All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

The Museum

Museum Exhibits

Page 1 Next Page

When you come to the stately building that houses the Railway Coastal Museum you will notice three train cars on display outside: a 900 class diesel locomotive, a coach car and a mail car. They were built in the 1950s and have been on display since their retirement in 1988 at Bowring Park in St. John's before they were brought to the Railway Coastal Museum. The Museum is housed on the ground floor of the former railway station and features over 100 exhibits and displays highlighting the history of the Railway and Coastal Boats in Newfoundland.

The museum tells the story of the Newfoundland Railway and Coastal Boat Service in 42 themed exhibits. The exhibits are complemented by costumed mannequins, paintings, and scale models of locomotives and coastal boats.

The Mini-theatre shows actual footage of train trips across the Island, and coastal boats servicing the Newfoundland outports. The theatre walls feature a 50 foot wide mural of St. John's Harbour, the City, and Signal Hill during the 1940s.

Click on one of the icons below to link to interactive maps of the museum that feature virtual and video tours.
Virtual Tour
Virtual Tours
Video Tour
Video Tours
Diesel locomotive on display outside  the Railway Coastal Museum.
The 900 class diesel locomotive, coach car and mail car were built in the 1950s and have been on display since their retirement in 1988 at Bowring Park in St. John's before they were brought the Railway Coastal Museum in 2004. Ute Simon, 2008.
The back of the Railway Coastal Museum with train exhibit visible.
The back of the Railway Coastal Museum. A train car, cut in half for display, has been fitted into the space of the former platform. Ute Simon, 2008.
View of one of the exhibit galleries inside the Railway Coastal Museum.
Inside the Railway Coastal Museum in one of the galleries. Ute Simon, 2008.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Le musée

Expositions du musée

Page 1 Page suivante

En arrivant à l'édifice imposant qui abrite le Railway Coastal Museum, on aperçoit trois wagons de train à l'extérieur : une locomotive diesel de classe 900, une voiture-coach et un wagon postal. Ces trois wagons, qui ont été construits dans les années 1950, étaient en montre au parc Bowring de St. John's depuis qu'ils avaient cessé leurs activités en 1988, jusqu'à ce qu'on les a déménagés au Railway Coastal Museum. Le musée loge au rez-de-chaussée de l'ancienne gare et comprend plus d'une centaine d'objets exposés et de présentations qui racontent l'histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers à Terre-Neuve.

Le musée raconte l'histoire des services de transport ferroviaire et maritime à Terre-Neuve en 42 présentations thématiques. Les expositions sont accompagnées de mannequins en vêtements d'époque, de tableaux et de modèles réduits de locomotives et de navires côtiers.

Au minithéâtre, on présente des séquences de films tournées durant des voyages en train dans l'île et ainsi que sur des navires de cabotage qui desservaient les ports isolés de Terre-Neuve. Les murs du théâtre présentent une fresque de 50 pieds (15 mètres) de largeur qui représente le port, la ville et la colline Signal de St. John's tels qu'ils étaient dans les années 1940.

Cliquer sur une des icônes ci-dessous pour accéder aux liens menant aux plans du musée qui renferment des visites vidéo et virtuelles.
Visites Virtuelle
Visites virtuelles
Visites vidéo
Visites vidéo
La locomotive diesel en exposition à l'extérieur du Railway Coastal Museum.
La locomotive diesel de classe 900, la voiture-coach et le wagon postal, tous construits dans les années 1950, étaient exposés depuis leur retrait du service en 1988 au parc Bowring à St. John's, puis ils ont été transférés au Railway Coastal Museum en 2004. Ute Simon, 2008.
L'arrière du Railway Coastal Museum d'où on peut apercevoir l'exposition sur les trains.
L'arrière du Railway Coastal Museum. Une voiture de train, coupée en deux pour être exposée, a été installée dans l'espace occupée par l'ancien quai de la gare. Ute Simon, 2008.
Vue de l'une des galeries d'exposition à l'intérieur du Railway Coastal Museum.
Une des galeries à l'intérieur du Railway Coastal Museum. Ute Simon, 2008.