All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

The Museum

Museum Exhibits

Previous Page Page 2

For many years the Newfoundland Railway provided the only means of travel by land across the Island. The Museum's large diorama takes the visitor through the actual railcars from the Newfoundland Railway. The various sections of a 1940s passenger train have been carefully restored. They offer a 90 foot full-scale replica of an:

The Museum also features an 11' x 16' working model of the Newfoundland Railway. It is based on the layout designed by Frank and Aubrey Rogers, whose father was a Newfoundland Railway engineer. In this model, the train travels across the Island from Port aux Basques to St. John's, showing the attractions along the route, as well as the changing seasons. The centre of the layout sports a reproduction of a busy railyard, complete with roundhouse and turntable.

The Museum also features a well-stocked gift shop with railway-related merchandise and books, as well as a wonderful selection of jewellery. The sales from the gift shop contribute greatly to the financial operations of the Museum.

Children's puppet theatre at the Railway Coastal Museum.
Theatre at the Museum which features films about the railway and coastal boats. Sometimes puppet shows are performed. Note the beautiful mural depicting the St. John's railyard in 1940. Ute Simon, 2008.
Two mannequins seated in the dining car diorama.
The dining car in the train diorama at the Railway Coastal Museum. Ute Simon, 2008.
Setting up the model train, 2003.
Setting up the model train prior to the Museum's opening, 2003. Railway Coastal Museum.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Le musée

Expositions du musée

Page précédente Page 2

Pendant de nombreuses années, le Newfoundland Railway était le seul moyen de transport terrestre dans toute l'île. Le grand diorama du musée fait entrer les visiteurs dans les wagons réels du Newfoundland Railway. Les différentes sections d'un train de voyageurs des années 1940 ont été soigneusement restaurées.

Elles présentent en grandeur nature de 90 pieds (27 mètres) les répliques suivantes:

Le musée présente aussi un modèle fonctionnel de 11 pieds sur 16 (3,3 mètres sur 4,8) du Newfoundland Railway. Il s'inspire d'un plan conçu par Frank et Aubrey Rogers, dont le père était mécanicien pour le Newfoundland Railway. Dans cette maquette, le train traverse la province de Port aux Basques à St. John's, montrant les attraits le long de la route, ainsi que le changement des saisons. Au centre du plan, une reproduction du dépôt d'une gare animée ainsi que sa rotonde et sa plaque tournante.

Le musée présente aussi une boutique de cadeaux bien pourvue en marchandises et en livres portant sur les chemins de fer ainsi qu'un magnifique choix de bijoux. Les ventes de la boutique de cadeaux constituent une bonne partie des activités financières du musée.

Théâtre de marionnettes pour enfants du Railway Coastal Museum.
Théâtre du musée où sont présentés des films portant sur le chemin de fer et les navires côtiers. On y donne parfois des spectacles de marionnettes. Voyez la magnifique fresque qui représente de dépôt de rails de St. John's en 1940. Ute Simon, 2008.
Deux mannequins posés dans le diorama de la voiture-restaurant.
Le wagon-restaurant dans le diorama du train présenté au Railway Coastal Museum. Ute Simon, 2008.
Installation du train miniature, 2003.
Installation du train miniature avant l'ouverture du musée en 2003. Railway Coastal Museum.