All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway Workers

A Day in the Life of a Steward

Previous Page Page 3

Meal service

Shifts usually were 9 to 12 hours long, starting early in the morning. Much time was spent on preparing the various meals served during the voyage. Once dressed in the required uniform, the steward had to begin preparing the dining saloon for the first meal of the day - breakfast. Tables needed to be covered with white linen and set with the appropriate china and silverware. Depending on the number of passengers on the S.S. Baccalieu there were four sittings of about thirty people each. The first sitting was at 8:00 am. Passengers received a wake-up call at 7:30 am provided by a steward who walked through the ship's corridors with a loud gong. When the guests would start pouring into the saloon they were greeted cordially by the steward who showed them to their table and took their orders.

Meals on the coastal boats, like on the trains, were made with fresh ingredients and of high quality and were served in generous portions. Local dishes were favoured. Breakfast saw eggs, bacon, bologna, baked beans and toast. Friday's breakfast also offered "fish and brewis." There was rarely a written menu. The steward ensured that the guests knew the meal choices what the choices of meals were. The meals often depended on ingredients that were locally available. Local fishermen often gathered by the wharf with their fresh catch of the day waiting for the boats to land. Homemade bread and locally raised vegetables and berries also were often provided at the various ports of call. Larry recalls that as Chief Steward he knew every piece of cutlery and crockery on board and it all felt like it was his own personal responsibility to see that things were done right. Pride was taken in a job well done.

Chief Steward Ron James in his uniform, 1970.
Chief Steward Ron James is sporting the uniform for his station, 1970. Larry Hickey Collection.
Piano from the 'smoke room' of the S.S Bar Haven.
This piano was located in the "Smoker" on the S.S. Bar Haven . The "Smoker" was the centre of activity, particularly when passengers were travelling home for the holidays. If the piano could talk it would no doubt have many stories to tell. It would relate the many tall tales and yarns told between the singing of songs, the dancing of jogs, and the consuming of beverages. CN Pensioners' Collection.
The S.S. Baccalieu in Bay d'Espoir in winter.  1959.
The S.S. Baccalieu unloading at Bay d'Espoir, 1959. CN Pensioners Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Les employés du chemin de fer

Une journée dans la vie d'un steward

Page précédente Page 3

Le service de repas.

Les postes de travail étaient habituellement de 12 heures, commençant tôt le matin. La grande partie du temps était consacrée à la préparation des différents repas servis durant le voyage. Après avoir revêtu l'uniforme réglementaire, le steward commençait à préparer la salle à manger pour le premier repas de la journée - le petit-déjeuner. Il fallait dresser la table avec une nappe et des serviettes blanches ainsi que la vaisselle et l'argenterie appropriées. Selon le nombre de passagers sur le SS Baccalieu, il pouvait y avoir jusqu'à quatre services pour une trentaine de personnes chacun. Le premier service était à 8 heures. Les passagers se faisaient réveiller à 7 h 30 par un steward qui passait dans les couloirs du navire en faisant sonner un gong bruyant. À mesure que les clients arrivaient à la salle à manger, le steward les accueillait cordialement, les conduisait à leur table et prenait leur commande.

Les repas servis sur les navires côtiers, tout comme à bord des trains, étaient constitués de produits frais et de qualité supérieure, servis en portions généreuses. Les plats régionaux étaient privilégiés. Au petit-déjeuner, on servait des oeufs, du bacon, du saucisson de Bologne, des fèves au lard et des rôtis; le vendredi, on y offrait du poisson accompagné de biscuits de mer. Le menu était rarement écrit. Le steward informait les clients des plats offerts. Souvent, les repas étaient préparés avec ce que l'on trouvait dans la région. Les pêcheurs du coin se réunissaient au quai avec leurs prises du jour pour attendre que le navire accoste. On faisait l'acquisition de pain maison, de légumes cultivés localement et de petits fruits dans les différents ports d'escale. Larry se souvient que, lorsqu'il était chef steward, il reconnaissait tous les ustensiles et toute la vaisselle à bord et qu'il considérait de son devoir de veiller à ce que les choses soient bien faites. Il mettait sa fierté à bien faire son travail.

Le chef steward Ron James en uniforme, 1970.
Le chef steward Ron James portant l'uniforme de son poste, 1970. Collection Larry Hickey
Piano provenant du fumoir du SS Bar Haven.
Ce piano provient du fumoir du SS Bar Haven. Le fumoir était le centre d'activités, surtout lorsque les voyageurs retournaient chez eux pour les vacances. Si le piano pouvait parler, il aurait sans doute de nombreuses histoires à raconter. Il pourrait parler des histoires et blagues racontées entre les chansons, gigues et consommations. Collection des retraités du CN.
Le SS Baccalieu à Bay d'Espoir en hiver, 1959.
Le SS Baccalieu en chargement à Bay d'Espoir, 1959. Collection des retraités du CN.