All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Social/Economic Impact

Previous Page Page 2 Next Page

Nation Building

The construction and operation of a trans-insular railway was seen as an exercise in nation building. Having rejected Confederation with Canada in 1869, many Newfoundlanders saw the construction of a railway as a necessary next step. Railway construction crews were crucial in spreading family connections from east to west. The railway in conjunction with the coastal steamer service helped to foster nationhood among Newfoundlanders, and they were vital in connecting the colonial government to the west coast and the interior.

The Railway was largely responsible for the settlements of the island's west coast - the Humber Valley, Bay of Islands, Bay St. George and the Codroy Valley. It opened up new markets for the farmers of the Codroy, an agricultural jewel of the island for many years. Corner Brook, Channel-Port aux Basques and St. Georges became major population centres of the West Coast based in large part on their railway connections and coastal boat services to the rest of the island.

The railway created a new region - the central interior. Inland towns such as Whitbourne, Grand Falls, and Bishop's Falls were not the only creations of the railway; head-of-bay rail and coastal steamer terminals rose to prominence. Modern-day "regional service centres" such as Clarenville and Lewisporte began life as railway centres.

Lewisporte Railway and Coastal Boat Wharf.
Lewisporte Railway & Coastal Boat Wharf. The Railway and Coastal Boat Services were crucial elements in developing regional service centres, such as Lewisporte, in the major bays. This prompted much centralization of Newfoundland's population to larger towns. Fred Chancey Collection.
Ship arriving in Brigus 1930s.
The arrival of the steamer at Brigus, c. 1930. Trains and coastal boats were the only connection to the outside world for the many isolated communities dotting the Island. Dr. Nigel Rusted.
Special train leaving mill construction site in Corner Brook, July 1924.
Special train leaving mill construction site at Corner Brook for the power plant construction site in Deer Lake. The train is carrying a rotor and stator for use in the power plant, July 1924. Corner Brook Museum and Archives.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Les incidences socioéconomiques

Page précédente Page 2 Page suivante

L'édification de la nation

La construction du chemin de fer transinsulaire et son exploitation étaient considérées comme propices à l'édification de la nation. Après avoir rejeté l'entrée de la colonie dans la Confédération avec le Canada en 1869, bien des Terre-Neuviens voyaient la construction du chemin de fer comme la prochaine étape. Les équipes de constructeurs du chemin de fer ont contribué de façon significative à créer des liens familiaux entre l'est et l'ouest de l'île. Le chemin de fer, de concert avec le service de vapeurs côtiers, a aidé à forger l'identité nationale chez les Terre-Neuviens et ces deux services ont joué un rôle vital en rapprochant le gouvernement colonial de la côte ouest et de l'intérieur de l'île.

C'est grâce au chemin de fer que des établissements ont vu le jour sur la côte ouest de l'île, dans la vallée de la Humber, la baie des Islands, la baie St. George's et la vallée de la Codroy. De nouveaux marchés se sont ouverts pour les fermiers de Codroy, fleuron agricole de l'île pendant de nombreuses années. Corner Brook, Channel-Port aux Basques et St. George's sont devenus des centres populeux de la côte ouest en bonne partie à cause de leur liaison avec le reste de l'île par voie ferroviaire et maritime.

Le chemin de fer a créé une nouvelle région de l'île, la région intérieure centrale. Des villes intérieures, telles que Whitbourne, Grand Falls et Bishop's Falls, ne sont pas les seules créations du chemin de fer; des terminaux de chemin de fer et de caboteurs dans le fond des baies sont aussi devenus de grands centres. Des centres de services régionaux modernes, tels que Clarenville et Lewisporte, étaient à l'origine des centres ferroviaires.

Quai du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers de Lewisporte. Lewisporte.
Quai des trains et des navires côtiers de Lewisporte. Les services de transport ferroviaire et maritime étaient des éléments moteurs du développement des centres de service régionaux, comme Lewisporte, dans les grandes baies. Cela a entraîné la concentration de la population terre-neuvienne dans les villes de plus grande importance. Collection Fred Chancey.
L'arrivée du vapeur à Brigus, 1930.
L'arrivée du vapeur à Brigus, vers 1930. Les trains et les navires côtiers étaient le seul lien avec le monde extérieur pour de nombreuses localités isolées éparpillées dans l'île. Dr Nigel Rusted.
Train spécial quittant le chantier de construction de l'usine à Corner Brook, juillet 1924.
Train spécial quittant le chantier de l'usine en construction à Corner Brook pour se diriger vers le chantier de la centrale électrique de Deer Lake. Le train transporte un rotor et un stator qui serviront à la centrale, juillet 1924. Musée et archives de Corner Brook.