All Aboard! Exploring the Newfoundland Railway

Introduction

Gordon Barnes - Welcome Video

Gordon Barnes introduces the museum

JavaScript must be enabled and the latest Adobe Flash Player must be installed to interact with this page.

Length: 3:15 Min
File Size: 4.66 MbBack to Introduction
Transcript

Welcome to the Railway Coastal Museum. The Museum opened in 2003 and the object was to restore the old railway station to roughly the period of the 30s and 40s, when it was the Newfoundland Railway and not Canadian National.

It's rather unique in a way because we celebrate the railway and the coastal boat service and what's unique about that is of course is that the railways were in fact the owners and operators of the coastal boat service. Which I am sure is unique in Canada.

The mandate of the Museum is to tell the story of the railway and the coastal boat service.

The railway was instrumental in opening up the interior, of the country of Newfoundland, for paper, for making forestry, mining, farming in certain areas and of course the coastal boat service was very important to linking hundreds of communities around the coast, that had no access to roads or the railway. So both together were integrated into one service, to bring health services, educational services and so on to the people of Newfoundland.

The Museum here was a joint project of the Johnston Family Foundation, the Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency, and to some extent the City of St. John's. All three combined -to - to bring this Museum to fruition. So we would like you to enjoy your visit to our Museum and hope you will learn about the rich history, not only of the railway and coastal boat service, but of the rich history of Newfoundland included in that service

En voiture! Pour explorer le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve

Introduction

Gordon Barnes - La vidéo de bienvenue

Gordon Barnes présente le musée

JavaScript doit être activé et la dernière version d'Adobe Flash Player doit être installé pour interagir avec cette page

Durée: 3:15 Min
La taille du fichier: 4.66 MbRetour à Introduction
Transcription

Bienvenue au Railway Coastal Museum. Le musée a ouvert en 2003 et l'objectif était de restaurer la vieille gare pour qu'elle reprenne à peu près l'apparence qu'elle avait durant les années 1930 et 1940, lorsque le réseau ferroviaire appartenait au Newfoundland Railway et pas au Canadien National.

Il s'agit d'un cas unique, car nous célébrons le chemin de fer et le service de navigation côtière, et les propriétaires du réseau ferroviaire étaient en fait également les propriétaires et les exploitants du service de navigation côtière, une situation qui, selon moi, était unique au Canada.

Le musée a comme mandat de raconter l'histoire du chemin de fer et du service de navigation côtière.

Le chemin de fer a contribué à ouvrir l'arrière-pays de Terre-Neuve à la foresterie, à l'industrie papetière, aux mines et à l'agriculture dans certaines régions. Le service de navigation côtière, de son côté, a joué un rôle important en reliant des centaines de collectivités côtières de l'île qui n'avaient pas d'accès aux routes ou au chemin de fer. Les deux services ont donc été intégrés en un seul afin d'apporter les services de santé et d'éducation à la population de Terre-Neuve.

Le musée est une oeuvre conjointe de la Johnson Family Foundation, de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique et, jusqu'à un certain point, de la ville de St. John's. Les trois se sont concertés pour réaliser la création du musée. Nous vous souhaitons donc une agréable visite de notre musée et nous espérons que vous en apprendrez, non seulement sur la riche histoire du chemin de fer et du service de navigation côtière, mais aussi sur celle de Terre-Neuve, qui leur est reliée.