All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Newfoundland Railway

Previous Page Page 10 Next Page

Herbert J. Russell and the Newfoundland Government Railway

In 1923, the ownership and operation of the Reid Newfoundland Company transferred to the Newfoundland Government. For the people of Newfoundland, this was a gift of dubious value. For a small country already beginning to feel the strain of a massive war debt, it was a burden that many felt simply could not be carried. The new regime assumed management of nearly 1000 miles of track, including several branch lines which had no prospect of paying, and a main line which required complete re-railing.

What was needed was a change in management, and the Newfoundland Government found that change in Herbert J. Russell, who was named General Manager.

Born in 1890 in Musgrave Harbour, Herbert Russell moved with his family to St. John's at the age of 10. He started what would be a lifelong career with the railway at the age of 15, as a messenger. By 1917, he was the Superintendent of the Eastern Division, before being promoted to General Manager in 1923, at a salary of $8,000 per year.

The Railway that Russell had inherited was not in good shape. The Railway's equipment was outdated and worn out, and the Railway was losing a million dollars a year. There was little money available from the Government to help, but within a decade of his appointment, Russell had performed a miracle. The rails and equipment had been updated, and the operating deficit had been slashed from one million dollars to just $30,000. In 1928, the Daily News stated that the Railway now ran "on time, at the lowest cost, and in the most effective manner."

Russell achieved much in his career with the Railway. Within ten years of taking over, Russell refurbished the railbed, rebuilt or replaced most of the worn out equipment, and cut the annual deficit to only $30,000. In 1939 he was recognized for his efforts, and made a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE).

Herbert J. Russell had turned the fortunes of Newfoundland around, and steered it through some of the hardest times of Newfoundland's pre-Confederation history - the depression, the Government scandals of the early 1930s, and World War II. The Railway was to undergo more major changes with Confederation in 1949, but Russell would not see them. He passed away suddenly in February 1949, just months before the takeover by the Newfoundland Railway by the Canadian National Railway.

Portrait of Herbert J. Russell.
Herbert J. Russell (1890-1949) was the first native Newfoundlander to head the Railway in 1923. H.J. Russell Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Le chemin de fer terre-neuvien

Page précédente Page 10 Page suivante

Herbert J. Russell et le Newfoundland Government Railway

En 1923, la Reid Newfoundland Company est cédée au gouvernement de Terre-Neuve qui en reprend l'exploitation sous le nom de Newfoundland Government Railway. Pour les gens de Terre-Neuve, c'est un cadeau empoisonné. Pour un petit pays qui commence à ressentir le poids de la dette de guerre écrasante, le fardeau est trop lourd à porter de l'avis d'un grand nombre de personnes. Le nouveau régime assume la direction de près de 1 000 milles de voies ferrées, y compris plusieurs lignes secondaires qui n'offrent aucune possibilité de rentabilité, et une ligne principale qui doit être entièrement refaite.

Un changement de direction s'impose, et le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve trouve ce changement en la personne de Herbert J. Russell, qui est nommé directeur général.

Né en 1890 à Musgrave Harbour, Herbert Russell a 10 ans lorsqu'il déménage avec sa famille à St. John's. À 15 ans, il entre au service du rail comme coursier, amorçant une carrière au sein des chemins de fer où il restera toute sa vie. En 1917, il est superintendant de la division de l'est, avant d'être promu au poste de directeur général en 1923 au salaire de 8 000 $ par année.

La compagnie de chemin de fer dont il hérite n'est pas en bonne santé: le matériel est vétuste et complètement usé; la compagnie perd un million de dollars par année et on ne peut compter sur l'aide financière du gouvernement. Néanmoins, en moins de dix années suivant sa nomination, Russell fait des miracles. Les rails et l'équipement sont modernisés et le déficit de fonctionnement est réduit radicalement, passant de 1 000 000 $ à tout juste 30 000 $. En 1928, le Daily News déclare que les trains sont à l'heure et qu'ils fonctionnent efficacement et à moindre coût.

Russell fait beaucoup durant sa carrière au chemin de fer. Dans les dix années qui suivent la reprise, il remet à neuf la plateforme des rails, reconstruit ou remplace le matériel usé et réduit le déficit annuel qui n'est plus que de 30 000 $ par année. En 1939, on reconnaît ses efforts et il est fait commandeur de l'Ordre de l'Empire britannique (CBE).

Herbert J. Russell renverse complètement la situation à Terre-Neuve et sort la colonie du pire marasme de son histoire avant l'entrée de celle-ci dans la fédération canadienne - la dépression, les scandales qui secouent le gouvernement au début des années 1930 et la Seconde Guerre mondiale. D'autres changements importants attendent le chemin de fer avec l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la fédération canadienne en 1949, mais Russell ne les voit pas. Il décède subitement en février 1949, quelques mois seulement avant l'absorption du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve par la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada.

Portrait de Herbert J. Russell.
Herbert J. Russell (1890-1949) fut le premier natif de Terre-Neuve à diriger le chemin de fer en 1923. Collection H.J. Russell.