All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Railway/Coastal Boat Service

Previous Page Page 9

Doctors, Nursing and Medical Care

Living in a small outport meant medical or nursing care was difficult to access. This caused tremendous problems and hardships when a family encountered serious injury or illness. Getting medical attention usually required an open boat trip to connect with a train or coastal boat, then a journey to the nearest large town for medical care. A visit to an outport by a nurse or doctor would be a rare and celebrated event. The coastal boat service was the critical lifeline for medical treatment and relief from the agony of suffering and worry.

NONIA (Newfoundland Outport Nursing and Industrial Association) was formed in 1924 by the Outport Nursing Committee to provide nursing and midwifery services with their salaries initially paid out of the general revenue. The purpose of NONIA in 1924 was to encourage the manufacture of weaving and knitting products by outport women for sale in St. John's to support the maintenance of outport nurses.

Temporary relocation of fishers to the summer fishery in Labrador created even greater healthcare problems. Dr. Wilfred Grenfell pioneered medical service in Labrador and treated fishers and native residents. Grenfell persuaded the government to assign a medical attendant on the coastal boat which brought fishers to and from Labrador. Eventually, the S.S. Kyle had two small cabins set up with hospital beds. By the 1930s it was fortunate to have such well known doctors as Nigel Rusted, Charles Hutton, and David Hawkins on board.

One of Dr. Rusted's mentors was Dr. Norman Gosse. Dr Gosse was a native of Newfoundland and chief surgeon at the Victoria General Hospital in Halifax. He had been a medical officer in 1922 on the coastal boat service. Dr. Rusted was advised by him to have the following items for treatment.

For constipation: black draught; Epson salts, castor oil.

For "Water Pups" (an infection of the wrists caused by rubbing of the oil clothes): "Dragons Blood," a red wax-like substance, which came in sticks; a portion was broken off, heated and used as a poultice.

For "bad Backs" - Belladonna Plasters: a red flannel in 6-8 inch squares with the drugs smeared over; or linament; or the area reinforced with adhesive strapping.

"The medical officer had to deal with many and varied problems, ranging from infected fingers and wrists, a most common complaint, to complications of pregnancy and tooth aches, the cure of which was extraction... These were pre-antibiotic days, and, strangely, there were no complications from dental abscesses. Those who recovered from any major infection, such as pneumonia, did so by the 'grace of God'. This applied generally - not only to the Labrador coast. In a case of emergency, such as gastric bleeding, the patient was 'rushed' to the nearest hospital, often 50 to 100 miles away, at a speed of 14 to 15 miles an hour! There were no roads and there was no air transport at that time." (Dr. W.H. Drover, Medical Officer on the S.S. Kyle in 1935. Them Days magazine, June 1984, pp. 44-45).

Public health nurse administering to a patient.
The Department of Health relied upon improvements in Newfoundland's transportation system to introduce many Public Health initiatives. Atlantic Guardian photo.
The M.V. Nonia on 'Fisherman's Trip' in Labrador.
View from M.V. Nonia on the 'Fisherman's Trip'.
The S.S. Cabot Strait in ice, 1958.
The S.S. Cabot Strait in ice, 1958. Once WWII ended, the S.S. Cabot Strait was built to replace the S.S Caribou. She came into service in 1947. CN Pensioners collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Service de transport ferroviaire et côtier

Page précédente Page 9

Médecins, infirmières et soins médicaux

Dans les petits villages isolés, l'accès à des soins médicaux ou infirmiers était limité. Cela causait d'importantes difficultés quand une personne était gravement blessée ou malade. Pour se faire soigner, il fallait habituellement prendre une embarcation non pontée pour se rendre à un train ou un navire côtier, pour ensuite se rendre jusqu'à la ville la plus proche. La visite d'une infirmière ou d'un médecin dans un petit village isolé était un événement rare et grandement apprécié. Le service de navires côtiers était un élément essentiel de la prestation des soins médicaux et permettait de soulager les gens accablés par la souffrance et l'inquiétude.

La NONIA (Newfoundland Outport Nursing and Industrial Association) fut créée en 1924 par le comité des soins infirmiers pour les régions éloignées (Outport Nursing Committee) pour offrir des services d'infirmières et de sages-femmes. Au départ, les salaires étaient payés à même les recettes générales. Au moment de sa création, la NONIA encourageait les femmes des petits villages isolés à tisser ou à tricoter des objets qu'elle pouvait vendre à St. John's pour aider à couvrir les coûts des services infirmiers dans les régions éloignées.

L'installation temporaire des pêcheurs pour la pêche estivale au Labrador ajoutait encore à la difficulté de fournir des soins de santé. Le docteur Wilfred Grenfell fut un pionnier des services médicaux au Labrador qui soigna les pêcheurs et les résidents locaux. Le Dr Grenfell persuada le gouvernement de nommer un médecin sur le Kyle, le navire côtier que les pêcheurs prenaient pour se rendre au Labrador et en revenir. Le SS Kyle finit par avoir deux petites cabines équipées de lits d'hôpitaux. Dans les années 1930, des médecins reconnus comme les docteurs Nigel Rusted, Charles Hutton et David Hawkins ont travaillé à bord de ce navire.

Le docteur Norman Gosse fut l'un des mentors du Dr Rusted. Originaire de Terre-Neuve, chirurgien en chef à l'hôpital Victoria General d'Halifax et médecin de marine en 1922 pour le service de navigation côtière, le Dr Gosse conseilla au Dr Rusted de traiter comme suit certains maux:

la constipation avec de la bière brune, du sel d'Epsom et de l'huile de ricin;

les franges, une infection des poignets causée par la friction de la toile cirée, avec du sang-de-dragon, une résine rouge en bâtonnet dont on cassait une extrémité pour la faire chauffer et en faire un cataplasme;

les maux de dos avec un emplâtre de belladone (des carrés de 6 à 8 pouces de flanelle rouge enduits du médicament), ou du liniment, ou encore un bandage adhésif appliqué sur la partie visée du dos.

[Traduction] Les problèmes que rencontrait le médecin de marine étaient nombreux et variés, allant d'infections des doigts et des poignets - très fréquentes - à des complications liées à la grossesse en passant par des maux de dent, qu'on soignait en arrachant la dent... Il n'y avait pas d'antibiotiques à l'époque et, étrangement, il n'y avait pas de complications liées à des abcès dentaires. Les personnes qui se remettaient d'une maladie grave, par exemple la pneumonie, guérissaient par la grâce de Dieu. C'était le cas, un peu partout - non seulement au Labrador. En cas d'urgence, par exemple un saignement de l'estomac, le patient était transporté précipitamment à l'hôpital le plus près, souvent à une distance de 50 à 100 milles, à la vitesse de 14 ou 15 milles à l'heure! Il n'y avait pas de route ni de transport aérien à l'époque. (Dr W. H. Drover, médecin de marine à bord du SS Kyle en 1935; magazine Them Days, juin 1984, pages 44-45.)

Infirmière de la santé publique administrant des soins à un malade.
Le ministère de la Santé comptait sur des améliorations au système de transport terre-neuvien pour lancer de nombreux projets de santé publique. Photo de l'Atlantic Guardian.
Le MV Nonia pendant le « voyage de pêcheurs » au Labrador.
Vue depuis le MV Nonia lors du « voyage des pêcheurs ». Railway Coastal Museum.
Le SS Cabot Strait dans les glaces, en 1958.
Le SS Cabot Strait dans les glaces, 1958. Le SS Cabot Strait fut construit après la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour remplacer le SS Caribou. Il est entré en service en 1947. Collection de l'Association des retraités du CN.