All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway Workers

A Day in the Life of a Train Dispatcher

Page 1 Next Page

In the beginning

"Train dispatching controls the movement of all trains on the road at any given time. It is similar to playing a huge game of checkers. On the dispatcher's desk lies a 'train sheet' which records movements of trains, along with particulars about the location of engines, items of freight, cars and other incidental information. This provides an at-a-glance record of each train's whereabouts and allows the dispatcher to manipulate the trains by issuing train orders, with an eye to keeping the traffic going smoothly, making efficient use of the rolling stock, and protecting traffic from collisions. The dispatcher kept the train sheet up-to-date by constant contact with station agents by telegraph, and issuing orders over the wire." (W.J. Chafe, I've been Working on the Railroad (1987))

The first telegraph system in Newfoundland was established as part of a plan to land a trans-atlantic telegraph cable in Newfoundland. The first telegraph lines were between St. John's and Trepassey and St. John's and Carbonear, operational in March, 1852.

When the railway was built, the Newfoundland government needed a telegraph service and in 1893 contracted Reid to build a telegraph line following the tracks. Reid purchased it in the 1898 contract. Government re-purchased it in 1901 for $1.5 million, as determined by arbitration. Government built a new telegraph line along the railway, and Reid's station managers provided the service. The dispatching office was the nerve centre of the railway, controlling the movement of all trains at any given time. For a number of years, the line was divided in two, the western division being controlled from Bishop's Falls, and the eastern division from St. John's.

Much of the Newfoundland Railway led through remote, underdeveloped areas. Traffic movements were regulated mostly by "Written Train Orders," transmitted by telegraph from a central office to the few stations along the line where facilities existed for crossing trains running in the opposite direction. The conductor and engineer of a westbound freight or passenger train would receive an order telling them to proceed to a particular station, where they would meet another train going east. On the way they might pass several stations, all of which were equipped with the standard quadrant signal boards designed for this type of line. If the arm was pointing in a downward direction, it meant that no additional or contradictory orders were awaiting the train, and it could pass on through. If the arm was pointing straight out, it meant, "There are orders for your train and you must stop for instructions."

The Life of a Train Dispatcher

Graham Hill recalls his half year training period which was required to become certified as a railway operator. There he learned to operate the telegraph key as well as accounting. As an operator in small train stations he was often the only employee responsible for express, ticketing, and luggage. He started as operator with CN in 1957. When he started his job he worked as "spare" who filled in whenever an extra operator was needed. This gave him the opportunity to work in almost all stations along the main line and in several branch line stations. In small stations such as Gambo and Glenwood he was responsible for all the work, ranging from selling tickets, accepting and delivering freight, checking luggage, copying train orders, as well as performing more humble duties such as cleaning the floors and general office duties. In the late 1950's many of the small stations did not have electricity. Therefore he also had to ensure that the gas lamps were cleaned and in working order. Only the bigger stations such as St. John's, Clarenville, Grand Falls, Bishop Falls, Corner Brook and Port aux Basques, that had several employees allowed for a somewhat more specialized division of labour.

videos
Click for video interviews
Dispatcher W.J. Chafe, seated at his desk in Bishop Falls, 1914.
W.J. Chafe took private lessons in telegraphy in the hope of getting a job on the Railway. He was for many years chief dispatcher, retiring from the Railway in 1962. Sister Loretta Chafe.
Outside an Outport telegraph office with dispatcher and his family.
Reid's 1893 operating contract called for a telegraph along the entire line of the railway. Local lines on the north and west coasts connected to the railway telegraph. Harry Cuff Publications.
Retired dispatcher Graham Hill in St. John's office, 1968.
Graham Hill in his new St. John's office, after the Bishop Falls office was closed in 1968. Graham Hill Collection.
Train order file.
Each train had to be registered by train order. CN Pensioners' Collection.
Display of a telegraph station at the Railway Coastal Museum.
The telegraph station display in the Railway Coastal Museum with quadrant signal board. 2009. Ute Simon.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Les employés du chemin de fer

Une journée dans la vie d'un régulateur de trains

Page 1 Page suivante

Les débuts

La régulation des trains règle le mouvement de tous les trains qui circulent sur la voie ferrée en tout temps. C'est comme faire une partie de dames sur un grand damier. Sur le pupitre de commande du régulateur, on trouve la feuille des circulations sur laquelle sont consignés les mouvements des trains ainsi que les renseignements sur l'emplacement des locomotives, les marchandises transportées, les wagons et toute autre information connexe. Ainsi, on sait en y jetant un simple coup d'oeil où se trouve chaque train, et le régulateur peut man'uvrer les trains en émettant des ordres de marche qui assurent la fluidité de la circulation ferroviaire, l'usage efficace du matériel roulant et la protection des trains en circulation contre les collisions. Le régulateur maintenait la feuille des circulations à jour en restant en communication constante avec les agents de gare grâce au télégraphe et en envoyant les ordres de marche par télégramme. (W.J. Chafe, I've been Working on the Railroad(1987).

Le premier réseau de télégraphie à Terre-Neuve a vu le jour dans le cadre du projet de pose d'un câble télégraphique de part en part de l'Atlantique. Opérationnelles en mars 1852, les premières lignes de télégraphie allaient de St. John's à Trepassey et de St. John's à Carbonear.

Lorsque le chemin de fer a été construit, le gouvernement terre-neuvien avait besoin d'un service de télégraphie. En 1893, il a donc passé un contrat avec Reid pour faire ériger une ligne télégraphique le long du chemin de fer. Reid a acheté le service par le contrat de 1898. Le gouvernement l'a racheté en 1901 pour le montant de un million et demi de dollars, qui avait été déterminé par arbitrage. Le gouvernement a construit une nouvelle ligne télégraphique le long du chemin de fer et les agents de gare de Reid fournissaient le service. Le poste de régulation des trains était le centre névralgique du chemin de fer, réglant le déplacement de tous les trains à tout moment. Pendant un certain nombre d'années, la ligne était séparée en deux, la division de l'ouest était régulée depuis Bishop's Falls, celle de la division de l'est, à partir de St. John's.

La majeure partie du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve passait dans des régions éloignées et inhabitées. Le déplacement des trains était réglementé en grande partie par des ordres de marche télégraphiés depuis un bureau central aux quelques stations disséminées le long de la ligne où des installations étaient prévues pour les trains qui se croisaient. Le conducteur-mécanicien d'un train de marchandises ou de voyageurs se déplaçant en direction de l'ouest recevait un ordre de marche lui intimant de se rendre à une station donnée, où il croiserait un autre train se dirigeant vers l'est. Sur sa route, il pouvait passer devant plusieurs stations, toutes équipées des sémaphores habituels conçus pour ce type de ligne. Si le bras du sémaphore pointait vers le bas, cela voulait dire qu'il n'y avait pas d'ordre nouveau ou contraire et que le train pouvait poursuivre sa route sans s'arrêter. Si le bras pointait tout droit, le train devait s'arrêter pour prendre connaissance de nouvelles directives.

La vie d'un régulateur des trains

Graham Hill se remémore les six mois qu'il a passés en formation pour devenir un opérateur agréé du chemin de fer. Pendant cette période, il a appris à faire fonctionner le manipulateur et à tenir la comptabilité. En tant qu'opérateur affecté à de petites gares ferroviaires, il était souvent le seul employé responsable des messageries, des billets et des bagages. Il a débuté comme télégraphiste au CN, en 1957. Lorsqu'il est entré en fonction, il travaillait comme employé de réserve qui allait partout où on avait besoin d'un opérateur supplémentaire. Celui lui a permis de travailler dans presque toutes les gares de la ligne principale et plusieurs stations des lignes secondaires. Dans les petites gares comme celles de Gambo et de Glenwood, il devait tout faire, allant de vendre les billets, de recevoir et d'expédier les marchandises, d'enregistrer les bagages, de rédiger les ordres de marche et d'effectuer d'autres fonctions plus humbles comme le lavage du plancher et les tâches générales de bureau. [6 Disp] À la fin des années 1950, bon nombre des plus petites gares n'avaient pas l'électricité. Hill devait donc s'assurer que les lampes au gaz étaient propres et fonctionnaient bien. Seules les grandes gares comme celles de St. John's, Clarenville, Grand Falls, Bishop's Falls, Corner Brook et Port aux Basques, qui disposaient de plusieurs employés, prévoyaient une division du travail selon les spécialités.

vidéos
Cliquer pour voir des vidéos des entrevues
Le régulateur des trains W.J. Chafe à son pupître à Bishop's Falls, 1914.
Bishop's Falls, 1914. À l'instar de nombreux jeunes Terre-Neuviens, W.J. Chafe a suivi des cours privés en télégraphie dans l'espoir de travailler pour la société ferroviaire. Il a été régulateur des trains en chef pendant de nombreuses années avant de prendre sa retraite du chemin de fer, en 1962. Soeur Loretta Chafe.
Un régulateur des trains et sa famille posent à l'extérieur du bureau de télégraphie d'un port isolé.
Bureau de télégraphie dans un port isolé. Selon le contrat d'exploitation de 1893 accordé à Reid, une ligne télégraphique devait être construite le long de la voie ferrée. Des lignes locales sur les côtes nord et ouest étaient reliées au réseau de télégraphie du chemin de fer. Harry Cuff Publications.
Le régulateur à la retraite Graham Hill dans le bureau de St. John's, en 1968.
Graham Hill dans son nouveau bureau de St. John's, après la fermeture du bureau de Bishop's Falls, en 1968. Collection Graham Hill.
Ordre de marche.
Tous les trains devaient être inscrits sur un ordre de marche. Collection des retraités du CN.
Poste de télégraphie exposé au Railway Coastal Museum, 2009.
Poste de télégraphie exposé au Railway Coastal Museum ainsi qu'un sémaphore. Ute Simon.