All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

The Museum

History of the Museum

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

The Railway Coastal Museum occupies the entire ground floor and the passenger platform at the rear of the building. The two upper floors house the St. John's City Archives and Records as well as the social rooms of the CN Pensioners.

One eye-catching feature of the building is the marble clock housed in the center tower of the 4th floor. The clock was an instant focal point as people could set their timepieces to the posted arrival-departure times of the trains.

In 1969 when passenger service ceased, the train station was converted to a bus depot.

The Maid of Industry

The statue "Maid of Industry," the guiding spirit of the Newfoundland Railway, has marked the front of the St. John's Railway Station since the turn of the 20th century. Granite from the "Quarry," near Gaff Topsails and owned by the Reids, was used for the statue's base. Charles Henderson, stone mason for the Reid Newfoundland Railway, carved the figure from a sandstone gatepost rescued from the Anglican Cathedral after the fire of 1892 as a tribute to his co-workers. Miss Frances Quinlan, the Henderson's housekeeper, who later married Mr. John Gushue of Whitbourne, modeled for the statue. The statue served for many years as a public drinking fountain.

Front view of the Railway Coastal Museum.
The former St. John's Riverhead Station, opened in 1903, now houses the Railway Coastal Museum. Ute Simon, 2008.
Marble clock in St. John's Railway Station.
Clock in the centre tower on the 4th floor of the Station. The heavy marble face cracked and needed restoration work. It is now in working order again. Ute Simon, 2008.
Maid of Industry statue in front of the Railway Coastal Museum.
The "Maid of Industy" has stood in front of the St. John's Railway Station since the turn of the 20th century. Ute Simon, 2008.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Le musée

Histoire du musée

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

Le Railway Coastal Museum occupe tout le rez-de-chaussée et le quai des voyageurs à l'arrière de l'édifice. Les deux étages supérieurs abritent les archives et les dossiers de la Ville de St. John's ainsi que les salles de rencontre des retraités du CN.

L'horloge de marbre de la tour centrale du 4e étage de l'édifice attire le regard. L'horloge était un point d'intérêt instantané car elle permettait aux gens d'ajuster leur montre en fonction des heures d'arrivée et de départ des trains affichées.

En 1969, lorsque le service voyageurs cessa, la gare ferroviaire fut convertie en terminus d'autobus.

La demoiselle de l'industrie :

La statue de la demoiselle de l'industrie, l'âme du Newfoundland Railway, se dresse devant la gare ferroviaire de St. John's depuis le début du 20e siècle. Elle repose sur un socle en granite extrait d'une carrière appartenant aux Reid, qui se trouvait près de Gaff Topsail. En guise d'hommage à ses collègues de travail, Charles Henderson, un tailleur de pierres pour la Reid Newfoundland Company, a sculpté la statue dans un montant de porte en grès qui avait été récupéré dans la cathédrale anglicane après l'incendie de 1892. Mademoiselle Frances Quinlan, la bonne des Henderson, qui plus tard a épousé John Gushue de Whitbourne, a servi de modèle pour la statue. Cette statue tint lieu de fontaine publique pendant de nombreuses années.

Vue de la façade du Railway Coastal Museum.
L'ancienne gare Riverhead à St. John's, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1903, abrite maintenant le Railway Coastal Museum. Ute Simon, 2008.
Horloge en marbre de la gare ferroviaire de St. John's.
L'horloge de la tour centrale, située au quatrième étage de la gare. Sa lourde façade de marbre s'étant fissurée, il a fallu la restaurer. L'horloge est de nouveau en état de marche. Ute Simon, 2008.
La statue de la demoiselle de l'industrie se trouve devant le Railway Coastal Museum.
La demoiselle de l'industrie trône devant la gare ferroviaire de St. John's depuis le tournant du 20e siècle.