McCord Museum of Canadian History, Montreal

Located right in the centre of Montreal, the McCord Museum provides a wonderful voyage through time. Are you ready? Then let’s go!

It is a wonderful spot to learn about Canadian history through archaeology, costumes, archives, old photographs, paintings and decorative arts. You can also admire Canada’s Aboriginal heritage.

A Vision for the Future

The McCord Museum of Canadian History invites the public to take a journey through time. Located in the province of Quebec in the heart of downtown Montreal, the McCord Museum provides an exhilarating museum experience, especially designed to develop the discovery and appreciation of history.

The museum’s founder, David Ross McCord, belonged to a well-known Irish family of merchants and lawyers who settled in Canada at the end of the 18th century. An enthusiastic supporter of the preservation of objects associated with Canada’s history, David Ross McCord searched the length and breadth of the country for various objects, which he selected for their beauty as well as for their historical significance. In 1919, he gave McGill University some 15,000 objects from his enormous collection with the aim of laying the foundation of a museum of Canadian history. In 1921, the McCord Museum opened its doors and fifty years later, the museum is lodged in the old McGill University Centre. The elegant McCord Museum building, the work of the well-known architect Percy Nobbs, reflects the influence of the English Arts and Crafts Movement.

In the interest of better serving its visitors, the Museum undertook an ambitious expansion and renovation project in 1989 with a view to integrating the old and the new in a dynamic way.

A Window on Canada’s History

The McCord Museum of Canadian History houses one of the most remarkable historical collections in North America. The museum’s holdings cover five main areas: ethnology and archaeology; costumes and textiles; the Notman document and photography archives; paintings, stamps and sketches; and decorative arts. They bring together more than 13,000 Aboriginal objects, 750,000 historical photographs and over 16,000 costumes and accessories. The ethnology and archaeology collection is the largest of its kind in Quebec and the costume section is an authority in this field in Canada.

The McCord Museum collection is the highpoint of exhibitions. Using ingenious display techniques, thematic exhibitions give objects the ability to speak and the power to evoke other eras and ways of life. The First Nations permanent collection is a captivating showcase for Aboriginal objects which highlights the wonderful heritage of Aboriginal cultures throughout Canada. Although the museum’s priority is the display of the various parts of its collection, travelling exhibits are an essential aspect of its permanent exhibition program.


CHIN
The McCord Museum of Canadian History

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne, Montréal

Situé en plein cœur de Montréal, le Musée McCord t’offre un merveilleux voyage dans le temps. Tu es prêt ? Allons-y !

C’est le lieu idéal pour découvrir l’histoire canadienne vue à travers l’archéologie, les costumes, les archives, les photographies anciennes, les peintures et les arts décoratifs. Tu peux aussi admirer le patrimoine autochtone du Canada.

Une vision pour l’avenir

Le Musée McCord d’histoire canadienne invite le public à faire un voyage dans le temps. Situé dans la province de Québec, au cœur du centre-ville de Montréal, le McCord propose une expérience muséale exaltante, conçue spécialement pour enrichir la découverte et l’appréciation de l’histoire.

Le fondateur du Musée, David Ross McCord, faisait partie d’une éminente famille irlandaise de négociants et d’avocats qui s’établirent au Canada à la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Passionné pour la conservation d’objets associés à l’histoire canadienne, David Ross McCord sondera l’étendue du pays à la recherche d’objets divers qu’il sélectionnera tant pour leur beauté que pour leur signification historique. En 1919, il fait don à l’Université McGill de quelque 15 000 objets tirés de sa vaste collection, dans le but de jeter les bases d’un musée d’histoire canadienne. En 1921, le McCord ouvre ses portes et cinquante ans plus tard, le Musée s’installe dans l’ancien Centre universitaire de McGill. Œuvre d’un architecte de grand renom, Percy Nobbs, l’élégant bâtiment du McCord reflète l’influence du mouvement Arts and Crafts anglais.

En 1989, désireux de mieux servir ses visiteurs, le Musée entreprend un ambitieux projet d’agrandissement et de rénovation dans une optique d’intégration dynamique de l’ancien et du moderne.

Une fenêtre sur l’histoire du Canada

Le Musée McCord d’histoire canadienne abrite l’une des collections historiques les plus remarquables en Amérique du Nord. Le fonds du Musée, qui compte cinq principaux volets – Ethnologie et archéologie ; Costume et textiles ; Archives textuelles et Archives photographiques Notman ; Peintures, estampes et dessins ; Arts décoratifs – réunit plus de 13 000 objets autochtones, 750 000 photographies historiques et au-delà de 16 000 costumes et accessoires. Le volet Ethnologie et archéologie est le plus important du genre au Québec, et celui du Costume fait autorité dans le domaine au Canada.

La collection du McCord est la pièce maîtresse des expositions. Faisant appel à des techniques de présentation ingénieuses, les expositions thématiques donnent la parole aux objets et leur confèrent le pouvoir d’évoquer d’autres époques et modes de vie. La salle permanente des Premières nations, qui constitue une vitrine captivante d’objets autochtones, met en relief l’admirable patrimoine des cultures autochtones de l’ensemble du Canada. Bien que le Musée présente en priorité les divers volets de sa collection, les expositions itinérantes constituent une facette essentielle de son programme permanent d’exposition.


RCIP
Le Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons