All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway Workers

C.N. Pensioners

Page 1 Next Page

CN Pensioners Association

The CN Pensioners' Association of Newfoundland and Labrador is made up of retired employees of the Canadian National Railway and CN Marine. Members have worked in every facet of the railway, coastal boat, and communications system on the island. The organization's statutes state that "Members in this Association shall be limited to persons retired in the service of CN and whose application and admission has received the approval of the local. Wives of pensioners and CN employees or widows are eligible for membership in Ladies Auxiliary and can hold office. Retired CN employees not located in Canada may become associate members by paying their regular dues. Retired CN employees residing in areas where no local exists, may become members of the association by payment of their annual dues directly to the Treasurer."

The Formation of the CN Pensioners Association

After the railway closed in 1988, Newfoundland Railroaders decided they did not want to lose the comradeship they enjoyed during their working lives. The CN Pensioners' Association, Newfoundland Provincial Council, was established January 16th, 1989 in St. John's when over 100 former railroaders met and voted to organize the "Newfoundland Railway Pensioners' Association." The mandate of the Association is to support the social well-being of its members and preserve the historical memory of the Newfoundland Railway. The first article of their statutes reads: "This Association shall be known as the Newfoundland Provincial Council of CN Pensioners Association, affiliated with System Council of Canadian Pensioners Association Inc. which Association was granted a Federal Charter and Recorded under Film 439, Document 109 at Ottawa, February 28, 1974. The Newfoundland Provincial Council is to be a non-profit organization with its own autonomy and finances."

Local chapters have formed in former railway towns such as Port aux Basques, Bishops Falls, and Corner Brook which hold regular meetings and report to the St. John's branch. Today there are a total of 838 members.

Finding a New Home

So far, the Association is able to stay in buildings that were formerly owned by the Newfoundland Railway. Prior to the move into its present location at the former St. John's Railway Station, the Association had been operating from a former CN Railway Headquarters building in the west end of St. John's train yard not far from the Railway Station building. When the Johnson Family Foundation took over the Railway Station Building from the City of St. John's in 2002 the CN Pensioners Association was included in a special lease agreement, guaranteeing them the space on the second floor of the three story building. After renovation of the building the CN Pensioners Association moved into its new home.

Founding members of the CN Pensioners Association NL posing with train car, 1988.
Founding members of the Association, 1988. CN Pensioners Association.
Three Board members of CN Pensioners Association seated at the CN Pensioners' Club, 2007.
Working hard for the CN Pensioners' Association: Board members (l-r): Larry Hickey, Fabian Kennedy, Wayne Greenland, 2007. CN Pensioners Collection.
Photograph of former meeting place.
The old meeting place in a former CN Railway Building. CN Pensioners Association.
CN Pensioners Association logo.
The logo of the CN Pensioners Association represents all aspects of railway and coastal boat history in the province. CN Pensioners Collection.
Side entrance of the old Railway Station in St. John's.
The entrance to the CN Pensioners' Club Room in the old St. John's Railway Station. Wayne Greenland Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Les employés du chemin de fer

Les retraités du CN

Page 1 Page suivante

l'Association des retraités du CN

La CN Pensioners' Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (Association des retraités du CN de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) est composée d'employés retraités du Canadien National et de CN Marine (aujourd'hui Marine Atlantique). Les membres ont travaillé dans tous les secteurs du chemin de fer, du service de navigation côtière et du système de communications de la province. Les statuts de l'organisation énoncent que [traduction] seules les personnes retraitées du service du CN et dont la demande d'adhésion aura reçu l'approbation de la section locale peuvent adhérer à l'association. Les épouses des retraités et des employés du CN ou leurs veuves peuvent devenir membres des dames auxiliaires et occuper un poste. Les employés retraités qui ne vivent pas au Canada peuvent devenir membres associés en acquittant les droits réguliers. Les employés retraités du CN qui résident dans des régions où aucune section locale n'existe peuvent devenir membres de l'association en acquittant leurs droits annuels directement au trésorier.

La fondation de l'Association des retraités du CN

Après la fermeture du chemin de fer en 1998, les anciens employés du Newfoundland Railway ne voulaient pas perdre la camaraderie dont ils avaient joui durant leur vie active. Le conseil provincial de Terre-Neuve de l'Association des retraités du CN a été fondé le 16 janvier 1989 à St. John's quand plus de 100 anciens employés du chemin de fer se sont rencontrés et ont voté en faveur de la création de l'Association des retraités du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve. L'association avait pour mandat de voir au bien-être social de ses membres et de préserver la mémoire historique du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve. Le premier article de leurs statuts s'énonce ainsi: [traduction] L'association sera connue sous le nom du Conseil provincial de Terre-Neuve de l'Association des retraités du CN, affiliée au Conseil général d'Associations de pensionnés du Canada Inc., laquelle a reçu une charte fédérale et a été enregistrée sous Film 439, document 109, à Ottawa, le 28 février 1974. Le Conseil provincial de Terre-Neuve sera un organisme sans but lucratif entièrement autonome et possédant ses propres finances.

Des chapitres locaux se sont formés dans d'anciennes villes du chemin de fer, comme Port aux Basques, Bishop's Falls et Corner Brook. Ils tiennent des réunions régulières et relèvent de la section de St. John's. Aujourd'hui, l'association compte 838 membres en tout.

À la recherche d'un nouveau local

Jusqu'à présent, l'association a pu loger dans des bâtiments appartenant autrefois au Newfoundland Railway. Avant son déménagement dans le local qu'elle occupe présentement à l'ancienne gare de St. John's, l'association avait son bureau dans l'ancien bâtiment de l'administration centrale du Canadien National dans la section ouest de la cour de la gare de St. John's, non loin de l'édifice de la gare. Lorsque la Johnson Family Foundation a pris possession de cet édifice en 2002, l'Association des retraités du CN a été incluse dans un contrat particulier de location en vertu duquel on lui garantissait un espace au deuxième étage de l'édifice de trois étages. Puis, après la rénovation de l'édifice, l'association a déménagé dans ses nouveaux quartiers.

Les membres fondateurs de l'Association des retraités du CN posent avec une voiture de train, 1988.
Les membres fondateurs de l'association, 1988. Au premier rang, de g. à d.: Graham Smith, Kevin Doyle, Ches Tuck, Ed Bruce. Rangée du milieu: Mike Greene, Fabian Kennedy, William Tilley, Jim Lynch, Eric Pitcher, Alex Oakley. Sur la plateforme du wagon: Mac Windsor, Jim Byrne, Tom Wickham, Bill Barron, Gordon Puddester. Association des retraités du CN.
Trois membres du conseil d'administration de l'Association des retraités sont assis au club des retraités du CN, 2007.
Travailleurs acharnés de l'Association des retraités du CN, les membres du conseil d'administration, de g. à d.: Larry Hickey, Fabian Kennedy, Wayne Greenland, 2007. Collection des retraités du CN.
Photo de l'ancien lieu de réunion.
L'ancien lieu de réunion dans l'ancien édifice du Canadien National. Association des retraités du CN.
Logo de l'Association des retraités du CN.
Le logo de l'Association des retraités du CN représente tous les aspects de l'histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers dans la province. Collection des retraités du CN.
Porte latérale de l'ancienne gare du chemin de fer de St. John's.
L'entrée de l'ancienne salle du club des retraités du CN dans l'ancienne gare ferroviaire de St. John's. Collection Wayne Greenwood.