All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Social/Economic Impact

Previous Page Page 3 Next Page

Railway Employees Welfare Association

After WWI Newfoundland found itself in a state of depression and crippling unemployment. Before the war ended workers in St. John's, led mainly by Newfoundland Railway employees, had organized the Newfoundland Industrial Workers Association, the NIWA, a workers' welfare movement. Organized in 1917, it dedicated itself to advancing the welfare of the ordinary worker. It published a newspaper, secured representation on local boards and committees, set up a co-op store, and organized lectures and discussions on social questions relevant to its members' interests.

In 1919 a Workmen's Compensation Act was passed by government, as well as an Industrial and Provident Societies Act to facilitate the setting up and operation of cooperatives and non-profit welfare associations.

Day to day conditions for railway workers gradually improved after 1923. In 1927 the Railway Employees Welfare Association (REWA) was established. A Sick Benefit Plan was established designed to maintain the income of a member while off sick from work. Right from its beginnings, the Association operated a Savings and Provident Fund which enabled members to save on a systematic basis through payroll deductions and to borrow for "any worthwhile purpose" at reasonable rates of interest. This fund continued over the whole life of the Association and was credited with helping members buy or build over 2,500 houses, mainly in St. John's but also in Bishop's Falls and other communities where railway men lived.

With Confederation in 1949, the Newfoundland Railway Company passed into the hands of the Canadian National Railway. This resulted in increased benefits to employees, better locomotives, and less strain on the provincial budget.

Group picture of the Railway Employees Welfare Association Board of Directors 1928-1931.
The Railway Employees Welfare Association introduced many social benefit programs for its workers at a time when such programs were unheard of in Newfoundland. Railway Coastal Museum.
Miners securing a section in a mine in Buchans.
"Shoring-up" in Buchans Mine. The Reids' vision of profitable mines in Newfoundland's interior did not live up to their expectations. However, the Buchans mine, which began shipping lead and zinc ore in 1928, was of great importance in helping Newfoundland's economy through the Depression of the 1930s. A.N.D. Company Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Les incidences socioéconomiques

Page précédente Page 3 Page suivante

L'association de prévoyance des cheminots

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, Terre-Neuve passe par une période de dépression et de chômage massif. Avant la fin de la guerre, les travailleurs de St. John's, dirigés surtout par les employés de la Newfoundland Railway, ont mis sur pied la Newfoundland Industrial Workers Association (NIWA), un mouvement d'aide sociale pour les travailleurs. Organisé en 1917, la NIWA oeuvrait à l'avancement du bien-être des simples ouvriers. Elle publie un journal, se fait élire aux conseils et comités locaux, monte un magasin coopératif et organise des présentations et des discussions sur les questions sociales d'intérêt pour ses membres.

En 1919, la Workmen's Compensation Act (loi d'indemnisation des accidentés du travail) est adoptée par le gouvernement, ainsi que l'Industrial and Provident Societies Act (loi sur les sociétés industrielles et de prévoyance) qui vise à faciliter la mise sur pied et l'exploitation de coopératives et d'associations d'aide sociale sans but lucratif.

Les conditions de travail des cheminots s'améliorent graduellement à compter de 1923. En 1927, une association de prévoyance des cheminots, la Railway Employees Welfare Association (REWA) est fondée. Un programme de prestations de maladie est mis sur pied dans le but de maintenir le revenu des membres lorsque ceux-ci sont en congé de maladie. Dès ses débuts, l'Association tient une caisse d'épargne et de prévoyance qui permet aux membres d'économiser d'une manière systématique par des déductions sur leur paye et d'emprunter pour toute raison louable à des taux d'intérêts raisonnables. Cette caisse sera exploitée pendant toute la durée de l'association et on lui attribue d'avoir aidé des membres à acheter ou à construire plus de 2 500 maisons, principalement à St. John's, mais aussi à Bishop's Falls et ailleurs où habitaient des cheminots.

À l'entrée de la colonie dans la Confédération en 1949, la Newfoundland Railway Company passe aux mains du Canadien National. Ce transfert a été avantageux pour les employés et il a permis d'améliorer les locomotives et d'alléger le fardeau financier de la province.

Photo de groupe des membres de la Railway Employees Welfare Association.
La Railway Employees Welfare Association a instauré de nombreux programmes d'avantages sociaux pour ses membres à une époque où de tels programmes étaient inédits à Terre-Neuve. Railway Coastal Museum.
Des mineurs sont en train de consolider une section de la mine de Buchans.
Travaux de consolidation à la mine de Buchans. Les Reid ambitionnaient de voir un jour des mines rentables dans l'intérieur de Terre-Neuve; ce projet ne s'est pas concrétisée. Toutefois, la mine de Buchans, qui a commencé à expédier du plomb et du minerai de zinc en 1928, a grandement contribué à l'économie de Terre-Neuve tout au long de la dépression des années 1930. Collection de l'A.N.D. Company.