From the river, in 1752, an emigrant family must have seen the crane that stood over the famous Gothic cathedral, which had been under construction for 500 years. The cathedral contains relics of the Three Magi, making the city an important place of pilgrimage.

Cologne is one of the most important cities in German history, and one of the oldest. The Romans declared it a city in 50 A.D., a hundred years after Caesar had conquered Gaul to the banks of the Rhine. They called it Colonia Claudia Ara Agrippinensium. The "permanent" bridge they built over the Rhine in 310 was gone long before Jakob’s family passed through.

The citizens of Cologne took power from the archbishops in 1288 and governed the city themselves until the French occupied the city in 1794. During this period it became an important and wealthy trading city of the Hanseatic League.

"Eau de Cologne" was first produced in 1709.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz,

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Lorsque, en 1752, ils ont remonté le fleuve, Jakob et sa famille n’ont sans doute pas manqué de voir la cigogne qui dominait la cathédrale de Cologne, alors en construction depuis plus de 500 ans. Les ogives de cette église gothique abritent le tombeau des rois mages, ce qui fait de l’endroit un important lieu de pèlerinage.

Cologne est l’une des villes les plus anciennes et les plus importantes de l’histoire allemande. Fondée par les Romains en l’an 50 après Jésus-Christ, cent ans après que César eut repoussé jusqu’au Rhin les frontières de la Gaule, elle s’appelait alors Colonia Agrippinensis (« colonie d’Agrippine »). Cependant, le pont « permanent » qui y fut construit en 310 avait disparu depuis longtemps lorsque le bateau transportant Jakob et sa famille traversa Cologne.

S’étant soustraits au pouvoir de l’archevêché en 1288, les citoyens de Cologne assurèrent eux-mêmes le gouvernement de leur ville jusqu’à l’occupation de celle-ci par les Français, en 1794. Pendant cette période, Cologne devint une ville prospère et un membre important de la Ligue hanséatique.

L’« eau de Cologne » fut produite pour la première fois en 1709.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz,

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons