All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Railway / Coastal History

Social/Economic Impact

Previous Page Page 5 Next Page

Trouters' Special

The trouting tradition in Newfoundland goes way back, perhaps to the arrival of the first European settlers. It was not until the early 1900's that the fledgling railway was able to come to the aid of the trouters. The Reid Newfoundland Company started running annual trains between St. John's and Placentia Junction on Victoria Day weekend. Trouters would arrive at the Riverhead Station, where the Railway Coastal Museum is now housed, ensuring to come early to get a good seat on the train. Others swaggered in at the last minute, under what some called "a full load".

Food, drink and musical entertainment contributed to a festive atmosphere on the train as it brought people to their favourite fishing holes. The atmosphere on the train in the evening was not much different, with people sharing their day's "fish that got away" stories.

Over time, the Trouters' Special became a regular part of Victoria Day. It found its way into popular culture and art; poems and songs were written about it and alcoholic beverages were named after it. It was such a popular event that Canadian National Railway continued to run the Trouters' Special for several years after it took over the Newfoundland Railway in 1949. Years after passenger service was discontinued, on May 22, 1983, CN ran a special commemorative Trouters' Special, the last of its kind in Newfoundland.

The Trouters' Special was not the only Excursion train that was hosted by the Reid Newfoundland Railway. Excursion trains were something that everyone could look forward to during the summer months. Some groups, such as church groups or other societies, would rent a car and have their own excursion to a pond or camp site. The Railway regularly promoted tourism to the interior of Newfoundland during the summer months.

Fishing basket on exhibit at the Railway Coastal Museum.
Fishing basket. Railway Coastal Museum.
Two hunters with slain caribou, pre 1912.
Successful hunt, pre 1912. The Reids, themselves avid hunters and anglers, promoted tourism from the first. 25.02.003 Coll-137, Archives and Manuscripts, QEII, Memorial University.
Customers inside Chaulk's Grocery store, Gander.
Improvements in transportation increased the availability and variety of North American consumer goods in Newfoundland. Atlantic Guardian Collection.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Histoire du chemin de fer et des navires côtiers

Les incidences socioéconomiques

Page précédente Page 5 Page suivante

Excursions de pêche à la truite

La tradition de la pêche à la truite à Terre-Neuve remonte à bien longtemps, peut-être même à l'arrivée des premiers colons européens. C'est seulement à partir du début des années 1900 que le nouveau chemin de fer vient à l'aide des pêcheurs de truite. La Reid Newfoundland Company organisait une randonnée annuelle entre St. John's et Placentia Junction lors du week-end de la fête de la Reine. Les pêcheurs de truite arrivaient tôt à la gare de Riverhead, qui abrite aujourd'hui le Railway Coastal Museum, pour avoir un bon siège. D'autres entraient en plastronnant à la dernière minute, après avoir bien levé le coude.

La nourriture, les boissons et la musique créaient une atmosphère festive sur le train qui amenait les gens vers leur lieu favori de pêche. Au retour le soir, l'atmosphère sur le train n'était pas très différente, alors que les gens racontaient leurs histoires de poissons qui se sont sauvés.

Au fil du temps, le Trouters' Special pour les amateurs de la pêche à la truite est devenu une activité régulière de la fête de Victoria. Il a fini par faire partie de la culture et des arts populaires; des poèmes et des chansons ont été écrits sur ce thème et des boissons alcoolisées portaient son nom. L'événement est tellement populaire que le Canadien National continuera de faire le trajet du Trouters' Special pendant plusieurs années après avoir repris le Newfoundland Railway en 1949. Des années après l'interruption du service de passagers, le Canadien National fit, le 22 mai 1983, une tournée commémorative du Trouters' Special, la dernière du genre à Terre-Neuve.

Le Trouters' Special n'était pas la seule excursion qu'a organisée le Newfoundland Railway des Reid. Tout le monde attendait avec impatience les excursions en train organisées pendant les mois d'été. Des groupes, comme des organisations confessionnelles ou autres, nolisaient un wagon pour aller à la pêche sur un étang ou aller camper. La compagnie de chemin de fer faisait régulièrement de la promotion touristique pour attirer les gens vers l'intérieur de Terre-Neuve pendant les mois d'été.

Panier à pêche exposé au Railway Coastal Museum.
Panier à pêche. Railway Coastal Museum.
Deux chasseurs posent avec un caribou abattu, avant 1912.
Chasse fructueuse, avant 1912. Les Reid, eux-mêmes passionnés de chasse et de pêche, ont fait la promotion du tourisme dès le début. 25.02.003 Col. 137, Archives et manuscrits, Bibliothèque QEII, Université Memorial.
Des clients dans l'épicerie Chaulk, à Gander.
Grâce aux moyens de transport améliorés, Terre-Neuve avait désormais accès à un plus grand choix de biens de consommation nord-américains. Collection de l'Atlantic Guardian.