All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 6 Next Page

S.S. Meigle

In 1913, the S.S. Meigle became the last ship to join the Alphabet Fleet. Originally the Solway, she had been the ferry between Scottish and Irish ports. She was built by Barclay Curle in Glasgow in 1881. The steamer had two decks and masts, was 220 feet long and 30 feet wide, with a depth of 15 feet. Her gross tonnage was 836 and her net tonnage was 663. The S.S. Meigle was one of the vessels that responded to the 1929 tsunami on the Burin Peninsula assisting in bringing supplies for victim relief. The vessel served as a passenger and cargo ferry until the early 1930s, when it became a floating prison. In 1936 it was sold to the Shaw Steamship Company. It was pressed into war service and was part of a convoy that was attacked by German u-boats. On July 19, 1947 it was wrecked at Marine's Cove, near St. Shott's, Newfoundland.

Other Coastal Boats

The Alphabet Fleet operated as a Reid monopoly for only a few years. In 1904 the Bond government responded to complaints about the Reid service, and a deteriorating relationship with the Company, by subsidizing two Bowring vessels (S.S. Portia and S.S. Prospero)and re-instituting the old north and south routes. (Although all the steamers have come to be known as "coastal boats" originally only the "outside" steamers were called coastal boats, the others being known as "bay boats.") In 1912 Crosbie's S.S. Sagona and S.S. Fogota were added as well. The Reids also added to the Alphabet Fleet in later years, acquiring Invermore for the Gulf run after the Bruce sank in 1911, the legendary S.S. Kyle for Labrador in 1913, as well as S.S. Lintrose and S.S. Meigle. The S.S. Lintrose was sold to the Russian government in 1915, followed by the S.S. Bruce II in 1916. S.S. Fogota was sold in Europe and both S.S. Ethie and S.S. Dundee were lost in 1919.

The Reids also supplied steamers for the spring seal hunt for a few years: the S.S. Virginia Lake went to the ice from 1902 until she was lost in 1909. In 1905 the Company also supplied the S.S. Grand Lake. While it may seem incongruous that passenger ships would be used at the ice, some of Bowring Brothers' Red Cross Line, such as S.S. Stephano, were among the most successful sealing ships. Other coastal boats to have participated in the seal hunt include Crosbie's S.S. Fogota and S.S. Sagona. In 1896, the Governor's "excursion party" was held in the tiny S.S. Lady Glover. In 1925 the Newfoundland Railway, having been taken over by the government, experimented with supplying the S.S. Prospero and S.S. Sagona for the hunt.

S.S. Virginia Lake

The S.S. Virginia Lake was built by A. MacMillan & Son of Dumbarton Scotland in 1888, for A. Harvey and Company. The ship was 180 feet in length and weighed in at 760 gross tons. Originally called the S.S. Conscript, the ship was chartered by the Newfoundland Government for service on the East Coast to provide passenger and mail service. Renamed the S.S. Virginia Lake in 1891, it was acquired by the Reid Newfoundland Company in 1900 and became part of the coastal fleet. The Reids made the ship available for charter to prosecute the seal hunt. In March 1909, while engaged in the hunt it was lost off the Funk Islands. The ship had sustained such heavy ice damage that it was set on fire and sunk.

Ship arriving at Brigus 1930s.
The arrival of the steamer at Brigus, 1930s. Gossip, mail, freight, and passengers were the essence of news for the outports in Newfoundland and Labrador. Dr. Nigel Rusted.
S.S. Portia at St. Anthony.
The S.S. Portia in St. Anthony. Dr. Wilfred Grenfell's Hospital at St. Anthony attended to the medical needs of residents of Labrador and Northern Newfoundland who mostly arrived by coastal boat. Clayton Cook.
Men in boats meeting the steamer at Smokey.
Most Labrador fishing stations attracted fishers from a particular Conception Bay outport. At Smokey, most stationers came 500 miles by steamer from Brigus each season. A. R. Penney Collection.
The S.S. Virgina Lake leaving Moreton's Harbour.
The S.S. Virginia Lake shown here leaving Morteton's Harbour. The vessel was acquired by Reid Newfoundland Company 1900 and was lost at seal hunt, March 1909. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 6 Page suivante

SS Meigle

En 1913, le SS Meigle a été le dernier bateau à se joindre à la flotte Alphabet. Baptisé à l'origine Solway, il avait servi de traversier entre des ports écossais et irlandais. Il fut construit par Barclay Curle à Glasgow, en 1881. Le vapeur comptait deux ponts et deux mâts, faisait 220 pieds de longueur, 30 de largeur et 15 de profondeur (67 m x 9,1 m x 4,6 m). Il jaugeait 836 tonneaux, mais sa jauge brute était de 663 tonneaux. Le SS Meigle a été l'un des navires qui est venu en aide aux rescapés de la péninsule de Burin après le tsunami de 1929. Le navire a servi de traversier pour les personnes et les marchandises jusqu'au début des années 1930, alors qu'il a été transformé en prison flottante. En 1936, la Shaw Steamship Company en fit l'acquisition. Il a été mis au service des efforts de guerre et il faisait partie d'un convoi qui fut attaqué par des sous-marins allemands. Le 19 juillet 1947, il s'est échoué dans la baie Marines, près de St. Shotts, à Terre-Neuve.

Autres navires côtiers

La flotte Alphabet a fonctionné comme un monopole des Reid pendant quelques années seulement. En 1904, le gouvernement Bond a réagi à des plaintes émises contre le service des Reid et à ses relations avec la compagnie qui se détérioraient en subventionnant deux navires de Bowring (le Portia et le Prospero) et en rétablissant les anciennes routes nord-sud. Bien que tous les vapeurs en étaient venus à être connus comme des bateaux côtiers, à l'origine seuls les vapeurs hauturiers étaient appelés bateaux côtiers, les autres étaient appelés bay boats ou caboteurs. En 1912, on a ajouté le SS Sagona et le SS Fogota de Crosbie. Les Reid ont aussi grossi la flotte Alphabet dans les années ultérieures par l'acquisition de le SS Invermore pour la traversée du golfe après le naufrage du SS Bruce en 1911, le légendaire SS Kyle pour le SS Labrador en 1913, ainsi que le SS Lintrose et le SS Meigle. Le SS Lintrosefut vendu au gouvernement de la Russie en 1915, suivi par le SS Bruce II en 1916. Le SS Fogota fut vendu en Europe alors que le SS Ethie et le SS Dundee ont tous les deux fait naufrage en 1919.

Les Reid fournirent également des bateaux à vapeur pour la chasse au phoque du printemps pendant quelques années: le SS Virginia Lake a parcouru les glaces de 1902 à 1909, soit jusqu'à son naufrage. En 1905, la compagnie fournit également le SS Grand Lake. Alors qu'il peut sembler absurde d'utiliser des navires à passagers dans les glaces, certains des navires à passagers de la compagnie maritime Red Cross des frères Bowring, comme le SS Stephano, comptaient parmi les bateaux de chasse au phoque qui ont donné les meilleurs résultats. Le SS Fogota et le SS Sagona de Crosbie sont d'autres navires côtiers ayant participé à la chasse au phoque. En 1896, l'excursion de pêche organisée par le gouverneur a eu lieu à bord du minuscule Lady Glover. En 1925, le Newfoundland Railway, qui avait été pris en charge par le gouvernement, tenta sa chance en fournissant le Prospero et Sargona pour la chasse.

Le SS Virginia Lake

The Le SS Virginia Lake a été construit en 1888 par A. MacMillan & Son de Dumbarton, en Écosse, pour A. Harvey and Company. Mesurant 180 pieds (54,9 m) et jaugeant 760 tonneaux bruts, il portait d'abord le nom de SS Conscript. Affrété par le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve pour desservir la côte est, le navire transportait les passagers et le courrier. En 1891, il a été renommé SS Virginia Lake. La Reid Newfoundland Company en a fait l'acquisition en 1900 pour l'intégrer à la flotte côtière. Les Reid offraient leur navire à fret pour la chasse au phoque. En mars 1909, en pleine chasse, le navire a fait naufrage au large de l'île Funk. Les glaces endommagèrent tellement le navire qu'il prit feu et coula.

Bateau arrivant à Brigus dans les années 1930.
L'arrivée du navire à Brigus, dans les années 1930. Les potins, le courrier, les marchandises et les passagers constituaient l'essence même des nouvelles dans les petits ports isolés de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador. Le docteur Nigel Rusted.
Le SS Portia à St. Anthony.
Le SS Portia à St. Anthony. L'hôpital mis sur pied à St. Anthony par le docteur Wilfred Grenfell fournissait les soins médicaux aux habitants du Labrador et du nord de Terre-Neuve, qui, pour la plupart, y venaient par le navire côtier. Clayton Cook.
Hommes dans des bateaux rencontrant le vapeur à Smokey.
La plupart des postes de pêche du Labrador attiraient des pêcheurs d'un petit port donné de la baie Conception. Par exemple, à chaque saison, la grande partie des pêcheurs qui s'installaient à Smokey pour la campagne de pêche avaient fait 500 milles par bateau pour s'y rendre depuis Brigus. Collection A.R. Penney.
Le SS Virgina Lake quittant Moreton's Harbour.
Le SS Virginia Lake alors qu'il quitte Moreton's Harbour. Le navire fut acheté par la Reid Newfoundland Company en 1900. Il a fait naufrage alors qu'il faisait la chasse aux phoques, en mars 1909. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.