The Quiet Revolution in Quebec: Platter and Insulator

Both the platter and the insulator can help us understand the changes that took place in Quebec during the 1960s – the years most associated with the Quiet Revolution.

The pattern on this platter has the emblems and motto of the Saint-Jean-Baptiste Society. The Saint-Jean-Baptiste Society is a patriotic institution in Quebec. It was founded on 8 March 1834. The Society was established to support the French-Canadian people within Canada and to preserve the French language and francophone culture.

On the bottom of the platter we see the following words: ‘NOS INSTITUTIONS, NOTRE LANGUE ET NOS LOIS’ (Our Institutions, Our Language and Our Laws). These words or ideas were also known as the Three Pillars of Survival. The Three Pillars of Survival defined the distinctiveness of Quebec in the North American context. As long as French Canadians would stay faithful to these three elements of their heritage, they would continue to exist as a separate entity.

However, when the Three Pillars of Survival were first expressed, they were: ‘Notre Foi, Notre Langue, Nos Institutions’ (Our Faith, Our Language, Our Institutions). If you look at the platter, you will see that ‘Notre Foi’ (Our Faith) has been replaced by ‘Nos Lois’ (Our Laws). This is not a printing error. In order to understand why there is a difference on the platter, we need to look at the Quiet Revolution.

Slogans during the Quiet Revolution:
• ‘Il Faut Que Ça Change’: Things Have to Change
• ‘Maîtres Chez Nous’: Masters of Our Own House

The slogan or motto stating that ‘Things Have to Change’ explains why we see the difference between the words on the platter and the original three Pillars of Survival. We can also see that the roots of the Quiet Revolution go back to the mid 19th century, when this platter was made. But it took a long time for these roots to really take hold.

During the Quiet Revolution there was a move away from certain institutions and ideas that previously held a lot of power in Quebec, such as the Catholic Church. There was a push to protect the French language and to involve francophones much more in the economy of the province, where anglophones had previously had a lot of influence.

This platter represents an early example of this move away from the Catholic Church or from religion in general. It shows that, instead, the leaders of Quebec society were beginning to focus their attention on protecting Quebec's civil law.

The Quebec Act of 1774 reinstated French colonial civil law, while maintaining British criminal law. Since the mid 19th century, Quebec’s civil law has been based on the French civil code, which was established during the Napoleonic period (early 1800s). The civil law of the English-speaking provinces of Canada is based on ‘Common Law’, which came from England. Common Law tends to be the civil law of those countries of the world that have a history as British territories or colonies.

Therefore one of the key factors that the people of Quebec wanted to protect and maintain was not so much their religious difference from the English-speakers around them, who were more Protestant than Catholic, but their difference from English-speaking Canadians in their civil law.

For the second slogan of the Quiet Revolution, ‘Maîtres Chez Nous’ or Masters of Our Own House, we need to look at the insulator. For years, the language of business and industry in Quebec was English because most of the natural resources were owned by private companies, most of which were controlled by English-speaking Canadians and Americans.

In a bold and strategic move the government of Quebec amalgamated and nationalized the companies that owned and operated the electrical utilities of Quebec. By doing this, the people of Quebec moved toward fulfilling the goal of becoming Masters of Their Own House. Hydro-Québec's successes soon earned it an international reputation and made it a symbol of the Quiet Revolution.
________________________
Royal Ontario Museum
Historical Advisor: Caroline Cholette, Hydro-Québec Archives

© 2006, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La Révolution tranquille au Québec : plat de service et isolateur

Le plat de service et l’isolateur nous aident à mieux comprendre les changements qui ont marqué le Québec dans les années 1960 – les années le plus souvent associées à la Révolution tranquille.

Ce plat de service est décoré des emblèmes et de la devise de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste. La Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste est une institution civique québécoise. Elle a été fondée le 8 mars 1834 pour venir en aide aux francophones du Canada et préserver la langue française et la culture francophone.
Sur le bord inférieur du plat, on peut lire les mots suivants : « NOS INSTITUTIONS, NOTRE LANGUE ET NOS LOIS ». Ces mots ou ces idées étaient aussi appelés les trois piliers de la survie, ils définissaient le caractère distinct du Québec en Amérique du Nord. Tant que les Canadiens français resteraient fidèles à ces trois fondements de leur patrimoine, ils continueraient d’exister comme entité distincte.

À l’origine, toutefois, les trois piliers de la survie étaient : « Notre Foi, Notre Langue, Nos Institutions ». On peut voir, sur le plat, que les mots « Notre Foi » ont été remplacés par « Nos Lois ». Il ne s’agit pas d’une erreur. Pour comprendre pourquoi ces mots ont été changés, il faut revenir à la Révolution tranquille.

Les slogans de la Révolution tranquille :
• « Il faut que ça change »
• « Maîtres chez nous »

Le slogan ou la maxime « Il faut que ça change » nous aide à mieux comprendre pourquoi les mots figurant sur le plat diffèrent de la devise originale. Nous comprenons aussi que la Révolution tranquille est en route depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, lorsque ce plat a été fabriqué. Il lui aura fallu beaucoup de temps pour finalement s’imposer.

Pendant la Révolution tranquille, on prend du recul par rapport à certaines institutions et idées profondément ancrées au Québec, comme l’Église catholique. On veut protéger la langue française et on revendique une plus grande emprise des francophones sur l’économie de la province, jusque-là largement contrôlées par les Canadiens anglophones et les Américains.


Ce plat est un exemple précoce de la distance que l’on prend avec l’Église catholique et la religion en général. Il montre que les chefs de la société québécoise commencent à prendre conscience de la nécessité de protéger le droit civil québécois.

L’Acte de Québec (de 1774) rétablit le droit civil colonial français, tout en maintenant le droit criminel anglais. Depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, le droit civil québécois reprend les principes du Code civil français, institué durant l’ère napoléonienne (au début du XIXe siècle). Le droit civil des provinces anglophones du Canada s’inspire de la « common law », venue d’Angleterre. La common law est l’équivalent du droit civil des pays qui sont d’anciens territoires ou colonies britanniques.

Ce que le peuple du Québec veut vraiment protéger, et maintenir, n’est pas tant sa différence religieuse par rapport aux anglophones qui l’entourent (ils sont plus souvent protestants que catholiques) que sa différence par rapport aux Canadiens anglais et leur droit civil.

L’isolateur nous donne la clé de la deuxième maxime de la Révolution tranquille : « Maîtres chez nous ». Pendant de nombreuses années, l’anglais est la langue des affaires et de l’industrie au Québec, car la plupart des ressources naturelles appartiennent à des sociétés privées, essentiellement sous le contrôle des Canadiens anglais et les Americans.

Le gouvernement du Québec échafaude une stratégie audacieuse et entreprend de fusionner et de nationaliser les sociétés qui possèdent et exploitent les services d’électricité de la province. Les Québécois se rapprochent ainsi de leur objectif de devenir maîtres chez eux. Le succès d’Hydro-Québec la rend vite célèbre dans le monde entier et en fait un symbole de la Révolution tranquille.
________________________
Musée royal de l'Ontario
Conseillère historique : Caroline Cholette, Archives d’Hydro-Québec

© 2006, Musée royal de l'Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons