The Escuminac Formation

© Miguasha National Park

Introduction

The Micmac people of the Gaspé called this area Megouasag, meaning “red cliffs”. Over time, the name changed to Miguasha, but the place is still just as red. In the evening, when the setting sun bathes the cliffs in glowing light, the rocks turn beautiful shades of crimson.

Located at the western end of the Baie-des-Chaleurs along the northern shore of the Ristigouche River, Miguasha owes its red colouring to the rocks of the Bonaventure rock formation. But the area is most famous for another series of rocks – the Escuminac Formation – which lies under the Bonaventure Formation at beach level. For more than 125 years, the Escuminac Formation has garnered worldwide acclaim among paleontologists. Thousands of beautifully preserved fossils have been extracted from the Escuminac cliffs, mainly of fish that lived 380 million years ago during the Devonian Period.

In recognition of its paleontological significance, UNESCO declared Miguasha a World Heritage Site in 1999. The Parc national de Miguasha, established in 1985, ensures the protection of this fossil-rich site and maintains an impressive collection of specimens in its Natural History Museum, founded in 1978. The park and museum offer visitors an exceptional opportunity to learn about paleontology and discover one of the most important moments in the evolution of life on Earth: the emergence of the first vertebrates to venture on land in a world that had been dominated until then by water-dwelling creatures.

Miguasha is a bit like a photo that shows us what it was like in this corner of the planet very long ago. The photo may be a bit faded, but it still reveals an incredible amount of detail to paleontologists who are willing to study it carefully and with great patience.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La Formation d’Escuminac

© Parc national de Miguasha

Introduction

Les Micmacs de la Gaspésie appelaient le secteur Megouasag: falaise rouge. Devenu Miguasha avec le temps, l’endroit est toujours aussi rouge. En soirée, lorsque le soleil couchant caresse les falaises de ses rayons tièdes, la roche s’embrase de tons écarlates.

À l’extrémité ouest de la Baie-des-Chaleurs, du côté nord de la rivière Ristigouche, Miguasha doit sa coloration rouge à la formation géologique de Bonaventure. Mais l’endroit doit plutôt sa renommée à la formation qui se trouve juste en dessous, au niveau de la plage. Depuis 125 ans, la Formation d’Escuminac est célèbre chez les paléontologues du monde entier. Et pour cause: elle a livré des milliers de fossiles étonnamment bien conservés, principalement des poissons qui ont vécu au Dévonien, il y a 380 millions d’années.

Site paléontologique majeur pour cette période éloignée, Miguasha a été déclaré "patrimoine mondial de l’humanité" par l’UNESCO en 1999. Le parc national de Miguasha, créé en 1985, en assure la protection et conserve les précieux fossiles dans les collections du musée d’histoire naturelle érigé six ans plus tôt. Accessible au public durant la belle saison, l’endroit permet de se familiariser avec la paléontologie et de découvrir un moment important de l’évolution, l’apparition des premiers vertébrés terrestres, dans un monde peuplé jusqu’alors par des êtres aquatiques.

Miguasha est un peu comme une photo qui nous montre de quoi avait l’air ce coin de notre planète il y a très longtemps. Une photo un peu défraîchie, mais qui révèle une incroyable somme d’informations aux paléontologues qui savent l’observer avec assez de patience et de minutie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons