All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 7 Next Page

Steamships and Marine Services

Upon the completion of the railway line in 1898, the Reid Newfoundland Company attempted to consolidate and expand coastal steamship services in Newfoundland and Labrador, thereby continuing the established practice of subsidized mail and passenger service to the outports. In 1923-24, in the aftermath of the Railway Settlement Act, the government took over the service and put it under the direction of the Newfoundland Railway.

Under the Railway Settlement Act of 1923, the government purchased the remaining six of the Alphabet Fleet from the Reids, putting them under the direction of the Newfoundland Railway. The following year the Bowring and Crosbie boats were purchased outright and a new Gulf ferry, S.S. Caribou, was also commissioned (operating in 1925).

The fleet was not added to again until 1936, under the Commission of Government, when M.V. Northern Ranger replaced S.S. Prospero. In 1940 S.S. Portia and S.S. Sagona were retired and S.S. Burgeo and S.S. Baccalieu joined the coastal service. During World War II, 10 smaller wooden steamers were built at Clarenville and operated by the Newfoundland Railway. They were dubbed the "Splinter Fleet." S.S. Caribou was sunk by a German torpedo on October 14, 1942, with the loss of 137 lives. The last three coastal boats added to the fleet under the Newfoundland government were Cabot Strait (Gulf ferry), S.S. Bar Haven and S.S. Springdale.

The Splinter Fleet

In 1943, the Department of National Resources contracted with the Clarenville Shipyards to build ten wooden vessels, designed by W. J. Roue all with the same specifications: 135 feet, gross tons 322. They were to be managed and operated by the Newfoundland Railway for the purpose of freighting on the coast, and transporting dried fish to market and returning with whatever freight was available. All vessels were launched in 1944-45 and operated by the Railway until confederation with Canada when CN Rail took over operation of the rail and coastal services. At that time, most of the Clarenville vessels were sold off to private enterprise with the exception of S.S. Burin, S.S. Clarenville and S.S. Codroy.

Under the Terms of Union, ferry and coastal boat services were taken over by Canadian National Railways in 1949. As it was anticipated that improved roads would lessen the need for a coastal boat system, fewer new vessels were built: notably S.S. Bonavistain 1956, which replaced the S.S. Kyle on the Labrador. The last of the original Alphabet Fleet (S.S. Glencoe and S.S. Kyle) remained in service until 1959. CN added a new auto-ferry William Carson in 1955, the coastal boats M.V. Hopedale, M.V. Petite Forte and M.V. Taverner in 1960-62, and the Gulf freighters Ambrose Shea, Patrick Morris and Frederick Carter 1965-68.

Medial personnel and boat crew boarding patient for hospital.
Boarding a patient for hospital. Coastal boat crews and railway men were accustomed to providing for the special needs of the sick. They often went out of their way to transport medical personnel. Harry Cuff Publications.
View of the M.V. Northern Ranger at Englee, White Bay.
The first M.V. Northern Ranger at Englee, White Bay. The M.V. Northern Ranger was built for the Newfoundland Railway and began her 30 year service on the northern coastal route in 1936. Both, the northern Labrador and southern coastal services remained vital even after ground transportation began to develop in Newfoundland. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.
Five of the ten wooden boats of the Splinter fleet under construction in Clarenville, c. 1945.
A shortage of ships during World War II led the Government to establish a shipyard at Clarenville, where 10 wooden ships were constructed for the local Coastal trade and the West Indies trade. Named after Newfoundland communities, they were referred to as the "Splinter Fleet." A. R. Penney collection.
Front view of the M.V. Trepassey under steam.
M.V. Trepassey was one of the "Splinter Fleet". Under charter, the ship made two voyages to the Antarctic. It was sold in 1963 to the Trepassey Shipping Company in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 7 Page suivante

Bateaux à vapeur et Services de la marine

À la fin de la construction du chemin de fer en 1898, la Reid Newfoundland Company tenta de consolider et d'élargir les services des bateaux à vapeur à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador et de continuer ainsi la tradition du service subventionné de transport du courrier et des passagers auprès des petites localités isolées. En 1923-1924, après l'adoption de la Railway Settlement Act (loi sur l'accord relatif au chemin de fer), le gouvernement prit le service en charge pour le placer sous la direction du Newfoundland Railway.

Dans le cadre de la Railway Settlement Act de 1923, le gouvernement a acheté des Reid les six derniers bateaux de la flotte Alphabet et les a placés sous la direction du Newfoundland Railway. L'année suivante, on fit l'achat des bateaux de Bowring et de Crosbie. De plus, en 1925, on a mis en service le nouveau traversier du golfe, le SS Caribou.

La flotte ne s'agrandira pas de nouveau avant 1936; sous la direction de la Commission gouvernementale, le MV Northern Ranger a remplacé le SSProspero. En 1940, on a retiré le SS Portia et le Sagona, et le SS Burgeo ainsi que le SS Baccalieu se sont joints au service côtier. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, dix bateaux à vapeur plus petits en bois furent construits à Clarenville et exploités par le Newfoundland Railway. Ils constituèrent la flotte Splinter. Le SS Caribou fut coulé par une torpille allemande le 14 octobre 1942. Il y eut 137 morts. Les trois derniers bateaux côtiers à se joindre à la flotte sous le gouvernement terre-neuvien furent le traversier du golfe, le SS Cabot Strait, SS Bar Haven et le SS Springdale.

La flotte Splinter

En 1943, le ministère des Ressources naturelles confia à Clarenville Shipyards la tâche de construire dix bateaux de bois conçus par W.J. Roue selon le même devis: 135 pieds (41,1 m) de longueur et 322 tonneaux de jauge brute. Ils devaient être gérés et exploités par le Newfoundland Railway dans le but de transporter des marchandises sur la côte et du poisson séché sur le marché et de ramener toute autre cargaison disponible. Tous les bateaux furent mis en service en 1944-1945 et exploités par le Newfoundland Railway jusqu'à la confédération avec le Canada, date à laquelle le Canadien National prit en charge l'exploitation du chemin de fer et des services côtiers. À cette époque, la plupart des bateaux de Clarenville furent vendus à l'entreprise privée, sauf le SS Burineo, le SS Clarenville et le SS Codroy.

Le personnel médical et l'équipage d'un navire embarquent un malade qui doit aller à l'hôpital.
Embarquement d'un malade pour l'emmener à l'hôpital. Les membres d'équipage des navires côtiers et les cheminots étaient habitués à répondre aux besoins spéciaux des malades. Souvent, ils se donnaient beaucoup de mal pour assurer le transport du personnel médical. Harry Cuff Publications.
Vue du MV Northern Ranger à Englee, dans la baie White.
Le premier Northern Ranger à Englee, dans la baie White. Construit pour le Newfoundland Railway, le MV Northern Ranger a amorcé ses 30 années de service sur le trajet de la côte nord, en 1936. Les dessertes du nord du Labrador et de la côte sud sont demeurées essentielles même après le développement du transport terrestre à Terre-Neuve. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.
Construction de cinq des dix bateaux en bois de la flotte Splinter à Clarenville, vers 1945.
Le manque de bateaux durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale a poussé le gouvernement à établir un chantier naval à Clarenville, où furent construits dix navires de bois destinés à la navigation côtière et au commerce avec les Caraïbes. Nommés en l'honneur de localités de Terre-Neuve, ces navires étaient connus sous le nom de la flotte Splinter. Collection A.R. Penney.
Vue de l'avant du MV Trepassey sous vapeur.
Le MV Trepassey faisait partie de la flotte Splinter. Le navire fut affrété pour faire deux voyages en Antarctique. Il fut vendu en 1963 à la MV Trepassey Shipping Company, de Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.