All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway Workers

A Day in the Life of a Train Dispatcher

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

The Life of a Train Dispatcher

In 1966 Hill became a train dispatcher. His main job now became "to keep the trains apart and to keep them on time, much like an air traffic controller." Every year, CN published operating rulebooks containing basic information and rules for the operation of trains, such as the meaning of all the fixed, audible and hand signals, the form, format and meaning of train orders, and the duties and obligations of each class of employee. The operating time table established train numbers and schedules, meeting points for these trains, the distance between each station, as well as indicating the locations where train orders might be issued.

As dispatcher, Hill had to ensure that the train orders accorded with the timetable and the rule book. They had to be addressed to a particular train and ensure that the train traffic along the railway ran smoothly and punctually, that trains that were to meet each other met at the right time and location, and that trains waited at specific locations to let other trains pass.

Keeping the trains running

Train dispatchers were required to be intimately familiar with the physical characteristics of the railroad territory for which they were responsible, as well as with the operating capabilities of the locomotive being used. Experienced train dispatchers learned the idiosyncrasies of the locomotive engineers and train conductors and melded that knowledge into the operating decisions. An efficient train dispatcher could utilize the rule book, timetable, train orders and personal experience to move a large number of trains over the assigned territory with minimal delay to any one train, even in single-track territory. At least once a year, Hill would make road trips to stay familiar with the particularities of the outside operation of his job. These trips would regularly bring him to Clarenville, Bishop Falls, Corner Brook and Port aux Basques. During his time as dispatcher with CN Graham Hill was required to attend a two-week training course to upgrade his skills, as were all his counterparts across the country.

The work shifts of a dispatcher were always very full and complex. Hill remembers that it was quite a job to keep everything running smoothly. However, there were many times when bad weather such as winter storms or periods of heavy rain made sections of track impassable, due to high snow built up, washout of tracks or derailments. In such cases arrangements had to be made for repairs, pick-up of stranded passengers, or dispatching of snow plows. This typically caused havoc for the dispatcher: "When the trains were able to operate again it was always a mad rush to catch up with the regular operation," Hill recalls. For emergencies, telephone jack boxes were installed in various locations. These allowed the train conductors or section men to use their portable phone, attach the jack box cord, insert the plug into the jack box and thus contact a train dispatcher.

Communication is the Key

Perhaps no other invention has contributed more to the railroad industry than electrical communications. Prior to the invention of the telegraph, schedules and complicated sets of operating rules operated to prevent interference between trains. This worked as long as all trains were running on schedule. A delay to one train, however, could adversely affect the operation of the entire railroad, as other trains either had to wait for the late train to pass the scheduled meeting place or proceed slowly while a flagman walked ahead prepared to stop the late train. With the adaptation of the telegraph system in the early 1890s, it became possible to accommodate late trains, extra trains and other unexpected occurrences with a much greater degree of safety.

Photograph of Glenwood Station in winter, late 1970s.
The Glenwood Station was one of the many stations where Graham Hill worked as operator and dispatcher. Graham Hill Collection.
Outside cover of the CN operating table, 1972.
The operating table established train numbers and schedules, and indicated the locations where train orders might be issued. CN Pensioners Collection.
Map of major train stations in Newfoundland in 1972.
Map of Newfoundland showing mainline and branch train stations in 1972. CN Pensioners Collection.
Photograph of Clarenville Station in early 1980s with a train on the track.
Clarenville was one of five stations with a dispatching office. Graham Hill Collection.
Retired dispatcher Graham Hill with portable dispatcher's box.
Graham Hill holding the portable dispatchers' box. 2009. Ute Simon.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Les employés du chemin de fer

Une journée dans la vie d'un régulateur de trains

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

La vie d'un régulateur des trains

En 1966, Hill est devenu régulateur des trains. Son travail consistait principalement à espacer les trains et à les garder à l'heure, un peu comme le font les contrôleurs aériens. Chaque année, le CN publiait des règlements qui renfermaient de l'information générale et des règles sur le fonctionnement des trains, comme la signification des signaux fixes, sonores et manuels; la forme, la présentation et la signification des ordres de marche; et les fonctions et obligations de toutes les catégories d'employés. L'indicateur renfermait les numéros et les horaires des trains, leurs points de croisement, la distance entre chaque gare ainsi que les endroits où les ordres de marche pourraient être émis.

Comme régulateur, Hill devait voir à ce que les ordres de marche, qui devaient être adressés à des trains particuliers, concordent avec l'horaire des trains et le règlement d'exploitation. Le régulateur devait veiller à ce que les trains circulent bien et soient à l'heure, à ce que les trains qui devaient se croiser le fassent au bon moment et aux endroits désignés et que les trains attendent aux emplacement déterminés pour laisser passer d'autres trains.

Assurer la circulation fluide des trains

Les régulateurs des trains devaient bien connaître les caractéristiques physiques du territoire ferroviaire dont ils étaient responsables ainsi que les capacités opérationnelles des locomotives employées. Les régulateurs chevronnés connaissaient le tempérament des mécaniciens de locomotive et des chefs de train et intégraient ce savoir dans les décisions opérationnelles. Les régulateurs des trains efficaces s'appuyaient sur les règlements, les horaires, les ordres de marche et leur expérience personnelle pour faire circuler un grand nombre de trains dans le territoire qui leur était confié avec peu de retard pour les trains, et ce, même dans les territoires où il n'y avait qu'une voie unique. Au moins une fois par année, Hill prenait la route pour se maintenir au courant des particularités des opérations extérieures liées à son travail. Ces voyages l'ont amené régulièrement à Clarenville, Bishop's Falls, Corner Brook et Port aux Basques. Durant ses années de service comme régulateur des trains pour le CN, Graham Hill devait, à l'instar de tous ses homologues de partout au pays, suivre une formation de deux semaines pour mettre ses compétences à niveau.

Les quarts de travail des régulateurs étaient toujours très occupés et complexes. Hill se souvient qu'il n'était pas toujours facile de voir à ce que tout fonctionne bien. Toutefois, il arrivait souvent que le mauvais temps comme les tempêtes hivernales ou les périodes de pluies abondantes rende certaines sections de la voie ferrée impraticables, à cause des bancs de neige, des ravinements de la voie, des déraillements. Dans de telles situations, il fallait prendre des dispositions pour faire faire les réparations, aller chercher les voyageurs laissés sur place ou envoyer des chasse-neige. Cela perturbait beaucoup les tâches du régulateur et, de se souvenir Hill: Quand les trains étaient de nouveau prêts à opérer, il fallait travailler comme un fou pour se rattraper dans les activités régulières.

Des boîtes renfermant des prises téléphoniques avaient été installées à divers endroits pour les situations d'urgence. Les conducteurs des trains ou les cantonniers pouvaient se servir de leurs téléphones portatifs pour communiquer avec le régulateur des trains. Pour ce faire, ils n'avaient qu'à attacher le fil de la boîte du jack, puis à insérer la fiche dans la boîte du jack.

Photo de la gare de Glenwood en hiver, à la fin des années 1970.
La gare de Glenwood a été l'une des nombreuses gares où a travaillé Graham Hill comme télégraphiste et comme régulateur des trains. Collection Graham Hill.
La couverture extérieure de l'indicateur du CN, 1972.
L'indicateur renfermait les numéros et les horaires des trains, leurs points de croisement et les endroits où les ordres de marche pouvaient être émis. Collection des retraités du CN.
Carte des principales gares ferroviaires à Terre-Neuve, en 1972.
Carte de Terre-Neuve sur laquelle sont indiquées les gares de la ligne principale et des lignes secondaires, en 1972. Collection des retraités du CN.
Photo de la gare de Clarenville au début des années 1980 sur laquelle on aperçoit un train sur la voie ferrée.
La gare de Clarenville était l'une des cinq gares où se trouvait un bureau de régulation des trains. Collection Graham Hill.
Le régulateur à la retraite Graham Hill avec la boîte portative des régulateurs des trains, 2009.
Graham Hill tient la boîte portative des régulateurs des trains. Ute Simon.