All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Technology

Narrow - Gauge Rails

Previous Page Page 2

Introducing Innovations

Newfoundland became the 10th province of Canada on March 31, 1949, and the Newfoundland Railway's assets, including its 906-mile rail network across the Island, were transferred to the control of the federal Crown Corporation Canadian National Railway (CNR, CN post-1960). CN became a major presence in Newfoundland's early years as a province, controlling the railway, dry dock, many ferries and coastal boats, and the telegraph system.

CN made major capital improvements to the former Newfoundland Railway, upgrading the main line, bridges, and rolling stock, and replacing all steam locomotives with diesel units. In 1965, some standard-gauge track was constructed at Port aux Basques to enable standard-gauge cars to be moved to that location from the mainland. Once facilities to interchange standard-gauge and narrow-gauge trucks or bogies on freight cars were introduced, cargo to and from the mainland could be trans-shipped once rather than the previous double trans-shipment of train car-to-ship and ship-to-train car. New railcar-capable ferries were employed; mainland standard-gauge railcars were ferried to Newfoundland, where their standard-gauge bogies were replaced with narrow-gauge bogies in Port aux Basques. The Frederick Carter entered service in 1968 and handled standard-gauge cars to and from Port aux Basques.

This concept was not confined to specialized equipment. Cars of other railways were also re-trucked in this manner, and as a result Canadian Pacific cars, for example, could be found travelling on the narrow-gauge rails.

1969 brought the discontinuation of the main line passenger service, and its replacement by a motor bus service on the more-or-less parallel-running Trans-Canada Highway. However, freight operations continued until, in September 1988, Canadian National abandoned railway operation in Newfoundland entirely.

Narrow-gauge

One of the problems with the narrow-gauge railway was that it lacked room to grow. Its cheaper construction was engineered only for the initial traffic demands and did not take into account future growth of passenger and freight traffic. While a standard-gauge railway could have been more easily upgraded to handle heavier, faster traffic, the Newfoundland narrow-gauge railway proved expensive and impractical to improve. Speeds and loads hauled could not increase significantly, so traffic was limited. Because of the reduced stability of narrower gauge, these trains were not able to run at nearly the same high speed as those networks with broader gauges.

The government, however, rejected the proposed standard-gauge line, though most suited to the extremes of the Newfoundland winter, in favour of a bid for the construction of a cheaper but less suitable narrow-gauge line by the New York Blackman Company. The selection of the narrow-gauge of 3'6" or 42" for this system was also preferred, since it was "British metric". (Newfoundland was then still separate politically from Canada.) The cost of construction of the Railway had been excessive for the small population of Newfoundland with its limited resources, even though all possible measures in the interest of economy had been used. The decision in favour of the narrow-gauge line, though more economical in the short-term, proved to be problematic throughout the entire life of the railway system.

The reduced construction costs for narrow-gauge rail systems - due to less materials, smaller cars, smaller bridges, etc. - as well as the ability to navigate tighter curves, could not compensate for the obvious disadvantages once Newfoundland's exports and imports grew. Narrow-gauge railways cannot interchange equipment such as freight and passengers freely with standard-gauge railways they link with, unless they exchange bogies. This meant that the narrow-gauge line had a built-in cost of transhipping people and freight to the mainline railway system.

Railway yard St. John's, c. 1904.
The Railway yard in the west end of St. John's. The new train station is in the background, c. 1904. A.R. Penney Collection.
Steam engine moving on tracks at Gaff Topsail, ca. 1898.
Baldwin- built 2-6-0 locomotive heads a four car passenger train at Summit Gaff Topsail, ca. 1898. The work on the track was not finished at the time, as the tents of the construction workers indicate on the side of the tracks. A.R. Penney Collection.
Image of a Bogie or undercarriage for converting train cars for narrow-gauge.
A bogie is a strong metal frame that connects the wheels and axles of a train. Standard-size forty foot steel box cars could be mounted onto narrow-gauge bogies. Fabian Kennedy Collection.
Preserved tracks along the Avondale train station. 2008.
Avondale Train Station with stretch of preserved narrow-gauge tracks, 2008. Ute Simon.
Train car on narrow-gauge tracks outside the Railway Coastal Museum.
Note the difference between the narrow-gauge tracks and the width of the rail car. Wayne Greenland Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Technologie

Voies à écartement étroit

Page précédente Page 2

Mise en place d'innovations

Terre-Neuve est devenue la dixième province canadienne le 31 mars 1949 et les biens du Newfoundland Railway, y compris son réseau de voies ferroviaires de 1 458 km de long de part en part de l'île, ont été transférés à la société d'État, la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (C.N.R.), qui devint le CN après 1960. Le CN a occupé une place majeure durant les premières années de la province de Terre-Neuve, car elle contrôlait la gestion du chemin de fer, du chantier naval, de plusieurs traversiers et navires côtiers ainsi que du réseau de télégraphie.

Le CN a apporté des améliorations majeures à l'ancien chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve: modernisation de la ligne principale, des ponts et du matériel roulant; remplacement de toutes les locomotives à vapeur par d'autres à moteur diesel. En 1965, une certaine longueur de voie à écartement normal a été construite à Port aux Basques afin que les wagons à écartement normal puissent venir à cet endroit depuis le continent. Après l'apparition d'installations permettant de changer des bogies pour voie étroite par des bogies pour voie à écartement normal sur les wagons, les marchandises à destination ou en provenance de la terre ferme n'étaient plus transbordées qu'une fois seulement, tandis qu'auparavant, il fallait un double transbordement de wagon à navire puis de navire à wagon. Lorsqu'on a commencé à employer de nouveaux traversiers pouvant accueillir des wagons ferroviaires, les wagons pour voie à écartement normal en usage sur le continent pouvaient être transportés à Port aux Basques, à Terre-Neuve, où leurs bogies pour voie à écartement normal étaient remplacés par d'autres pour voie étroite. Le Frederick Carter a été mis en service en 1968 et a transporté les wagons pour voie à écartement normal à destination et en provenance de Port aux Basques.

Ce concept n'a pas seulement été réservé au matériel spécial, il a été appliqué également aux wagons d'autres sociétés ferroviaires. Ainsi des wagons du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, par exemple, ont également pu rouler sur des rails à voie étroite.

En 1969, le service voyageurs de la ligne principale a été discontinué et remplacé par un service d'autobus qui faisait le trajet sur la route transcanadienne plus ou moins parallèle au chemin de fer. Toutefois, le transport de marchandises s'est poursuivi jusqu'à ce qu'en septembre 1988, le Canadien National a mis fin définitivement à son activité à Terre-Neuve.

Voie à écartement étroit

Le problème avec la voie étroite était qu'on ne pouvait pas les améliorer. Sa construction plus économique avait été conçue pour la densité du trafic des débuts et on n'avait aucunement anticipé la croissance future de la circulation des passagers et des marchandises. Un chemin de fer à écartement normal aurait pu aisément être modifié pour supporter un trafic plus lourd et plus rapide. La ligne à voie étroite de Terre-Neuve s'est donc avérée coûteuse et impossible à améliorer. Parce que la vitesse des trains et le poids des marchandises à transporter ne pouvaient être suffisamment augmentés, la circulation demeurait limitée. En raison de l'instabilité des voies étroites, les trains ne pouvaient rouler à la même vitesse que sur les réseaux à écartement normal.

Les avantages d'un coût de construction moindre pour la voie étroite, soit un moins grand besoin de matériaux, plus petits wagons, plus petits ponts, etc., ainsi que la plus grande habileté à naviguer dans les courbes serrées, ne pouvaient pas compenser pour les désavantages évidents lorsque la quantité de marchandises importées et exportées s'est mise à croître à Terre-Neuve. Il est impossible de changer l'équipement destiné aux rails à écartement étroit comme les wagons à marchandises et les voitures à passagers avec ceux des rails à écartement normal et vice-versa à moins de pouvoir changer leurs bogies. Il faut donc conclure que la ligne à voie étroite comportait un coût inhérent pour le transbordement des passagers et des marchandises dans le réseau ferroviaire des grandes lignes.

Cour des trains de St. John's, vers 1904.
La cour des trains du West End de St. John's. La nouvelle gare apparaît à l'arrière-plan, vers 1904. Collection A.R. Penney.
Locomotive à vapeur filant sur la butte Gaff Topsail, vers 1898.
Locomotive Baldwin de type 2-6-0 en tête d'un train de voyageurs de quatre voitures au sommet de la Gaff Topsail, vers 1898. Les travaux sur la voie ferrée n'étaient pas achevés à l'époque, comme en témoignent les tentes des travailleurs de la construction dressées près de la voie ferrée. Collection A.R. Penney.
: Image d'un bogie ou train roulant sur lequel on montait les wagons des trains de manière à ce qu'ils puissent circuler sur les voies à écartement étroit.
Le bogie est un châssis en acier solide qui relie les roues et les essieux du train. Des wagons couverts conventiels de quelque 12 mètres pouvaient être montés sur des bogies pour voie à écartement étroit. Collection Fabian Kennedy.
Rails préservés le long de la gare d'Avondale.
Gare ferroviaire d'Avondale avec un tronçon de voie à écartement étroit, 2008. Ute Simon, 2008.
Wagon de train posé sur une voie à écartement étroit à l'extérieur du Railway Coastal Museum.
Remarquez la différence entre les voies à écartement étroit et la largeur du wagon. Collection Wayne Greenland.