All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Newfoundland Railway

Page 1 Next Page

The Beginnings

In the early 1800's, most of the 200,000 inhabitants of Newfoundland lived on the coast of the Avalon Peninsula, and the remainder lived in the hundreds of small communities all around the shores of the Island, where they eked out an existence in coastal fishing. Roads were scarce. Transportation, freight and communication were limited to coastal boats. But there was the prospect of new industry and a diversified economy, if a means could be devised to reach the unexploited timber, mineral and agricultural resources in the interior. By 1850, there was talk of building a railroad to Harbour Grace and Carbonear, which were thriving fishing communities not yet connected by road to St. John's. In 1875, the government of the day initiated a survey from St. John's to Port aux Basques along the South Coast. This survey was done by Sandford Fleming, a Canadian engineer. There was some talk in subsequent years that the Great American and European Short Line would build a railway along the surveyed route to accommodate the transportation of passengers from New York to the British Isles.

Sir William V. Whiteway led the Liberals to victory in the general election of 1879 on a platform that included a promise of action on a railway, a promise he fully intended to keep.

In 1880, Newfoundland's Prime Minister Whiteway told the house of Assembly that the construction of a national railway from St. John's to Hall's Bay, on the North East Coast, was to be, 'the work of the country. And in its bearing on the promotion of the well-being of the people, in which the returns are alone sought and will be found, [a railway] eminently commends itself to our judgment.'

His first action was to approach the British Government for financial assistance to build the projected line to the French shore. However, the British authorities held that the rail line would be of no strategic or commercial importance to the empire as a whole, and would only cause friction with the French who had treaty rights on the west coast.

As an alternative to a trans-island route, Prime Minister Whiteway proposed in 1880 that the Colony build a narrow-gauge (3'6") line from St. John's to Hall's Bay with a branch line to Harbour Grace, at an estimated cost of four million dollars.

The following year Whiteway's government received two bids. They rejected a proposed standard-gauge line, though most suited to the extremes of the Newfoundland winter, in favour of a bid for the construction of the railway across the Island with a cheaper but less suitable narrow-gauge line, from the New York Blackman Company. Once their contract was approved the Blackman Newfoundland Railway Company floated a bond issue in England to raise capital. The railway was to be owned by the Company after the construction was completed, but the government held the right to purchase the line after 35 years.

Work began on the railway in August 1881, and by the fall of 1884 the line had reached Harbour Grace via Whitbourne. This line was known as the Harbour Grace Railway, 'Southern Division.' Work commenced on the building of a railway from Whitbourne to Placentia in 1886, and was completed in October 1888. This line was known as the Placentia Railway - Northern Division. Within three years, however, the Blackman Company was bankrupt and Whiteway had less than 100 miles of track. Work on the main line ceased and Whiteway was defeated in 1887 by the Conservative Party headed by Sir James Winter and Alfred Morine. Work then continued and, in 1893, the railway was completed from Whitbourne to Placentia Junction to Norris Arm, and known as the 'Hall's Bay Railroad.'

The new government recognized that a new industrial development strategy was necessary to provide employment and develop industries. The trans-island railway project needed to be revived. R.J. Reid was approached to rise to the challenge.

videos
Click for video interviews
Railway History Slideshow
Railway History Slideshow
Fishing boats moored by St. John's harbour .
Fishing boat stages by St. John's harbour. 01.010.03 Coll-137, Archives and Manuscripts, QEII, Memorial University.
Portrait of  Sir William Whiteway.
Sir William V. Whiteway, Prime Minister of Newfoundland 1878-85, 1897. 26.010.10 Coll-137, Archives and Manuscripts, QEII, Memorial University.
Drawing of early Blackman Company locomotive.
One of the first locomotives purchased by the Blackman Company for use in Newfoundland. Fabian Kennedy Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Le chemin de fer terre-neuvien

Page 1 Page suivante

Les débuts

Au début du 19e siècle, la plupart des 200 000 Terre-Neuviens vivent sur le littoral de la péninsule d'Avalon; les autres sont dispersés dans les centaines de petites localités disséminées tout autour des côtes de l'île, où ils subsistent tant bien que mal grâce à la pêche côtière. Il y a peu de routes. Seuls des navires caboteurs assurent le transport des personnes et des marchandises ainsi que les communications. Cependant, on a espoir de développer de nouvelles industries et de diversifier l'économie, si seulement on arrive à atteindre les ressources forestières, minérales et agricoles inexploitées à l'intérieur des terres. En 1850, il est question de construire une voie ferrée de Harbour Grace à Carbonear, des villages de pêcheurs prospères qui ne sont pas encore reliés à St. John's par la route. En 1875, le gouvernement de l'époque fait arpenter la côte sud, de St. John's à Port aux Basques, par l'ingénieur canadien Sandford Fleming. Dans les années qui suivent, le bruit court que la Great American and European Short Line construira une voie ferrée le long du chemin arpenté pour transporter des voyageurs depuis New York jusqu'aux îles Britanniques.

Sir William V. Whiteway mène les Libéraux à la victoire lors de l'élection générale de 1879 en s'appuyant sur une plateforme qui inclut la promesse de construire un chemin de fer, une promesse qu'il a fermement l'intention de respecter.

En 1880, le premier ministre de Terre-Neuve, sir Whiteway, déclare à la Chambre d'assemblée que la construction d'un chemin de fer national de St. John's jusqu'à la baie Halls sur la côte nord-est sera l'oeuvre du pays. Et compte tenu des répercussions qu'il aura sur l'amélioration du bien-être de la population, pour lequel les bénéfices sont les seuls recherchés et seront réalisés, le chemin de fer s'impose absolument à notre jugement [traduction].

Comme solution de rechange à une route transinsulaire, le premier ministre Whiteway propose, en 1880, que la colonie construise une ligne à voies étroites (42 pouces) de St. John's à la baie Halls avec une ligne secondaire menant à Harbour Grace, au coût prévu de quatre millions de dollars.

L'année suivante, le gouvernement Whiteway reçoit deux soumissions. Il rejette la soumission qui propose une ligne à écartement normal, bien qu'elle soit la mieux adaptée aux conditions extrêmes des hivers terre-neuviens. Il choisit plutôt la soumission de la Blackman Company de New York, qui propose la construction de part en part de l'île d'un chemin de fer doté d'une ligne à voies étroites. Quoique ce choix soit plus économique, il est aussi moins bien adapté aux besoins à l'époque. Une fois que son contrat est adjugé, la Newfoundland Railway Company de Blackman émet des obligations en Angleterre pour se procurer des capitaux. Le chemin de fer appartiendra à la société une fois la construction achevée. C'est le gouvernement, cependant, qui conserve le droit d'acheter la ligne après 35 ans d'existence.

Les travaux de construction du chemin de fer débutent en août 1881 et, à l'automne 1884, la ligne atteint Harbour Grace via Whitbourne. Cette ligne est connue comme le chemin de fer de Harbour Grace, division du sud (Harbour Grace Railway, Southern Division). Les travaux de construction de la ligne Whitbourne-Placentia commencés en 1886 s'achèvent en octobre 1888. Cette ligne est connue sous le nom du chemin de fer de Placentia, division du nord (Placentia Railway, Northern Division). Moins de trois ans après, la société Blackman fait faillite et le premier ministre Whiteway se retrouve avec moins de 100 milles de voies ferrées. Les travaux sur la ligne principale cessent et, en 1887, Whiteway se fait battre par le Parti conservateur dirigé par sir James Winter et Alfred Morine. Les travaux reprennent et, en 1893, on achève le tronçon Whitbourne-Placentia Junction-Norris Arm du chemin de fer de la baie Halls.

Le nouveau gouvernement sait qu'une nouvelle stratégie de développement industriel doit être adoptée pour créer de l'emploi et développer les industries. Le projet de chemin de fer transinsulaire doit être relancé et c'est ainsi que R.J. Reid est pressenti pour relever le défi.

vidéos
Cliquer pour voir des vidéos des entrevues
Diaporama sur l'histoire du chemin de fer
Diaporama sur l'histoire du chemin de fer
Bateaux de pêche mouillant près du port de St. John's.
Appontements pour bateaux de pêche près du port de St. John's. 01.010.03 Col. 137, Archives et manuscrits, Bibliothèque QEII, Université Memorial.
Portrait de  Sir William Whiteway.
Sir William V. Whiteway, premier ministre de Terre-Neuve de 1878 à 1885. 1897. 26.010.10 Col. 137, Archives et manuscrits, Bibliothèque QEII, Université Memorial.
Dessin d'une des premières locomotives de la Blackman Company.
L'une des premières locomotives achetées par la Blackman Company pour Terre-Neuve. Collection Fabian Kennedy.