All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 4 Next Page

S.S. Clyde

The S.S. Clyde, which first sailed across the Atlantic in 1900, was likely named for the river where most of the Alphabet Fleet ships were constructed. Built at a cost of $100,000, the S.S. Clyde measurements matched the S.S. Argyle's. On her Notre Dame Bay run, she stopped in such places as Beaver Cove, Kite Cove, Twillingate, Moreton's Harbour, Leading Tickles, and Fortune Harbour.

S.S. Dundee

One of the S.S. Dundee's jobs was to promote tourism. One article in Our Country reads, "The S.S. Dundee, well equipped with all modern requirements, plies on Bonavista Bay. Captain Darius Blandford is a genial host, and good humour beams from his countenance at all times. His principal aim is to make passengers enjoy the voyage. The scenery going down the bay from Port Blandford is very beautiful. A placid calm usually prevails on the water, and the green wooded isles clothed with verdue to the water's edge look like fairy abodes."

S.S. Ethie

The S.S. Ethie's arrival in St. John's, also in 1900, was greeted with enthusiasm by Harry Reid, Robert Reid's second son. Harry wrote to Flinthouse Shipyard in Glasgow, "The S.S. Ethie arrived on Sunday morning last at 4 o'clock. It was a very fair run and she beat the Allan boat by 36 hours. Everything aboard her appears to be first rate. Mr. Brown and I were all through her on Monday and the Engineer reported that the machinery worked first-class on the trip out." The S.S. Ethie would take on the Bonne Bay run, steaming up and down the Great Northern Peninsula and making occasional trips to Battle Harbour, Labrador. She also served in Trinity Bay, stopping in Ireland's Eye, Old Perlican, Trinity, and a host of communities.

S.S. Fife

The S.S. Fife, 155 feet long and 439 tonnes, was built in Glasgow, Scotland. She was lost on her maiden voyage on November 14, 1900 in the Straits of Belle Isle.

S.S. Glencoe

Built in 1900, the S.S. Glencoe would turn out to be the Alphabet Fleet's longest serving ship. By the standards of the fleet, the S.S. Glencoe was a mid-sized vessel; her gross tonnage was 769 and she cost $175,000. During almost six decades in Newfoundland's coastal service, there were few outports that did not have a visit from the S.S. Glencoe. But she was long associated with the South coast, where she stopped at Marystown, Burin, St. Lawrence, Grand Bank, Fortune, St. Jacques, Balena, Pushthrough, La Poile, Dublin Cove, Burgeo, and other ports.

Grand Bank Harbour, post WW II.
Longliner at the wharf in Grand Bank, post WW II. 30.13.001, Coll-137, Archives and Manuscripts, QEII, Memorial University.
The S.S. Ethie in Dockyard in St. John's.
The S.S. Ethie on the wooden dry dock, located at the western end of St. Johns harbour. It opened December 8, 1884. The Dockyard played an integral role in the repairs and ongoing maintenance of the Newfoundland Railway coastal boats. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.
The S.S. Glencoe at Hermitage.
The S.S. Glencoe at Hermitage. The bay and coastal steamers were welcome visitors, thought of as "ours" in each port of call. The Glencoe was the longest-serving of all the coastal boats - from 1899 to 1959. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 4 Page suivante

Le SS Clyde

Le SS Clyde, qui a fait sa première traversée de l'Atlantique en 1900, a tout probablement été nommé pour la rivière sur les bords de laquelle la plupart des navires de la flotte Alphabet ont été construits. Construit au coût de 100 000 $, le SS Clyde était de la même dimension que le SS Argyle. Sur la desserte de la baie Notre Dame, il faisait escale, entre autres, à Beaver Cove, à Kite Cove, à Twillingate, à Moreton's Harbour, à Leading Tickles et à Fortune Harbour.

Le SS Dundee

L'une des fonctions du SS Dundee était de faire la promotion du tourisme. Dans un article publié dans Our Country, on peut lire: «[Traduction] Le vapeur Dundee, bien équipé et répondant à toutes les exigences modernes, dessert la baie de Bonavista. Le capitaine Darius Blandford est un hôte sympathique qui dégage un air de bonne humeur en tout temps. Il cherche principalement à s'assurer que ses passagers fassent un bon voyage. Le paysage lorsqu'on descend la baie depuis Port Blandford est magnifique. Les vertes îles boisées enveloppées de rosée et bordée d'une mer calme et sereine sont des lieux enchanteurs.»

Le SS Ethie

À son arrivée à St. John's également en 1900, le SS Ethie a été accueillie avec enthousiasme par Harry Reid, le deuxième fils de Robert Reid. Dans une lettre adressée aux chantiers maritimes Flinthouse à Glasgow, il écrivait: « [Traduction] Le SS Ethie est arrivé dimanche passé à 4 heures du matin. Ce fut une très bonne traversée; le navire a battu celui des Allan de 36 heures. Tout semble de première classe à bord. Lundi, M. Brown et moi-même l'avons visité de fond en comble et l'ingénieur a déclaré que les machines avaient très bien fonctionné durant la traversée.» Le SS Ethie a assuré la desserte de la baie Bonne, remontant et descendant le long de la péninsule Great Northern et, à l'occasion, filant jusqu'à Battle Harbour, au Labrador. Il a également desservi la baie Trinity, faisant escale à Ireland's Eye, à Old Perlican, à Trinity et dans de nombreuses autres localités.

Le SS Fife

Le SS Fife, de 167 pieds (50,9 m) de long et jaugeant 441 tonneaux bruts, fut construit à Glasgow, en Écosse. Il a fait naufrage dans le détroit de Belle Isle, le 14 novembre 1900, lors de son voyage inaugural.

Le SS Glencoe

Construit en 1900, le SS Glencoe sera le navire de la flotte Alphabet qui servira le plus longtemps. Selon les normes de la flotte, le SS Glencoe était un navire de dimension moyenne, faisant 769 tonneaux de jauge. Il a coûté 175 000 $. Durant près des six décennies qu'aura duré le service côtier de Terre-Neuve, rares sont les localités isolées qui n'auront pas reçu la visite du Glencoe. Le navire a toutefois été longtemps associé à la côte sud, où il faisait escale, entre autres ports, à Marystown, Burin, St. Lawrence, Grand Bank, Fortune, St. Jacques, Balena, Pushthrough, La Poile, Dublin Cove et Burgeo.

Le port de Grand Bank, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
Palangrier au quai de Grand Bank, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. 30.13.001, Col. 137, Archives et manuscrits, Bibliothèque QEII, Université Memorial.
Le SS Ethie au chantier maritime de St. John's.
Le SS Ethie au carénage à la cale sèche en bois, située à l'extrémité ouest du port de St. John's. La cale sèche a ouvert le 8 décembre 1884. Le chantier maritime a joué un rôle important dans les réparations et l'entretien permanent des navires côtiers du Newfoundland Railway. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.
Le SS Glencoe à Hermitage.
Le SS Glencoe à Hermitage. Les caboteurs et les navires côtiers étaient toujours bien accueilli à chaque port d'escale, où on les considérait comme étant des leurs. Le Glencoea été le navire côtier comptant les plus longues années de service, soit de 1899 à 1959. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.