All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 3 Next Page

S.S. Bruce

With the completion of the railway line from St. John's to Port aux Basques, the Reid Company wanted to provide passenger, mail and freight service to and from Canada and the United States, as well as to promote tourism. As the train crossed the Island in just over 24 hours, it was necessary to have a reliable and fast ship for the Gulf crossing to and from North Sydney, Canada. The S.S. Bruce, the first of the Alphabet Fleet, was purchased for that purpose and made the first run from Port aux Basques to North Sydney on June 30, 1898. This memorable trip, with the return fare of $11.00 for first class passengers and $6 for steerage passengers, was an excursion to Nova Scotia to celebrate Dominion Day in Canada. The express left St. John's at 7:20 pm on June 29th, arriving in Port aux Basques at 10:45 pm on June 30th. The S.S. Bruce, equipped with sails and steam engine was already waiting. She cast off sixty five minutes later and arrived in North Sydney in time for breakfast. After a day of celebrations the passengers boarded the ship for the return trip to Newfoundland.

The S.S. Bruce continued in the Gulf service for the next fourteen years, until it was lost near Louisbourg, Nova Scotia on March 24, 1911 with the loss of two lives. The ship had been diverted to Louisbourg due to ice conditions of the coast off Nova Scotia.

The S.S. Bruce was a magnificent ship with electric lighting, including a searchlight. Its dining saloon had dark mahogany panels fringed with gold. The saloon's chairs were upholstered in blue velvet, and its floors covered in Turkish carpet. The S.S. Bruce had a large smoking room and "a special apartment" set aside for ladies.

On March 24, 1911, in heavy ice conditions, the S.S. Bruce was wrecked on the rocks near Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island. On board were one hundred and twenty-three passengers, including many women and children, as well as forty Newfoundland fishermen heading for British Colombia to join the Pacific seal hunt. Two lives were lost. The survivors made it to shore in six large lifeboats, where they were met by local people with horses and sleighs. The Sydney and Louisbourg Railway ran a special train to get the people to safety.

Almost immediately the S.S. Bruce II was built in Scotland for the Newfoundland Railway. More than 50 percent larger than the earlier vessel, the S.S. Bruce II was built to navigate through ice. She did the mainland crossing until 1916 when she was sold to Russia.

S.S. Argyle

In 1900 the S.S. Bruce was followed by the S.S. Argyle, an attractive and substantial vessel 155 feet long and 25 feet wide. A bay boat destined for Placentia Bay, the S.S. Argyle's gross tonnage was 439, quite a bit smaller than the S.S. Bruce's. The S.S. Argyle was named in honour of Argyll, the cradle of the Scottish kingdom, lending the ship an air of romance and grandeur.

View of Notre Dame Bay from the Durrell Museum.
View of Notre Dame Bay through the window of the Durrell Museum. Ute Simon, 2006.
Fishing stages, Fogo Island.
Fishing stages, Fogo Island. Ute Simon, 2006.
A crowd of people waiting for the boat.
Waiting for the boat. A typical scene at a wharf before a boat arrived or after it left. 29.01.017 Coll-137, Archives and Manuscripts, QEII, Memorial University.
The S.S. Portia at Bowring wharf in St. John's.
A crowd watches the departure of the S.S. Portia from the Bowring's wharf, c. 1905, in St. John's. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.
Toilet and sink from the S.S. Fife.
This toilet and sink are all that are left of the S.S. Fife. They are now part of the Railway Coastal Museum's collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 3 Page suivante

Le SS Bruce

Une fois achevée la ligne ferroviaire qui allait de St. John's à Port aux Basques, la Reid Company a voulu offrir le service de transport des passagers, du courrier et des marchandises à destination et en provenance du Canada et des États-Unis, ainsi que promouvoir le tourisme. Étant donné que le train traversait l'île en un peu plus de 24 heures seulement, il était nécessaire d'avoir un navire rapide et fiable pour faire la traversée du golfe depuis le port canadien de North Sydney. Le SS Bruce, le premier navire de la flotte Alphabet, a été acheté à cette fin. Il a effectué sa première traversée, de Port aux Basques à North Sydney, le 30 juin 1898. Ce voyage historique, dont le prix de passage aller-retour n'était que de 11 $ en première classe et de 6 $ pour l'entre-pont, était une excursion à destination de la Nouvelle-Écosse afin d'y célébrer la fête du Dominion du Canada. Le rapide a quitté St. John's à 19 h 20 le 29 juin et est arrivé à Port aux Basques à 22 h 45, le 30 juin. Le Bruce, équipé de voiles et d'un moteur à vapeur, attendait déjà au port. Il a appareillé 65 minutes plus tard et est arrivé à North Sydney à temps pour le petit-déjeuner. Après une journée de célébrations, les passagers sont remontés à bord pour le voyage de retour à Terre-Neuve.

Le SS Bruce a poursuivi la desserte du golfe pendant les 14 années suivantes, jusqu'à ce qu'il fasse naufrage près de Louisburg, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 24 mars 1911; deux personnes périrent dans le naufrage. Le navire avait été dérouté sur Louisburg à cause des conditions des glaces au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le SS Bruce était un magnifique navire doté de l'éclairage électrique, dont un projecteur. Sa salle à manger était lambrissée de panneaux d'acajou foncé bordés de dorures. Les sièges étaient recouverts de velours bleu et le sol était couvert d'une moquette. Le Bruce était doté d'un très grand fumoir et d'un salon spécial réservée aux dames.

Le 24 mars 1911, dans des conditions de glace épaisse, le SS Bruce s'est échoué sur des rochers près de Louisburg, à l'île du Cap-Breton. Il avait 133 passagers à son bord, dont beaucoup de femmes et d'enfants, ainsi que 40 pêcheurs de Terre-Neuve qui s'en allaient en Colombie-Britannique pour la campagne de pêche au phoque du Pacifique. Deux personnes ont perdu la vie. Les rescapés ont pu regagner la côte dans six gros bateaux de sauvetage, et des gens de la région les y attendaient avec des chevaux et des traîneaux. Le chemin de fer de Sydney et Louisburg a mis en service un train spécial pour amener ces gens en lieu sûr.

La construction du SS Bruce II commença presque aussitôt en Écosse pour le compte du Newfoundland Railway. Faisant une fois et demie le premier navire, le SS Bruce II pouvait naviguer dans les glaces. Il a fait la traversée entre Terre-Neuve et le continent jusqu'en 1916, puis il a été vendu à la Russie.

Le SS Argyle

En 1900, le SS Bruce a été suivi du SS Argyle, un beau et grand navire de 155 pieds de long sur 25 de large (47,2 m x 7,6 m). Destiné au cabotage à l'intérieur de la baie Placentia, le SS Argyle jaugeait 439 tonneaux bruts, tonnage bien inférieur à celui du SS Bruce. Le SS Argyle a été nommé en l'honneur d'Argyll, le berceau du royaume d'Écosse, ce qui lui conférait une allure romantique et grandiose.

Vue de la baie Notre Dame depuis le musée Durrell.
Vue de la baie Notre Dame depuis la fenêtre du musée Durrell. Ute Simon, 2006.
Chafauds à poisson à l'île Fogo.
Chafauds à poisson, île Fogo. Ute Simon, 2006.
Foule attendant l'arrivée du bateau.
L'attente du bateau. Une scène typique au quai avant l'arrivée ou le départ du bateau. 29.01.017 Col. 137, Archives et manuscrits, Bibliothèque QEII, Université Memorial.
Le SS Portia au quai Bowring à St. John's.
Foule regardant le SS Portia qui quitte le quai Bowring, vers 1905, à St. John's. Archives provinciales, The Rooms
Toilette et lavabo provenant du SS Fife.
Cette toilette et ce lavabo sont tout ce qui reste du SS Fife. Ils font maintenant partie de la collection du Railway Coastal Museum. Railway Coastal Museum.