All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Technology

Technology & Engines

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

The Mikado Arrives

When Russell took over management of the Railway in 1923, its most powerful locomotives were the six 190-class engines which had been purchased from the Baldwin Locomotives Works, Pennsylvania, in 1920. It is one of those locomotives which remain on display in Corner Brook. Russell purchased four additional 190-class engines (two in 1926 and two in 1929) which were used on the main line until the 1000-class Mikados replaced them.

In 1930, the Newfoundland Railway received their first 1000 class 2-8-2 Mikado type locomotive, built by the American Locomotive Company. From 1930 to 1949, the Newfoundland Railway received 30 of these very efficient and stream-lined Mikado 2-8-2 type locomotives. The majority of these engines were converted from coal to oil burning in the 1940's. They were all scrapped by 1957 to be replaced by diesel powered engines.

The Age of Diesel

More and more larger locomotives were required to haul longer, heavier and faster freight and passenger trains. Following the First World War, steel began to replace wood as the primary construction material of railway cars, particularly passenger cars. Passenger cars during this period were heavily constructed, in order to provide both comfort and safety for the passengers.

At the beginning of WWII the Newfoundland Railway converted some of their steam engines to oil-burning units to adapt them better to the increased demand on the railway system. However, it was such increased demand that slowed any new developments. So this practice was deferred during the war years. The conversion from coal to oil resumed in 1947.

Newfoundland joins Confederation

The railway system itself continued to expand at a slower rate. With the entry of Newfoundland into Confederation in 1949, the province's railway line, The Newfoundland Railway, was transferred to the CNR. The 1,100 kilometre Newfoundland line was quite distinct from most railways in Canada, in that its track was narrow-gauge, or 1.067 metres (3'6") rather than the North American standard of 1.435 metres (4' 8").

One of the great changes the Canadian National Railways initiated in 1952 was a program to dieselize the Newfoundland Railway system. From 1953 to 1960, a total of 53 diesel electric locomotives built by General Motors Diesel made their way into the Newfoundland system.

The diesel engine in a locomotive is very much like the one in a big semi-trailer truck. Unlike a steam engine, a diesel engine does not usually drive the locomotive's wheels directly. Instead, it generates electricity, which then is used to turn the wheels. In the diesel engine, heavy diesel oil is injected into a cylinder of hot, compressed air. The fuel ignites, and the energy released pushes a piston, which drives the generator. The generator produces electricity, which drives a motor that turns the wheels. Several diesel locomotives supply the electric power to pull long trains.

A 4-6-0 locomotive blueprint.
Blue print for a 4-6-0 type locomotive used by the Reid Newfoundland Company. Railway Coastal Museum.
Steam engine #593 at the Train Museum outside on display in Corner Brook.
This 4-6-2 passenger express engine 593 was in service from 1922 to 1957. Formerly numbered 193 this steam engine was converted to oil in 1950 and is now on display the Railway Society of Newfoundland in Corner Brook. Wayne Greenland, 2006.
'Mikado' #1024 leaving St. John's.
The 30 'Mikado' locomotives numbered 1000-1029, were the workhorses of the Newfoundland Railway between 1930 and 1949. The steam engines were converted to oil-burning and renumbered 300 to 329 by 1950. They were all scrapped by 1957. A.R. Penney Collection.
Painting of the Mikado locomotive steaming through the Wreckhouse area.
The majority of the 1000-class locomotives were converted from coal to oil burning, but were scrapped in 1957 to be replaced by diesel electric. Railway Coastal Museum Collection. Artist W. Hancock.
900 class diesel engine blueprint.
Blueprint for a 900 class diesel locomotive, built 1952. Railway Coastal Museum.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Technologie

Technologie et locomotives

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

L'avènement de la Mikado

Lorsque Russell a pris les commandes du chemin de fer en 1923, ses plus puissantes locomotives étaient les six de la classe 190 qui avaient été achetées de la Baldwin Locomotives Works, en Pennsylvanie en 1920. Une de ces locomotives est exposée à Corner Brook. Russell a par la suite acheté quatre autres locomotives de classe 190, soit deux en 1926 et deux en 1929, qui ont servi sur la ligne principale jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient remplacées par les Mikado de classe 1000.

En 1930, le Newfoundland Railway a reçu sa première locomotive Mikado classe 1000 de type 2-8-2, construite par l'American Locomotive Company. De 1930 à 1949, le Newfoundland Railway a reçu 30 de ces locomotives Mikado de type 2-8-2 très efficientes et aérodynamiques. La plupart de ces locomotives ont été converties du charbon au combustible liquide dans les années 1940. Il ne restait plus de ces locomotives en 1957, ayant toutes été envoyées à la ferraille et remplacées par des locomotives à moteur diesel.

L'ère du diesel

Au fil du temps, il a fallu se doter de locomotives de plus en plus puissantes afin de remorquer des trains de passagers et de marchandises plus longs, plus lourds et plus rapides. Après la Première Guerre mondiale, l'acier a commencé à remplacer le bois comme principal matériau de construction des wagons, en particulier pour les voitures de passagers. Celles-ci étaient de construction très lourde afin de procurer confort et sécurité aux passagers.

Au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Newfoundland Railway a muni certaines de ses locomotives à vapeur de chaudières à combustible liquide afin de les rendre plus aptes à répondre aux demandes croissantes exercées sur le réseau ferroviaire. Cependant, c'est cette demande accrue sur le réseau qui a contribué à ralentir sa modernisation. Ainsi, on a interrompu la conversion du charbon au combustible liquide durant les années de guerre, mais celle-ci a repris en 1947.

Terre-Neuve se joint à la Confédération

Le réseau ferroviaire lui-même a continué à s'étendre mais plus lentement. Avec l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération en 1949, la société ferroviaire de la province, le Newfoundland Railway, a été transférée au Canadien National. La ligne terre-neuvienne de 1 100 kilomètres se distinguait de la plupart des chemins de fer du reste du Canada en ce que l'écartement des voies était étroit, ne mesurant que 1,067 mètre (42 pouces) de large tandis que la norme nord-américaine était de 1,435 mètre (54,5 pouces).

En 1952, le Canadien National a lancé un de ses grands changements en mettant en place un programme pour convertir le réseau ferroviaire de Terre-Neuve au diesel. De 1953 à 1960, 53 locomotives diesels, construites par General Motors, ont fait leur entrée dans le réseau de Terre-Neuve.

Le moteur diesel d'une locomotive ressemble de près à celui d'une grosse semi-remorque. Contrairement au moteur à vapeur, le moteur diesel ne fait pas fonctionner les roues de la locomotive directement. Il génère plutôt de l'électricité qui à son tour fait tourner les roues. Dans un moteur diesel, du carburant diesel lourd est injecté dans un cylindre d'air comprimé à haute température. Le combustible s'allume et l'énergie dégagée repousse le piston qui fournit une force de travail mécanique sur le générateur. Celui-ci produit de l'électricité qui transmet de l'énergie au moteur qui fait tourner les roues de la locomotive. Afin de fournir l'énergie pour tirer de longs trains, il faut plusieurs locomotives diesels.

Bleu d'une locomotive de type 4-6-0.
Plan d'une locomotive de type 4-6-0 employée par la Reid Newfoundland Company. Railway Coastal Museum.
La locomotive à vapeur 593 exposée à l'extérieur du Musée ferroviaire de Corner Brook.
Locomotive 593 de type 4-6-2, qui tractait l'express de voyageurs, a été en service de 1922 à 1957. Anciennement numérotée 193, cette locomotive à vapeur a été convertie à l'huile en 1950 et est maintenant exposée à la Railway Society of Newfoundland, à Corner Brook. Wayne Greenland, 2006.
La Mikado 1024 au départ de St. John's.
Les 30 locomotives Mikado, numérotées de 1000 à 1029, étaient considérées comme les chevaux de labour du Newfoundland Railway entre 1930 et 1949. Les locomotives à vapeur ont été converties à l'huile et numérotées de 300 à 329 en 1950. Elles ont toutes été envoyées à la casse en 1957. Collection A.R. Penney.
Peinture représentant une locomotive Mikado avançant dans un nuage de fumée dans la région de Wreckhouse.
La plupart des locomotives de classe 1000 furent converties du charbon à l'huile, mais ont toutes été envoyées à la ferraille en 1957 et remplacées par des locomotives diesels-électriques. Collection du Railway Coastal Museum. Artiste: W. Hancock.
Bleu d'une locomotive diesel de classe 900.
Plan d'une locomotive diesel de classe 900, construite en 1952. Railway Coastal Museum.