Staying in Tune

© 2009, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Introduction

Staying in Tune: Traditions and Musical Instruments of the Francophonie. From the ancient traditional instruments of the Mossi to the modern guitars of Quebec, music is the other language shared between the nations of the Francophonie.

Staying in Tune offers you a chance to find out about traditional instruments and learn what connects them to the people who invented them. Young people between the ages of 15 and 20 from nine French-speaking countries came together to share their memories and knowledge about instruments they selected from their cities’ museums.

The stories are organized into four categories using the Hornbostel and Sachs music classification system. This system includes all instruments of the world:

Chordophones: In musical classification systems, the family of chordophones includes instruments with strings as tone-producing elements that are stretched between fixed points. The strings vibrate when they are plucked, struck or scraped, like the violin or harp.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Traditions et instruments de musique

© 2009, CHIN. Tous droits réservés.

Introduction

Accords francophones : Traditions et instruments de musique. Des anciens instruments traditionnels des Mossi aux guitares modernes du Québec, la musique constitue l’autre langue commune aux nations de la Francophonie.

Accords francophones vous propose la découverte d’instruments traditionnels et leurs rapports avec la société dont ils sont issus. Des jeunes âgés de 15 à 20 ans, originaires de neuf pays de la Francophonie, ont accepté de partager leurs souvenirs et leurs connaissances sur un instrument qu’ils ont choisi dans le musée de leur ville.

Les histoires sont classées dans l’une des quatre catégories selon le système de classification des instruments de musique Hornbostel et Sachs. Ce système comprend tous les instruments du monde :

Chordophones : La famille organologique des cordophones comprend les instruments dont la ou les cordes sont tendues entre des points fixes, qui vibrent lorsqu’elles sont pincées, frappées ou frottées, tels que le violon ou la harpe.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons