Don Messer and His Islanders - The New Brunswick Lumberjacks

Don Messer and His Islanders. Old-time music group, the most popular in Canada during the mid-20th century, largely on the basis of its CBC radio and TV series. It was formed in 1939 for CFCY radio in Charlottetown by the fiddler Don (Donald Charles Frederick) Messer (b Tweedside, near Fredericton, 9 May 1909, d Halifax 26 Mar 1973).

Messer, who began playing the violin at five, learned fiddle tunes from local players - his uncle Jim Messer, Bowman Little, Charlie Bell, and others - and Scottish and Irish songs from his mother. At seven he was performing at barn dances, weddings, and other social gatherings in the area. After living for three years in Boston, where his studies with Henry Davis and Edith Hurter constituted his only formal instruction in music, he began his radio career in 1929 on CFBO, Saint John, NB. A local merchant subsequently sponsored regular programs by Messer's small band.

In 1934 the band began a radio show for the CRBC, broadcasting from CHSJ (Saint John) under the name the New Brunswick Lumberjacks. Charlie Chamberlain (b Bathurst, NB, 14 Jul 1911, d there 16 Jul 1972), Messer's long-time vocalist and the only band member who had worked in lumber camps, joined at this time. The studio band grew to as many as 19 performers (including Chamberlain, Ned Landry playing harmonica, the bassist-banjoist Julius 'Duke' Nielsen, Maunsell O'Neil providing continuity in the persona of an Acadian lumberjack dubbed 'Joe LeBlanc,' and Eldon Rathburn, piano). Messer led a smaller group, the Backwoods Breakdown, in his personal appearances throughout the Maritimes and the northeastern USA.

On joining CFCY, Charlottetown, as music director in September 1939, Messer formed the Islanders - Chamberlain, Nielsen, Jackie Doyle (piano), Ray Simmons (clarinet and, later, also announcer, replacing Art MacDonald), and Bill LeBlanc (drums). By 1944 the group was heard nationally thrice weekly on the CBC.

Personnel changed over the years, but included such long-time members as the drummer Warren MacRae (who joined in 1942), the pianist Waldo Munro (1951), and the guitarist-fiddler Cecil McEachern (1951). Other instrumentalists, including the banjoist Vic Mullen and the organist Ray Calder, played with the Islanders for shorter periods. The singer Marg Osburne (b Moncton, NB, 1926, d Rocklyn, Ont, 16 Jul 1977) joined in 1947 and became (with Messer and Chamberlain) the artist most commonly identified with the Islanders.

Once the show was established as one of the most popular on Canadian radio, Messer and the Islanders began to appear outside the Maritimes, making their first tour of Ontario in 1949. They had made 18 tours by 1969, including a centennial trip in 1967 that lasted three months and covered 61 centres.

In 1956 the group began to appear regularly on CHBY-TV, Halifax. A nationally broadcast CBC TV summer series 'The Don Messer Show,' begun 7 Aug 1959, continued in the fall as 'Don Messer's Jubilee'. The show won a wide audience, and its cancellation in 1969 brought many complaints from viewers and raised questions in the House of Commons. However, a syndicated version of 'Don Messer's Jubilee' originating from CHCH-TV, Hamilton, Ont, began that same year and continued until Messer's death.

Messer and the 'Jubilee' cast were also seen in the NFB feature Don Messer: His Land and His Music (1971) and excerpts from the TV series were later issued in a CBC Enterprises video, Don Messer's Jubilee, in 1985. The show itself, a half-hour program, was rigidly structured, beginning with 'Goin' to the Barndance Tonight' and including a couple of fiddle tunes by Messer, songs from Osburne, Chamberlain (who favoured Irish material), and a guest performer, a closing hymn sung by Osburne and Chamberlain, and 'Till We Meet Again' played under the final credits.

Regular performers added during the TV era included the Buchta Dancers, led by Gunter and Irma Buchta, and the Scottish accordionist-singer Johnny Forrest who joined in 1966. Frequent guest performers included 'Stompin' Tom' Connors, Myrna Lorrie, Catherine McKinnon, Fred McKenna, and Graham Townsend. With the demise of 'Don Messer's Jubilee' Marg Osburne began a nightclub career - she enjoyed particular success in western Canada - and was host in 1977 for CBC TV's 'That Maritime Feeling'. Of her post-Messer recordings for Marathon (record label), 'Blues Comin' Round' was popular in 1974.

Messer insisted that his music was "not Western or cowboy music. Our tunes have been around for two or three hundred years. They're folk tunes passed from generation to generation" (CBC Times 11-17 Apr 1964). Besides traditional hornpipes, jigs, and reels, the Islanders played many tunes by Messer, as well as pieces by Al Cherny, Andy DeJarlis, Jim Magill, Graham Townsend, and others. Messer recorded some 35 78s 1942-52 for Apex - popular titles included Rippling Water Jig, Woodchoppers Breakdown, Cotton Eyed Joe, Don Messer's Breakdown, Highlevel Hornpipe, and Spud Island Breakdown - and has had some 30 LPs issued or reissued by Apex, MCA, Rodeo, and Rodeo's affiliate labels. The compliation LP The Good Old Days (MCA TVLP-79052) was issued in 1979 to some 100,000 advance orders. Folios of Messer's own compositions were published by Thompson: Original Old Tyme Music (1942), 'Way Down Fiddlin' Tunes (1948), Canadian Hoedowns (1952), and Barndance Breakdowns (1954). A fifth was published by Canadian Music Sales in 1967.

Messer has been credited (by folklorists Dorothy and Homer Hogan in their liner notes for Graham Townsend's LP The Great Canadian Fiddle) with a synthesis of the many and varied fiddle traditions in Canada, influencing other fiddlers with a style "as clean, straight-ahead and neat as a well-tended farm" and marked by its "down-to-earth simplicity". Recordings dedicated to Messer by Townsend, Bill Guest, and Reg Hill attest to his stature among Canadian fiddlers. His library and papers were deposited at the Public Archives of Nova Scotia, and one of his fiddles was placed in the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville. He was inducted posthumously into the CCMA Hall of Honor in 1985 and, with Chamberlain and Osburne, into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame in 1989.

A musical, Don Messer's Jubilee, described as a 'fan letter' by its composer, John Gray, was premiered in 1985 by the Neptune Theatre in Halifax and subsequently toured in Canada. In 1989 a Theatre Plus production in Toronto found Catherine McKinnon in the role of Marg Osburne.

Author Richard Green





The Canadian Encyclopedia © 2007 Historica Foundation of Canada

Richard Green
20th Century
CANADA Atlantic Provinces, Atlantic Provinces, CANADA
CANADA
© 2007 Historica Foundation of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Don Messer and His Islanders - Les Bûcherons du Nouveau-Brunswick

« Don Messer and His Islanders. »  Ensemble de musique du bon vieux temps, le plus populaire au Canada au milieu du 20e siècle surtout grâce à ses émissions de radio et de télévision pour la SRC. Il a été formé en 1939 pour jouer à la station radiophonique CFCY à Charlottetown, par le violoneux Don (Donald Charles Frederick) Messer (Tweedside, près Fredericton, 9 mai 1909 - Halifax, 26 mars 1973).

Messer, qui a commencé à jouer du violon à cinq ans, a appris des airs de violoneux auprès d'interprètes locaux - son oncle Jim Messer, Bowman Little, Charlie Bell et d'autres. Il a appris également de sa mère des chansons écossaises et irlandaises. À sept ans, il se produisait à des soirées de danses campagnardes, à des mariages et à d'autres réunions sociales dans la région. Après avoir vécu trois ans à Boston où il a fait ses seules études musicales officielles avec Henry Davis et Edith Hurter, il a commencé sa carrière à la radio en 1929, à la station CFBO de Saint John (N.-B). Un marchand local commandita subséquemment les émissions régulières du petit ensemble de Messer.

En 1934, le groupe a entrepris, sous le nom de "New Brunswick Lumberjacks", une série radiophonique à la CCR, en provenance de la station CHSJ de Saint John. Charlie Chamberlain (Bathurst, N.-B., 14 juillet 1911 - 16 juillet 1972), le seul membre du groupe qui avait travaillé dans des camps de bûcherons, s'est joint à l'ensemble à cette époque; il a longtemps été le chanteur attitré de Messer. Le groupe de studio a compté jusqu'à 19 exécutants dont Chamberlain, Ned Landry à l'harmonica, Julius « Duke » Nielsen à la contrebasse et au banjo, Maunsell O'Neil qui incarnait le personnage d'un bûcheron acadien baptisé « Joe LeBlanc », et Eldon Rathburn au piano. Messer a dirigé également un groupe plus restreint. The Backwoods Breakdown, dans ses spectacles personnels aux Maritimes et au nord-est des États-Unis.

Quand il est entré à la station CFCY de Charlottetown à titre de directeur musical en septembre 1939, il a formé les Islanders - Chamberlain, Nielsen, Jackie Doyle (piano), Ray Simmons (clarinette et, plus tard, également annonceur, pour remplacer Art MacDonald) et Bill LeBlanc (batterie). En 1944, le groupe se faisait entendre trois fois la semaine au réseau national de la SRC.

 Le personnel a changé au cours des années mais a regroupé des membres de longue date tels que le batteur Warren MacRae (qui s'est joint à l'ensemble en 1942), le pianiste Waldo Munro (1951) et le guitariste et violoneux Cecil McEachern (1951). D'autres instrumentistes, dont le joueur de banjo Vic Mullen et l'organiste Ray Calder, ont joué avec les Islanders pendant des périodes plus brèves. La chanteuse Marg Osburne (Moncton, N.-B., 1926 - Rocklyn, Ont., 16 juillet 1977) s'est joint au groupe en 1947 et est devenue (avec Messer et Chamberlain) l'artiste la plus souvent identifiée aux Islanders.

Dès que l'émission a été parmi les plus populaires de la radio canadienne, Messer et les Islanders ont commencé à se produire à l'extérieur des Maritimes en effectuant leur première tournée en Ontario en 1949. En 1969, ils avaient déjà fait 18 tournées, dont, en 1967, un voyage du centenaire, de 3 mois et incluant 61 villes.

En 1956, l'ensemble a commencé à paraître régulièrement à la station CHBY-TV de Halifax. « The Don Messer Show », série estivale présentée au réseau national de la télévision de la SRC, a débuté le 7 août 1959 et s'est poursuivi jusqu'à l'automne sous le titre de « Don Messer's Jubilee ». L'émission a touché un vaste auditoire et son annulation en 1969 a suscité de nombreuses protestations de la part des téléspectateurs; il en a même été question à la Chambre des communes. Néanmoins, une version de « Don Messer's Jubilee » en provenance de la station CHCH-TV à Hamilton (Ontario), et mise à la disposition de nombreuses stations a débuté a même année et s'est poursuivie jusqu'à la mort de Messer.

Messer et la troupe de « Jubilee » figurent dans un film de l'ONF intitulé Don Messer: His Land and His Music (1971) et des extraits d'émissions de télévision ont eté par la suite commercialisés sur vidéo par les Entreprises de la SRC sous le titre Don Messer's Jubilee en 1985.

« Don Messer's Jubilee », une émission d'une demi-heure, suivait un plan bien établi. Elle commençait par « Goin' to the Barndance Tonight » et incluait quelques airs de violoneux par Messer, des chansons par Osburne puis Chamberlain (qui préférait les chansons irlandaises) et un artiste invité, et s'achevait par un hymne chanté par Osburne et Chamberlain et « Till We Meet Again », joué pendant le déroulement du générique.

Les invités réguliers qui ont participé à la série télévisée ont été les Buchta Dancers, dirigés par Gunter et Irma Buchta, et l'accordéoniste et chanteur écossais Johnny Forrest qui s'est joint à l'ensemble en 1966. Au nombre des artistes fréquemment invités figuraient Stompin' Tom Connors, Myrna Lorrie, Catherine McKinnon, Fred McKenna et Graham Townsend. À la cessation du « Don Messer's Jubilee », Marg Osburne a entrepris une carrière au cabaret, particulièrement fructueuse dans l'ouest du Canada, et a animé l'émission de télévision « That Maritime Feeling » à la SRC (1977). Parmi les microsillons qu'elle a enregistrés par la suite pour Marathon, « Blues Comin' Round » a connu du succès en 1974.

Messer insistait sur le fait que sa musique n'était « pas de la musique western ou de cow-boy. Nos airs sont vieux de deux ou trois cents ans. Ce sont des airs de folklore transmis de génération en génération » (CBC Times, 11-17 avril 1964). En plus des traditionnels « hornpipes », gigues et reels, les Islanders ont joué de nombreux airs de Messer ainsi que d'Al Cherny, Andy DeJarlis, Jim Magill, Graham Townsend et d'autres. Messer a enregistré quelque trente-cinq 78t. pour Apex entre 1942 et 1952; parmi les plus populaires, citons Rippling Water Jig, Woodchoppers Breakdown, Cotton Eyed Joe, Don Messer's Breakdown, Highlevel Hornpipe et Spud Island Breakdown. Plus de 30 microsillons ont aussi parus chez Apex, MCA, Rodeo et des étiquettes affiliées à Rodeo. La compilation The Good Old Days (MCA TVLP-79052) a paru en 1980 avec plus de 100 000 exemplaires commandés à l'avance. Des recueils de pièces de Messer ont été publiés chez Thompson : Original Old Tyme Music (1942), « Way Down Fiddlin » Tunes (1948), Canadian Hoedowns (1952) et Barndance Breakdowns (1954). Un cinquième recueil a paru chez Canadian Music Sales en 1967.

Dans leur notice sur la pochette du microsillon de Graham Townsend The Great Canadian Fiddle, les folkloristes Dorothy et Homer Hogan signalent que Messer a réalisé une synthèse des traditions nombreuses et diversifiées des violoneux au Canada, en influençant d'autres violoneux par un style « aussi propre, direct et soigné qu'une ferme bien entretenue » et marqué par « une simplicité toute terrienne ». Sa stature parmi les violoneux canadiens est attestée par les microsellons que lui ont dédiés Townsend, Bill Guest et Reg Hill. Le Country Music Hall of Fame à Nashville conserve un de ses violons et sa bibliothèque et ses documents personnels ont été déposés aux archives provinciales de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a été admis à titre posthume au Hall of Honour de la CCMA en 1985 et au Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame en 1989 avec Chamberlain et Osburne.

Une comédie musicale, que l'auteur John Gray décrit comme la lettre d'un admirateur, a été créée au Neptune Theatre à Halifax en 1985, avant de partir en tournée au Canada. Le Theatre Plus de Toronto en a donné une nouvelle version en 1989, avec Catherine McKinnon dans le rôle de Marg Osburne.

Auteur Richard Green 






L'Encyclopédie canadienne © 2007 Fondation Historica du Canada
Richard Green
20e siècle
CANADA Provinces de l'Atlantique, Provinces de l'Atlantique, CANADA
CANADA
© 2007, Fondation Historica du Canada. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons