All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway Workers

C.N. Pensioners

Previous Page Page 2

Serving the Community

According to its mandate, the Pensioners' Association also involves itself in fundraising drives for causes that help to disseminate the awareness of the province's railroad history. They contributed to the cost of erecting the Monument at Whitbourne in memory of railroaders killed while on duty. The Memorial was erected in 1998.

The Association has several standing committees, such as an Entertainment Committee, which organizes special events like annual trips and dinners, and the House Committee, which looks after matters of the organization's space, membership and bookings of the available space. The Pensioners make their space available to special meetings of the Railway Coastal Museum and other worthy groups free of charge. The Archives Committee looks after the present collection of documents and images and the search for further materials. It is this material that helped greatly in the establishment of the Railway Employees' Database.

Attached to the CN Pensioners Association is a Women's Auxiliary group called "Spikes." This group has CN Pensioners spouses and other female family members as members. They have their own constitution and support the CN Pensioners Association in their events, by catering events and helping in fundraising drives.

Keeping in Touch

The members of the Association meet regularly every Wednesday in their club rooms to socialize, share news, have a cup of coffee together and work on any projects that might come along. Early in 2009, the Association received a gift of a model train, dated circa 1903, which was donated by the family of the late Gordon Winter, a former Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. The train set had been left in Winter's basement for a long time and had accumulated some rust. Several of the pensioners are now busy restoring the train to its former glory for display.

Besides the Wednesday meetings, the pensioners also hold bi-weekly card games and monthly business meetings.

Preserving History

CN railway and marine pensioners have donated artefacts and photographs and helped promote the museum. They provide historical information and consultation and, most importantly, they contribute their time and experience to the museum as volunteers. Their experiences are one of the museum's most valuable resources. They can often be seen during special events and programs that the Museum organizes. These volunteers put a human face on the railway and coastal boat history that the Museum preserves. They share stories and anecdotes, answer questions, and make the museum visitors feel welcome and appreciated.

Railway employees' memorial located in Whitbourne.
This memorial plaque was erected on June 21, 1998 in Whitbourne in memory of all railroaders who had lost their lives in the line of duty during the railway era in the province. Ute Simon, 2008.
Railway Employee Database computer station at the Railway Coastal Museum.
The Railway Employee Database which will be featured in the Railway Coastal Museum is one of the projects the CN Pensioners are involved with. Railway Coastal Museum.
Model train on track.
Model train, c. 1903. CN Pensioners Association.
CN Pensioners in Railway Coastal Museum in front of reception desk, September 2007.
CN Pensioners helping out in the Railway Coastal Museum. CN Pensioners Collection.
Harold Piercey volunteering at the Museum, 2007.
Retired section man, Harold Piercey. CN Pensioners Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Les employés du chemin de fer

Les retraités du CN

Page précédente Page 2

Au service de la collectivité

Conformément à son mandat, l'Association des retraités du CN participe à des campagnes de financement pour des causes qui font connaître l'histoire des chemins de fer de la province. À titre d'exemple, elle a contribué au financement d'un monument à Westbourne en mémoire des employés du chemin de fer qui ont perdu la vie dans l'exercice de leur fonction. Le monument commémoratif a été érigé en 1998.

L'association compte plusieurs comités permanents, notamment un comité de loisirs, qui organise des activités spéciales telles que des voyages et des soupers annuels, et le comité des affaires internes, qui voit à l'organisation du bureau de l'organisme, au recrutement des membres et aux réservations des locaux. L'association prête son local pour des réunions extraordinaires du Railway Coastal Museum et à d'autres groupes de bienfaisance. Le comité des archives est responsable de la collection des documents et des photos et continue à chercher d'autres matériels. C'est en grande partie grâce à ce matériel que la base des données des employés du chemin de fer a été mise sur pied.

Il existe un pendant féminin rattaché à l'Association des retraités du CN, soit les dames auxiliaires appelées Spikes. Ce regroupement est constitué des épouses des retraités et d'autres femmes de leurs familles. Elles ont leurs propres statuts et ont comme rôle d'aider l'association dans l'organisation de ses activités en préparant des repas et en participant aux campagnes de financement.

Rester en contact

Les membres de l'association se réunissent à leurs clubs, tous les mercredi, pour socialiser, se transmettre des nouvelles, prendre un café ensemble et travailler aux projets en cours. Au début de 2009, la famille du défunt Gordon Winter, un ancien lieutenant-gouverneur de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a fait don à l'association d'un modèle réduit de train datant des environs de 1903. Le train était resté longtemps au sous-sol de Winter et avait rouillé. Un groupe de retraités sont présentement en train de le restaurer à sa splendeur originale afin de l'exposer.

Outre les rencontres du mercredi, les retraités ont aussi des parties de cartes aux deux semaines et des assemblées d'affaires mensuelles.

Préserver l'histoire

Les retraités du CN et de Marine Atlantique ont donné des artefacts et des photos au musée dont ils font la promotion. Ils fournissent des conseils et des renseignements historiques et, par-dessus tout, font bénévolement profiter le musée de leur temps et de leur expérience. L'expérience des retraités est l'une des ressources les plus valables du musée. On peut souvent voir les retraités lors d'activités spéciales ou de programmes que le musée organise. Ces bénévoles font valoir le côté humain de l'histoire du chemin de fer et de la navigation côtière que préserve le musée. Ils racontent des histoires et des anecdotes, répondent aux questions et font en sorte que les visiteurs du musée se sentent les bienvenus et que leur visite est appréciée.

Monument commémoratif des employés du chemin de fer érigé à Whitbourne.
Plaque commémorative érigée le 21 juin 1998 à Whitbourne en mémoire des nombreux cheminots qui sont morts dans l'exercice de leur fonction à l'époque du chemin de fer dans la province. Ute Simon, 2008.
Terminal de la banque de données sur les employés du chemin de fer au Railway Coastal Museum.
La banque de données des employés du chemin de fer qui sera présentée dans le Railway Coastal Museum est un projet auquel participe l'Association des retraités du CN. Railway Coastal Museum.
Modèle de train réduit sur rails.
Modèle de train réduit, vers 1903. Association des retraités du CN
Retraités du CN posant devant le bureau de la réception du Railway Coastal Museum, sept. 2007.
Des retraités du CN donnent un coup de main au Railway Coastal Museum. Collection des retraités du CN.
Harold Piercey faisant du bénévolat au musée, 2007.
Le cantonnier à la retraite, Harold Piercey, fait du bénévolat au Railway Coastal Museum, sept. 2007. Collection des retraités du CN.