All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Newfoundland Railway

Previous Page Page 9 Next Page

The Telegraph Service

By 1887 telegraph lines were laid from Avondale to Trinity, Catalina and Bonavista, from LaPoile to St. George's, Humbermouth and Tilt Cove, from Shoal Harbour to Gambo and Greenspond, and from Long Harbour to Bay L'Argent, Burin and Fortune, and from Gambo to Fogo, Change Island and Twillingate. In 1892 Colonial Secretary Robert Bond headed an inquiry into the public system, and found that accounts were hopelessly intertwined with those of AAT.

The first trans-atlantic cable was landed in 1865 in Heart's Content, Newfoundland, and a monopoly given to the Anlgo-American Telegraph Company. This "Anglo" telegraph line across southern Newfoundland was of little benefit to the Railway and left the north coast without service. Government needed a telegraph service and in 1893 contracted Reid to build it. Reid purchased it in the 1898 contract. Government re-purchased it in 1901 for $1.5 million, as determined by arbitration. Government built a new telegraph line along the railway, and Reid's station managers provided the service.

The dispatching office was the nerve centre of the railway, controlling the movement of all trains at any given time. For a number of years, the line was divided in two, the western division being controlled from Bishop's Falls, and the eastern division from St. John's.

Along with running the railway, R.G. Reid was contractually bound to install a telegraph line beside the track. In 1898 Reid purchased the existing telegraph line for $125,000 and agreed to operate the system for an annual subsidy of $10,000. In 1905 Reid sold the telegraph service to Newfoundland Postal Telegraphs for $1,500,000.

Much of the Newfoundland Railway led through remote, underdeveloped areas. Traffic movements were regulated mostly by "Written Train Orders," transmitted by telegraph from a central office to the few stations along the line where facilities existed for crossing trains running in the opposite direction.

The Conductor and Engineer of a westbound freight or passenger train would receive an order telling them to proceed to station "A," where they would meet an eastbound extra or No. 204. On the way they might have passed several stations, all of which were equipped with the standard quadrant signal boards designed for this type of line. If the arm was pointing in a downward direction, it meant that no additional or contradictory orders were awaiting the train, and it could pass on through. If the arm was pointing straight out, it meant, "I have orders for your train and you must stop for instructions".

Rotary snow plows operating in the storm-ridden Gaff Topsails would frequently break the line with the weight of the ice and snow they threw off.

Dispatcher W.J. Chafe, Bishop Falls at the telegraph station, 1914.
Bishop's Falls, 1914. Like many young Newfoundlanders, W.J. Chafe took private lessons in telegraphy in the hope of getting a job on the Railway. He was for many years chief dispatcher, retiring from the Railway in 1962. Sister Loretta Chafe.
Outport telegraph office with three unidentified people.
Outport telegraph office. Reid's 1893 operating contract called for a telegraph along the 'whole line of the railway'. Local lines on the north and west coasts connected to the railway telegraph. Harry Cuff Publications.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Le chemin de fer terre-neuvien

Page précédente Page 9 Page suivante

Le service de télégraphie

En 1887, des lignes de télégraphie sont posées d'Avondale à Trinity, à Catalina et à Bonavista; de La Poile à St. George's, à Humbermouth et à Tilt Cove; de Shoal Harbour à Gambo et à Greenspond; de Long Harbour à Bay L'Argent, à Burin et à Fortune; de Gambo à Fogo, à Change Islands et à Twillingate. En 1892, une enquête sur le système public dirigée par le secrétaire de la colonie Robert Bond révèle que sa comptabilité est inextricablement liée à celle d'AAT.

Le premier câble transatlantique est posé en 1865 à Heart's Content, à Terre-Neuve, et le monopole est attribué à l'Anglo-American Telegraph Company. Cette ligne de télégraphie de l'ATT qui dessert le sud de Terre-Neuve profite peu au chemin de fer et laisse la côte nord sans service. Le gouvernement a donc besoin d'un service de télégraphie et, en 1893, il passe un contrat avec Reid pour en faire construire un. Par la suite, Reid achète le service par le contrat de 1898. Le gouvernement rachète le service en 1901 pour un million et demi de dollars, montant ayant été déterminé par arbitrage. Le gouvernement construit une nouvelle ligne de télégraphie le long du chemin de fer et les agents de station de Reid en assurent le service.

Le poste de régulation des trains est le centre névralgique du chemin de fer. Il est maître du déplacement de tous les trains en tout moment. Pendant un certain nombre d'années, la ligne est séparée en deux, le centre de régulation de la division de l'ouest est assurée depuis Bishop's Falls, et celle de la division de l'est, à partir de St. John's.

En plus d'administrer le chemin de fer, R.G. Reid est tenu par contrat à installer une ligne de télégraphie le long de la voie ferrée. En 1898, Reid achète la ligne de télégraphie existante pour 125 000 $ et convient d'exploiter le système pour une subvention annuelle de 10 000 $. En 1905, Reid vend le service de télégraphie à la Newfoundland Postal Telegraphs pour la somme de un million et demi de dollars.

La majeure partie du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve passe dans des régions éloignées et inhabitées. Le déplacement des trains est réglementé en grande partie par des ordres de marche télégraphiés depuis un bureau central aux quelques stations disséminées le long de la ligne où des installations sont prévues pour les trains qui se croisent.

Le conducteur-mécanicien d'un train de marchandises ou de voyageurs se déplaçant en direction de l'ouest reçoit un ordre de marche lui intimant de se rendre à la station A, où il croisera un train facultatif comme le no 204 se dirigeant vers l'est. Sur sa route, il peut passer devant plusieurs stations, toutes équipées des sémaphores habituels conçus pour ce type de ligne. Si le bras pointe vers le bas, cela veut dire qu'il n'y a pas d'ordre nouveau ou contraire et que le train peut poursuivre sa route sans s'arrêter. Si le bras pointe tout droit, cela veut dire qu'il faut arrêter le train pour prendre connaissance de nouveaux ordres de marche.

Les chasse-neiges rotatifs qui servent à déneiger la voie ferrée dans la région de Gaff Topsail balayée par les tempêtes brisent souvent la voie à cause du poids de la neige qu'ils projettent.

Le régulateur des trains W.J. Chafe à la station de télégraphie de Bishop's Falls, 1914.
Bishop's Falls, 1914. Comme bien d'autres jeunes Terre-Neuviens, W.J. Chafe a suivi des cours privés de télégraphie dans l'espoir d'obtenir un emploi au chemin de fer. Il a longtemps été chef régulateur des trains et a pris sa retraite du chemin de fer en 1962. Soeur Loretta Chafe.
Trois inconnus au bureau de télégraphie d'un port isolé.
Bureau de télégraphie d'un port isolé. Le contrat attribué à Reid en 1893 comprenait l'installation d'un service télégraphique tout le long de la ligne du chemin de fer. Les lignes locales des côtes nord et ouest étaient reliées à ce service. Harry Cuff Publications.