Neuve et le Labrador. De 1906 à 1909, l'Anglo-Newfoundland Development Company a construit son usine de papiers à Grand Falls. Comme il n'y avait aucune route ni voie ferrée pour aller à Botwood, les matériaux de construction et la machinerie pour le projet ont transité par ce port. Collection Fabian Kennedy.
Un ancien train et son équipage à Lewisporte, vers 1906.
De même, à la fin des années 1930, le charbon, le pétrole, le gaz et les matériaux nécessaires à la construction de l'aéroport de Gander ont été transportés à partir d'ici. Après le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en septembre 1939, le terminal de Lewisporte grouillait d'activité, car il est devenu une importante base d'opérations pour les Forces canadiennes. Le ravitaillement en carburant aviation pour Gander revêtait une telle importance militaire que des canons ont été installés pour défendre l'endroit contre des attaques éventuelles de sous-marins allemands. Collection de l'Association des retraités du CN.
Train mixte d'une ligne secondaire au départ de Lewisporte en direction de Bishop's Falls au début des années 1950.
Ici, on peut voir l'hôtel Manual qui domine les immeubles voisins. Une locomotive au charbon de classe 90 exécute des aiguillages, alors que des wagons couverts et des voitures à voyageurs attendent sur des voies attenantes. Collection Job Blackmore.

Retour à la carte interactive