Tropical Forest

© Biodôme de Montréal, 2005. All rights reserved

Introduction

The Biodôme isn’t a zoo, an aquarium or a botanical garden, but all these things combined. It brings together five ecosystems of the Americas, reproduced with striking accuracy, under one roof. Each of these natural habitats features very different animal and plant life, rocks and climates.

But it’s even more than that.

The Biodôme, whose name means "house of life," shows visitors the "true nature" of the Americas, by offering up their loveliest and most amazing ecosystems. Why? Our goal is to encourage everyone, children included, to become more aware of the need to preserve our unique and extraordinary natural heritage. The Biodôme seeks to make individuals and our society as a whole aware of the importance of making a commitment to protecting the environment.

It fulfills its mission through a variety of education, conservation, research and outreach initiatives to foster better understanding of overarching issues that affect the whole planet.

When the Biodôme opened in 1992, its "ecosystem" concept was a world first. This systemic approach still has no equal in the faithful and complex way in which it represents the real-world environment (its "rocks," climates, lighting, etc.) and shows how nature really works.

The Biodôme invites you to explore its ecosystems;

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Forêt tropicale

© Biodôme de Montréal, 2005. Tous droits réservés

Introduction

Le Biodôme n’est ni un zoo, ni un aquarium, ni un jardin botanique, mais un peu tout cela. Sous un même toit, cinq écosystèmes des Amériques sont reproduits avec une fidélité saisissante. Dans chacun de ces cinq extraits de nature, on trouve une faune, une flore, des rochers et des climats bien différents.

Le Biodôme, dont le nom signifie « maison de la vie », expose à ses visiteurs la « vraie nature » des Amériques en leur offrant un aperçu de ce que leurs écosystèmes ont de plus beau et de plus étonnant. Pourquoi? Pour que chacune et chacun d’entre nous, y compris nos enfants, puisse prendre conscience de la nécessité de préserver ce patrimoine naturel aussi unique qu’extraordinaire.

La mission du Biodôme se concrétise par des initiatives en matière d’éducation, de conservation, de recherche et de diffusion afin de promouvoir une meilleure compréhension des grands enjeux planétaires.

Lorsque le Biodôme a été inauguré en 1992, son concept d’aménagement « par écosystèmes » constituait une première mondiale. Cette approche systémique reste inégalée quant à la fidélité et à la complexité de la représentation du milieu naturel (« rochers », climats, éclairages...) et offre une vision plus juste du véritable fonctionnement de la vie.

Le Biodôme vous invite à explorer ses écosystèmes:

Antarctique
Arctique
Forêt tropicale - Premières impressions
Forêt tropicale - Dans les arbres et dans l’eau
Forêt laurentienne
Saint-Laurent marin

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons