All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Technology

Activities and Games

Diesel Engine

Learn more about train engines in Newfoundland!

Below is an image of a Diesel train engine. See the diagrams below the image to discover more about the numbered regions of the engine!

The diesel engine in a locomotive is very much like the one in a big semi-trailer truck. Diesel oil is burned inside cylinders. The pistons slide back and forth and generate electric power. The electric power turns the drive wheels and the train moves. Several diesel locomotives supply the electric power to pull long trains.

Unlike a steam engine, a diesel engine does not usually drive the locomotive's wheels directly. Instead, it generates electricity, which then is used to turn the wheels.

View of Diesel Train Engine components

  1. Engine: The Diesel Engine turns the generator to produce an electric current, which drives a motor which turns the wheels.
  2. Bogie (truck): A bogie is a strong metal frame that connects the wheels and axles of a train. They keep the wheels, motors, brakes and suspension coils or springs in place. Two bogies can support a car.
  3. Fuel tank: The huge fuel tank in the underbelly of the locomotive holds 2,200 gallons (8,328 litres) of diesel fuel. The fuel tank is compartmentalized, so if any compartment is damaged or starts to leak, pumps can remove the fuel from that compartment.
  4. Cab: The cab of the locomotive rides on its own suspension system which helps to isolate the engineer from bumps. The seats have a suspension system as well.
  5. Fan / Batteries: Fan cools the generator and the locomotive has eight 8-volt batteries each weighing over 300 pounds (136 kg). These batteries provide the power needed to start the engine as well as to start the electronics in the locomotive.

Click to return to Games and Activities

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Technologie

Activités et jeux

Locomotive Diesel

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les locomotives à Terre-Neuve!

Voyez ci-dessous l'image d'une locomotive diesel. Les diagrammes plus bas permettent de voir en détail les parties de la locomotive qui sont numérotées.

Le moteur diesel d'une locomotive ressemble de près à celui d'une grosse semi-remorque. Du carburant diesel est brûlé à l'intérieur de cylindres. Les pistons font un mouvement de va-et-vient et génèrent l'énergie électrique. Celle-ci fait tourner les roues motrices et le train se met en mouvement. Il faut plusieurs locomotives diesels pour tirer de longs trains.

Contrairement au moteur à vapeur, le moteur diesel ne fait pas mouvoir les roues de la locomotive directement. Il génère plutôt de l'électricité qui, à son tour, fait tourner les roues.

Vue des composants d'une locomotive diesel

  1. Moteur: La génératrice produit un courant électrique, qui actionne un moteur qui, à son tour, fait tourner les roues.
  2. Bogie: Le bogie est une lourde structure métallique qui relie les roues et les essieux du train. Il maintient en place les roues, moteurs, freins et amortisseurs ou ressorts de suspension. Deux bogies peuvent soutenir un wagon.
  3. Réservoir à carburant: L'énorme réservoir à carburant sous le dessous de la locomotive contient 2 200 gallons (8,328 litres) de carburant diesel. Le réservoir à carburant est cloisonné car en cas de bris ou de fuite dans l'un de ses compartiments, on pourrait en enlever le carburant à l'aide d'une pompe.
  4. Cabine du mécanicien: La cabine de la locomotive s'appuie sur un système de suspension indépendant qui permet d'éviter les secousses au mécanicien. Les sièges ont aussi leur propre suspension.
  5. Ventilateur / Batteries: Le ventilateur refroidit la génératrice et la locomotive est dotée de huit batteries de 8 volts qui pèsent plus de 300 livres (136 kg) chacune. Ces batteries génèrent l'énergie électrique nécessaire pour faire démarrer la locomotive ainsi que ses systèmes électriques.

Cliquez ici pour retourner aux Jeux et Activités