All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

The Museum

Museum Exhibits

2 - Railway Museum Platform

Video Tour of  the platform entrance

JavaScript must be enabled and the latest Adobe Flash Player must be installed to interact with this page.

Length: 1:56 Min
File Size: 2.0 MB
Transcript

As you enter the platform area of the former train station, you can see the area where passengers once went to catch their trains. Note the outside walls of the building which feature the famous Newfoundland granite which was used to build the station.

Looking down into the gallery you can get a sense of the length of the former platform. Now this area features exhibits relating the history of the Newfoundland Railway and the coastal boat service as well as a small theatre area.

Along the entire length at the back of the gallery, you can see a train diorama which uses actual train cars to show their interiors. The diorama is installed at the spot where the trains would have stopped at this station.

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Le musée

Expositions du musée

2 - Le quai

Visite vidéo de l'entrée aux expositions du quai

JavaScript doit être activé et la dernière version d'Adobe Flash Player doit être installé pour interagir avec cette page

Durée: 1:56 Min
La taille du fichier: 2.0 Mo
Transcription

Lorsque vous arrivez sur le quai de l'ancienne gare, vous pouvez voir l'endroit où les passagers venaient pour prendre le train. Remarquez les murs extérieurs du bâtiment faits avec le célèbre granit de Terre-Neuve qui a servi à construire la gare.

En jetant un coup d'oeil dans la galerie, vous aurez un aperçu de la longueur de l'ancien quai. Dans cette section, on présente des objets qui racontent l'histoire du chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve et de son service de navigation côtière. Elle contient aussi une petite salle de spectacles.

Au fond de la galerie, vous pouvez voir tout au long un diorama qui utilise de vrais wagons afin qu'on puisse voir leur intérieur. Ce diorama est installé juste à l'endroit où les trains arrêtaient à cette gare.