All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

The Museum

Museum Exhibits

6 - Platform and Train Diorama

Video Tour of the Train Diorama

JavaScript must be enabled and the latest Adobe Flash Player must be installed to interact with this page.

Length: 1:54 Min
File Size: 4.9 MB
Transcript

Here travellers would have awaited the arrival of the train when the trains were still running in Newfoundland. This area now features a 90 foot diorama which uses actual railcars from the Newfoundland Railway to illustrate what each type of railcar was like. The various sections of a 1940's passenger train have been carefully restored.

The train conductor welcomes you on board. In the daytime, sleeper passengers would sit facing each other in the comfortable seats as they travelled to their destinations. At night, the porter unlocked the upper berths and made them up along with the lower berths. Passengers preferred the lower berths which had windows and were easier to enter and exit.

The smoker was usually the social domain of men where they socialized, played cards and had a drink.

The dining car could accommodate 24 people sitting. Each table had its own window and was elegantly set with linen table cloths, silver service and crested Newfoundland Railway china. The Railway dining car was renowned for its tasty meals and excellent service.

The galley was fitted with a large cooking range, refrigerator, large work area and sink in order to produce the three meals a day for the train passengers.

The coach car had the capacity to seat up to fifty passengers. Each passenger had a comfortable recliner.

The mail car was closed off to everyone except the mailmen who was employed by the Royal Mail, not the Railway. It was their responsibility to ensure the efficient delivery and receipt of the mail.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Le musée

Expositions du musée

6 - Le diorama du train

Visite vidéo du diorama du train

JavaScript doit être activé et la dernière version d'Adobe Flash Player doit être installé pour interagir avec cette page

Durée: 1:54 Min
La taille du fichier: 4.9 Mo
Transcription

C'est ici que les voyageurs attendaient l'arrivée du train à l'époque où ces trains roulaient encore à Terre-Neuve. Cette section expose un diorama de 27 mètres de long où des wagons de train réels du Newfoundland Railway servent à illustrer à quoi ressemblait chaque type de wagon. Les diverses sections d'un train de passagers de 1940 y ont été soigneusement restaurées.

Le chef de train vous accueille à bord. Durant le jour, les passagers des wagons-lits étaient assis face à face dans des fauteuils confortables tout en se rendant vers leur destination. Puis, le soir venu, le porteur dégageait les couchettes du haut et les préparait ainsi que celles du bas. Les passagers préféraient les couchettes du bas, car elles faisaient face aux fenêtres et il était plus facile d'y accéder et d'en sortir.

Le fumoir était ordinairement le fief social des hommes où ils conversaient, jouaient aux cartes et prenaient un verre.

Le wagon-restaurant pouvait accueillir 24 personnes assises. Chaque table avait sa propre fenêtre et était mise élégamment avec des nappes en toile de lin, un couvert en argent et de la vaisselle blasonnée du Newfoundland Railway. Le wagon-restaurant du chemin de fer était renommé pour sa cuisine savoureuse et son excellent service.

La cuisine était équipée de gros appareils : cuisinière, réfrigérateur, plan de travail et évier, tous de grande dimension, de manière à pouvoir préparer les trois repas quotidiens des passagers du train.

La voiture-coach pouvait accueillir jusqu'à 50 passagers assis et chacun d'entre eux avait un confortable fauteuil inclinable.

Le wagon postal n'était accessible qu'aux postiers. Ceux-ci étaient embauchés par la Poste royale et non par la société ferroviaire. Il leur incombait de voir à la livraison et à la réception efficientes du courrier.