All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Newfoundland Railway

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

Robert Gillespie Reid to the Rescue

Born in 1842 in Scotland, Reid apprenticed as a stonemason and in 1865 went to Australia with his new bride Harriet Duff, to work in the gold fields. There he instead found employment at various public work projects. He found that his skills as stonemason were in great demand. He found work building bridges (including several railway bridge foundations) and even worked for a time on the Sydney Harbour Bridge. In 1869 Reid's father died and he returned to Scotland with his family, which included two sons: William Duff Reid, born November 20, 1867 and Harry Duff Reid, born January 29, 1869. In 1871 Reid moved to North America where he became a railway bridge constructor both in Canada and the United States.

The Reid Contracts

The Reids were successful in their bid to government to build the Newfoundland railway in 1890. Eight years later, on June 29, 1898, the first train left the East End station in St. John's, however, not without controversy.

On March 15, 1898, the Newfoundland Government signed a contract with Robert Reid that was seen by some as beneficial for both the people and the Government of Newfoundland, but seen by others as the illegitimate establishment of a monopoly over Newfoundland resources, communication and transportation.

Under the new contract, Reid paid the Government $1.5 million in exchange for ownership and operational control of the Railway, Telegraph system, and Drydock in St. John's for 50 years, after which time he would maintain ownership of the Coastal service for 30 years, and 5000 acres of land for every mile of track, bringing his total ownership to five million acres -one sixth of the entire Island! In addition to the payment of $1.5 million, Reid also agreed to build the Riverhead Station at the West End of St. John's (the building which presently houses the Railway Coastal Museum), to cobblestone Duckworth and Water Street and to construct a street-car line in St. John's to replace the line that had gone to the East End train station.

At the time, most members of the Newfoundland Government, headed by Sir James A. Winter, saw this as a positive deal. Not only was it coping successfully with the many economic burdens of an almost bankrupt Newfoundland due to the bank crash of 1895. But as well, St. John's got itself a streetcar and a new train station. An added bonus was that the Reid's 5000 acreage deal involved all inland territory and promised the inland development of industry. Many did not agree.

The contract was signed amidst accusations of favouritism and unfair concessions to Reid, fuelled by the fact that the Receiver-General, A.B. Morine, was on retainer as Reid's lawyer while negotiating the contract on behalf of the government. Morine was forced to step down as Receiver-General, but only after negotiations were already completed. The land grants were contested, as some of the land given to Reid already belonged to other people. These land-owners then had to prove their ownership - a difficult and time-consuming task given the lack of records and the fact that deeds to land were often handed down through family over generations.

A vote of no-confidence in the spring of 1900 brought down the Winter government, and in the following election the contract of 1898 became a central issue. Robert Bond's Liberals won the election.

Portrait of Robert G. Reid seated.
Robert Gillespie Reid (1842-1908), the man who built the Newfoundland Railway. Provincial Archives, The Rooms.
Map showing Reid land holdings in Newfoundland.
This Newfoundland map shows the land which Reid received for building the Newfoundland Railway. Ken Byrne.
Riverhead Station St. John's c. 1905 as seen from Water Street.
Riverhead Station at the West End of St. John's which presently houses the Railway Coastal Museum, c. 1905. Railway Coastal Museum.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Le chemin de fer terre-neuvien

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

Robert Gillespie Reid appelé à la rescousse

Né en 1842 en Écosse, Reid apprend le métier de maçon. En 1865, il s'en va en Australie avec sa jeune femme Harriet Duff pour aller travailler dans les champs aurifères. Rendu en Australie, il se trouve plutôt du travail sur plusieurs projets de travaux publics. Il se rend compte que ses compétences de maçon sont très recherchées. Il travaille à la construction de ponts, y compris les fondations de plusieurs ponts ferroviaires et il travaille même pendant un certain temps sur le pont enjambant le port de Sydney. Au décès de son père en 1869, Reid retourne en Écosse avec sa famille qui compte alors deux fils: William Duff Reid, né le 20 novembre 1867, et Harry Duff Reid, né le 29 janvier 1869. En 1871, Reid émigre en Amérique du Nord et devient constructeur de ponts ferroviaires au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Les contrats des Reid

La soumission présentée au gouvernement par les Reid pour construire le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve est acceptée en 1890. Huit ans plus tard, le 29 juin 1898, le premier train quitte la gare de l'East End à St. John's, mais non sans controverse.

Le 15 mars 1898, le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve signe avec Robert Reid un contrat considéré par les uns comme avantageux pour la population et le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve, mais qui, pour d'autres comme un monopole illicite sur les ressources de Terre-Neuve ainsi que sur les communications et les transports.

Aux termes du nouveau contrat, Reid doit verser au gouvernement un million et demi de dollars en échange du droit de propriété et du contrôle opérationnel du chemin de fer, du réseau de télégraphie et de la cale sèche de St. John's pour une période de 50 ans, après quoi il conservera le droit de propriété sur le service côtier pour 30 ans et sur 5 000 acres de terre pour chaque mille de voie ferrée, devenant de ce fait propriétaire de cinq millions d'acres de terre - un sixième de l'île! Outre le versement du million et demi de dollars, Reid convient également de construire la station Riverhead dans le West End de St. John's, l'édifice qui abrite actuellement le Railway Coastal Museum (musée du transport ferroviaire et du cabotage), de paver les rues Duckworth et Water ainsi que de construire une ligne de tramway dans St. John's afin de remplacer la ligne qui a été attribuée à la gare de l'East End.

À l'époque, la plupart des députés du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve, dirigé par sir James A. Winter, tiennent ce marché pour un marché avantageux. En effet, outre qu'il permettait de venir à bout de nombreuses difficultés économiques découlant de la presque mise en faillite de Terre-Neuve à la suite du krach des banques de 1895, St. John's se voyait pourvue d'un tramway et d'une nouvelle gare ferroviaire. Les 5 000 acres accordés à Reid pour chaque mille de voie ferrée constituaient un avantage supplémentaire du fait qu'il s'agissait de terres situées à l'intérieur de la colonie, assurant le développement industriel de l'arrière-pays.

La signature du contrat se fait sur fond d'accusations de favoritisme et de concessions inéquitables à Reid. Ces accusations sont alimentées par le fait que le receveur général, A.B. Morine, est sous contrat comme avocat de Reid pendant qu'il négocie le contrat au nom du gouvernement. Morine est forcé de démissionner comme receveur général, mais seulement après l'aboutissement des négociations. On attaque les concessions de terres du fait que Reid a reçu des terres qui appartenaient à d'autres personnes. Ces propriétaires doivent prouver que les terres leur appartiennent - une tâche difficile qui prend beaucoup de temps étant donné qu'il n'existe pas toujours de documents pour le prouver et que les titres de propriété se transmettent souvent de génération en génération dans les familles.

Le gouvernement Winter est défait au printemps 1900 à la suite d'un vote de non confiance. Le contrat de 1898 est une question centrale de la campagne électorale ultérieure qui aboutit à la victoire des Libéraux de Robert Bond.

Portrait de Robert G. Reid posé
Robert Gillespie Reid (1842-1908), le constructeur du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve. Archives provinciales, The Rooms.
Carte indiquant les terres de Reid à Terre-Neuve.
Le terrain que Reid a reçu pour construire le chemin de fer est indiqué sur cette carte de Terre-Neuve. Ken Byrne.
La gare Riverhead de St. John's vue de la rue Water, vers 1905.
La gare Riverhead, dans le West End de St. John's, qui abrite le Railway Coastal Museum. Vers 1905. Railway Coastal Museum.