All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

Newfoundland Railway Steamship Service

Newfoundland merchants remained deeply involved in the delivery of coastal services up to the beginning of the last century. By that time the Reid Newfoundland Company had succeeded in revolutionizing the transportation industry in Newfoundland. By building a narrow-gauge railroad across the Island and dominating the coastal service, it held a virtual monopoly over the movement of people and goods within Newfoundland. In 1898, the first of Reid's famous "Alphabet Fleet", the S.S. Bruce, went into service in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The railway and ships began to connect in various places across the Island, thus allowing for travel and freight service on an unprecedented scale. Over the first quarter of the twentieth century, the Reid Company operated fourteen ships in the coastal service. After World War I, the pace of life in Newfoundland accelerated. Government now felt a responsibility to provide transportation links to the people. In 1923 Reid's railway and coastal services were taken over by the Newfoundland Railway, created and operated by the Newfoundland Government.

The Newfoundland Railway was responsible for a marine division. The railway operated a fleet of steamships which made scheduled connections with the mainland via North Sydney, Nova Scotia. It operated in the great bays of the Island and also serviced the remote coast of Labrador. For ease of freight handling, wharves with railway track were built in Port Blandford, Humbermouth, Placentia, and Lewisporte. The 1898 Railway Contract gave Reid a 30-year responsibility to provide steamer service between Port aux Basques and North Sydney, and around the coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador. Reid received an annual subsidy of $90,000 from the Government, making the service marginally profitable. Adequate coastal boat revenues were necessary for Reid's overall operation. However, Government also awarded additional routes to other ship-owners. That unexpected competition led to duplication of some routes and took business away from Reid's branch railway lines. Reid's efforts to tidy up all Government's transportation problems were undermined by Government itself.

The Alphabet Fleet

The 1898 contract to operate the Newfoundland Railway, between Sir Robert Reid and the Newfoundland Government, contained a provision for Reid to operate eight steamers to provide freight and passenger service to designated ports around the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador. Named for towns in Reid's native Scotland, these ships became known as the "Alphabet Fleet." It is interesting to note that all names end with the letter "e." Reid acquired twelve steamers in all for this service, but never completed the alphabet.

videos
Click for video interviews
Portrait of Robert Gillespie Reid seated.
Robert Gillespie Reid (1842-1908). In 1898 he received a Government contract which allowed him to purchase the completed railway, coastal boats, and other assets. His family operated the Railway for 25 years. Harvey, 1900.
The S.S. Bruce at Port aux Basques.
The S.S. Bruce commenced service between Port aux Basques and North Sidney, Nova Scotia, June 30, 1898. A. R. Penney Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

Les services de transport ferroviaire et maritime de Terre-Neuve

Les marchands de Terre-Neuve se sont investis grandement dans la prestation des services côtiers jusqu'au début du siècle dernier. À ce moment-là, la Reid Newfoundland Company avait réussi à révolutionner l'industrie des transports à Terre-Neuve. En construisant un chemin de fer à écartement étroit d'un bout à l'autre de l'île et en dominant le service côtier, elle avait un quasi-monopole sur le transport des personnes et des marchandises dans l'île de Terre-Neuve. En 1898, le premier navire de la célèbre flotte Alphabet de Reid, le SS Bruce, est entré en service dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Le chemin de fer et les navires ont commencé à être reliés en divers endroits de l'île, permettant des déplacements de personnes et de marchandises à une échelle sans précédent. Durant le premier quart du 20e siècle, la compagnie Reid a exploité 14 navires côtiers. Après la Première Guerre mondiale, le rythme de la vie à Terre-Neuve s'est accéléré. Le gouvernement estimait qu'il était de son devoir de fournir à la population un réseau de voies de communication. En 1923, le Newfoundland Railway, entreprise créée et exploitée par le gouvernement terre-neuvien, a racheté les services ferroviaires et côtiers de Reid.

Le Newfoundland Railway s'occupait d'une division maritime. La société exploitait une flotte de navires à vapeur qui reliait, selon des horaires déterminés, le continent en passant par North Sydney, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette flotte opérait dans les grandes baies de l'île et assurait également la desserte des lointaines côtes du Labrador. Pour faciliter la manutention des cargaisons, des quais dotées de rails furent construits à Port Blandford, à Humbermouth, à Placentia et à Lewisporte. Selon le contrat relatif au chemin de fer de 1898, Reid était tenu de fournir pendant 30 ans un service de vapeurs entre Port aux Basques et North Sydney, et autour des côtes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador. Reid recevait une subvention annuelle de 90 000 $ du gouvernement, ce qui rendait le service à peu près rentable. L'entreprise devait pouvoir compter sur l'apport de recettes adéquates provenant des navires côtiers. Or, le gouvernement avait également accordé des routes supplémentaires à d'autres armateurs. Les efforts déployés par Reid pour résoudre les problèmes de transport du gouvernement ont été minés par le gouvernement même.

La flotte Alphabet

Le contrat de 1898 relatif à l'exploitation du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve, conclu entre sir Robert Reid et le gouvernement terre-neuvien, renfermait une clause portant que Reid devait opérer huit vapeurs afin de fournir un service de transport des marchandises et des passagers à des ports désignés autour de la côte de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador. Nommés en l'honneur de villes de l'Écosse natale de Reid, ces navires sont venus à être connus comme la flotte Alphabet. Un fait intéressant à signaler, c'est que tous les noms des navires finissent par la lettre e. Reid a fait l'acquisition de 12 vapeurs en tout pour ce service, mais n'a jamais pu compléter l'alphabet.

vidéos
Cliquer pour voir des vidéos des entrevues
Portrait de Robert Gillespie Reid posé.
Robert Gillespie Reid (1842-1908). En 1898, Reid obtint un contrat du gouvernement qui lui a permis d'acheter le chemin de fer qui était achevé, un navire côtier et d'autres biens. Sa famille a dirigé la société ferroviaire pendant 25 ans.
Le SS Bruce à Port aux Basques.
Le SS Bruce a fait sa première traversée de Port aux Basques à North Sidney, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 30 juin 1898. Collection A.R. Penney.