John Gray, playwright, composer, pianist

John MacLachlan (Howard) Gray. Playwright, composer, pianist, actor, writer, b Ottawa 26 Sep 1946; BA (Mount Allison) 1968, MA (British Columbia) 1972, honorary LLD (Mount Allison) 1989. Raised in Truro, NS, John Gray played Hammond organ and trumpet ca 1964-8 with the Lincolns, an R&B band popular in Nova Scotia. He later drew on the experience for his musical Rock and Roll. Gray went to Vancouver in 1968 to study theatre at the University of British Columbia. He was a founder (1972) of the Tamahnous Theatre, which produced an early Gray effort, Salty Tears (libretto by Jeremy Long), at the City Lights Theatre.

Composer of Musicals
Living 1975-82 in Toronto before returning to Vancouver, Gray worked initially as a composer and director at Theatre Passe Muraille, contributing songs to various productions, including the collectively conceived play 1837: The Farmer's Revolt. His first major musical, 18 Wheels (1976), was introduced in 1977 at Passe Muraille and later toured nationally. It was followed by Billy Bishop Goes to War (1978, a collaboration with Eric Peterson) and Rock and Roll (1979). The latter was premiered 16 Mar 1981 at the National Arts Centre, toured in Canada in 1983 and was adapted for a CBC telecast 20 Apr 1985 as The King of Friday Night. Gray appeared at various times in productions of all three works.

Gray's other musicals included Don Messer's Jubilee (1984, premiered 4 Jan 1985 at the Neptune Theatre, Halifax, and toured nationally) and Health, the Musical (1989, premiered 24 Feb 1989 at the Vancouver Playhouse). Thematically, many of his musicals explore the internal and external pressures that have shaped Canada's self-image; stylistically they draw on the energy and structure of the travelling vaudeville and concert troupes that were his introduction to the performing arts in Truro. The librettos for 18 Wheels, Rock and Roll and Don Messer's Jubilee were published in Local Boy Makes Good: Three Musicals by John Gray (Vancouver 1987).

Gray also wrote the children's musicals Bongo from the Congo and Balthazaar and the Mojo Star (1982, commissioned by the Vancouver International Children's Festival) as well as The B.C. Review (1986, 18 short musicals about British Columbia history for the province's pavillion at Expo 86).

Gray's Other Activities
From 1988 to 1992 John Gray wrote and performed in satiric music videos for CBC-TV's The Journal. He returned to writing for stage with the 1993 musical Amelia!, about the pilot Amelia Earhart; it premiered at the National Arts Centre, directed by Gray.

CBC Radio commissioned the 1995 biblical rock opera TheTree.TheTower.TheFlood. Gray's Rock and Roll, and revised versions of Billy Bishop (in which Gray reprised his role) and 18 Wheels, enjoyed revivals in several Canadian cities in the 1990s.

Gray's other writings include plays (eg, Better Watch Out, Better Not Die, 1981); film scripts (eg, The Legend of Kootenai Brown); and several novels and works of non-fiction. He has been a columnist for such newspapers as the Globe and Mail and the Vancouver Sun.

Awards and Recognition
John Gray's musicals have reaped the Dora Mavor Moore Award (for Rock and Roll), the Los Angeles Drama Critics Award, the Chalmers Award and other prizes (for Billy Bishop Goes to War). For his other writing, he has won a National Magazine Award and several Western Magazine awards. Gray was created an officer in the Order of Canada in 2000.

 


The Canadian Encyclopedia © 2007 Historica Foundation of Canada. All rights reserved. 

Betty Nygaard King
c. 2007
CANADA Atlantic Provinces, Atlantic Provinces, CANADA
© 2007, Historica Foundation of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

John Gray, dramaturge, compositeur, pianiste

Gray, John MacLachlan (Howard). Dramaturge, compositeur, pianiste, acteur et écrivain (Ottawa, 26 septembre 1946). B.A. (Mount Allison) 1968, M.A. (Colombie-Britannique) 1972, LL.D. h.c. (Mount Allison) 1989. John Gray a grandi à Truro (N.-É.), et il a joué de l'orgue Hammond et de la trompette vers 1964-1968 avec les Lincolns, groupe rhythm and blues populaire en Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette expérience a inspiré sa comédie musicale Rock and Roll. Il s'est rendu à Vancouver en 1968 pour y étudier le théâtre à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Il est un des fondateurs (1972) du Tamahnous Theatre qui a monté une œuvre de jeunesse de Gray, Salty Tears (livret de Jeremy Long), au City Lights Theatre. 

Auteur de comédies musicales 

À Toronto, où il a vecu de 1975 à 1982 - il est retourné à Vancouver par la suite - Gray a d'abord été auteur et metteur en scène au Théâtre Passe Muraille; il a composé des chansons pour divers spectacles dont la pièce collective 1837 : The Farmer's Revolt. Sa première comédie musicale d'envergure, 18 Wheels (1976) a été créée en 1977 au Passe Muraille avant d'être jouée partout au pays. Elle a été suivie de Billy Bishop Goes to War (1978, composée en collaboration avec Eric Peterson) et de Rock and Roll (1979). Cette dernière œuvre a été créée le 16 mars 1981 au Centre national des Arts, a fait une tournée pancanadienne en 1983 et a été adaptée pour une émission de la SRC télévisée le 20 avril 1985 sous le titre The King of Friday Night. Gray s'est produit à diverses occasions dans les productions de ces trois pièces.

Il a également à son actif les comédies musicales Don Messer's Jubilee (1984, créée le 4 janvier 1985 au Neptune Theatre de Halifax et donnée dans tout le pays par la suite) et Health, the Musical (1989, créée le 24 février 1989 au Vancouver Playhouse). Les thèmes de plusieurs de ses comédies musicales explorent les pressions internes et externes qui ont façonné l'image que le Canada a de lui-même; leur style emprunte la vitalité et la structure des spectacles itinérants de vaudeville et de concert qui lui ont servi d'introduction aux arts d'interprétation à Truro. Les livrets de 18 Wheels, Rock and Roll et Don Messer's Jubilee ont été publiés dans Local Boy Makes Good : Three Musicals by John Gray (Vancouver 1987).

Gray est également l'auteur des comédies musicales pour enfants Bongo from the Congo et Balthazaar and the Mojo Star (1982, commandées par le Vancouver International Children's Festival) ainsi que The B.C. Review (1986, 18 courtes comédies musicales sur l'histoire de la Colombie-Britannique pour le pavillon de cette province à l'Expo 86).

Autres activités

De 1988 à 1992, John Gray écrit et présente des vidéos musicales satiriques à l'émission de télévision « The Journal » de la SRC. Il estretourné à l'écriture pour la scène avec la comédie musicale Amelia! qui a pour sujet la pilote Amelia Earhart, créée au Centre national des Arts sous sa direction.

La radio de la SRC lui commande l'opéra rock biblique The Tree. The Tower. The Flood [sic]. Dans les années 1990, les œuvres de Gray, Rock and Roll, une version revue de Billy Bishop (dans laquelle Gray reprend son rôle) et 18 Wheels reprennent vie et sont présentées dans plusieurs villes canadiennes.

Les autres écrits de Gray incluent des pièces de théâtre - notamment Better Watch Out, Better Not Die (1981), des scénarios de film (par example, The Legend of Kootenai Brown), plusieurs romans et œuvres non romanesques. Il a été chroniqueur pour des journaux tels The Globe and Mail et The Vancouver Sun. 

Prix et reconnaissance

Les comédies musicales de Gray ont remporté le Dora Mavor Moore Award (Rock and Roll), le Los Angeles Drama Critics Award, le Chalmers Award et d'autres prix (Billy Bishop Goes to War). Pour ses autres écrits, il a remporté un National Magazine Award et plusieurs Western Magazine Awards. En 2000, M. Gray a été nommé Officier de l'Ordre du Canada. 







L'Encyclopédie canadienne © 2007 La Fondation Historica du Canada. Tous droits réservés. 

Betty Nygaard King
vers 2007
CANADA Provinces de l'Atlantique, Provinces de l'Atlantique, CANADA
© 2007, Fondation Historica du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons