Michael Whelan by W.D. Hamilton

Information on Whelan by W.D. Hamilton in Michael Whelan: Folk Poet of Renous River, A Collection of his poetry, selected and edited by Michael O. Nowlan, New Ireland Press, 1990

In a letter from Lord Beaverbrook to Whelan (n.d.):
“I remember your poems very well in the columns of the Union Advocate [Newcastle-Miramichi] when I was a boy, and I admired your work greatly.”  (p. 132)

In a letter from Hon. R.B. Bennett, only Prime Minister from New Brunswick (n.d.):
“I have read your poems and articles in the Chatham World [Chatham-Miramichi]and always with enjoyment.”  (p. 141)

“He walked and hitchhiked wherever he went,” remembered one woman. “There weren’t many cars in those days,” she added, “so he took what he could get, including a horse and wagon.” According to Father Robert Grattan, Michael travelled “the length and breadth of the Miramichi valley” with “bunyoned feet” encased in “ordinary rubbers” secured with “ordinary string.” “For those who knew him personally,” he stated, “he was their rubber-shod poet, selling copies of his various poems to anyone who would give him a dime.”

Most physical descriptions of Michael emphasize his height. Dorothea Cox, after speaking with a number of people who remembered him, described him as “a tall, lanky man, wearing an old cap and trousers too short by inches – trousers ‘measured in a snow-drift,’ as the local phrase has it.” According to Joseph Kehoe, who once taxied him from Grainfield to Blackville with his horse and wagon, “Mick was about six feet, seven inches tall – and of a lovely appearance.” Another man described Michael as having been “three axe handles tall and as wiry as a spring trap.”

Michael lived in the Newcastle-Chatham area in his later years and thus became estranged from his family and home community. It is evident that in his old age, at least, Michael had few, if any, true friends or loved ones among his many acquaintances on the Miramichi – and when he was no longer able to support himself, he had to enter the county home (or alms house) in Chatham, where he died on May 10, 1937. The North Shore Leader [Newcastle-Miramichi] of May 21 carried the following obituary:

"Michael Whalen (sic), the well-known poet of the Miramichi, passed away at Chatham on Monday, May 10th, at the advanced age of seventy-nine years.
The deceased gentleman was born at Renous River, a son of William and Mary (Carey) Whalen, natives of Ireland (sic), and was the last member of his family. He was famous all over the Miramichi for his poetry, especially extolling the beauties of the Miramichi River and the Renous District. Life has been a hard struggle for Mr. Whalen for poetic aspirations do not produce much in hard cash and no doubt he had many bitter days, but he was always cheerful and deeply appreciative of those who did him a kindness. He was an extremely well read man, with a real touch of Irish wit and his conversational powers were broad. The funeral was held on Tuesday morning to St. Michael’s Cathedral, where Requiem Mass was celebrated by Rev. Dr. Pichette. Internment was made in St. Michael’s cemetery."

The obituary writer delicately avoided mentioning the fact that “the deceased gentleman died in the poor house and that his remains were consigned to a pauper’s grave.  (pp. 141-142)

It is evident from Michael’s writing that he experienced a great sense of loss over the death of his parents and the departure of so many of the other members of hsi family [to the United States], but it has been suggested that much of the grief and sadness expressed in Michael’s early work was caused by the death of Margaret Singleton, with whom he is said to have been in love. This occurrence supposedly fixed Michael’s journey on a bachelor’s path throughout life and also marked the beginning of his well-known affection for the bottle. “Michael never drank before that,” stated one informant, “and he never stopped afterwards.” Father Grattan stated with a touch of Irish humor that Michael was allegedly addicted to “A drop of the Creature [which he] often ingested as medicine to warm the blood of the weary traveller.” Michael has nothing at all to say in his writing either about his drinking habit or the tragic love affair which is said to have altered the course of his life.         (p. 132)

During his lifetime, Michael was a successful folk poet, and fifty years after his death he remains a hero within both the Miramichi folk tradition and the Irish Catholic tradition of the province. (p. 143)

Although the exact place in St. Michael’s Cemetery, Chatham [now part of Miramichi City], where Michael Whelan was buried is not known, a group of concerned citizens raised money for a tombstone to show their “respect and appreciation of this true Poet of Renous and the whole Miramichi area.” In 1981 a memorial stone was erected in St. Michael’s Cemetery in his honour.



W.D. Hamilton
c. 1900
CANADA Northern New Brunswick, New Brunswick, Northern New Brunswick, CANADA
© 1987, W.D. Hamilton, Mi'kmaq-Maliseet Institute, UNB. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Renseignements sur Michael Whelan réunis par W. D. Hamilton dans Michael Whelan: Folk Poet of Renous River, Collection de poèmes sélectionnés et publiés par Michael O. Nowlan, New Ireland Press, 1990.

Dans une lettre de Lord Beaverbrook à Whelan (n.d.) : 

« Je me souviens très bien de vos poèmes publiés dans l’Union Advocate [Newcastle-Miramichi] quand j’étais jeune, et j’admirais beaucoup votre travail. »  (p. 132)

Dans une lettre de l’Hon. R.B. Bennett, seul premier ministre originaire du Nouveau Brunswick (n.d.) : 

« J’ai lu vos poèmes et vos articles dans le Chatham World [Chatham-Miramichi], toujours avec plaisir. »  (p. 141) 

« Il marchait et faisait de l’autostop partout où il allait, se rappelle une femme. Il n’y avait pas beaucoup d’autos en ce temps-là, dit-elle, donc, il prenait les moyens du bord, y compris une voiture à cheval. » Selon le père Robert Grattan, Michael a parcouru « la vallée de la Miramichi de long en large » ses « pattes de lapin » enfoncées dans des « caoutchoucs ordinaires » attachés avec de la « ficelle ordinaire ». « Pour ceux qui le connaissaient personnellement, écrit-il, il était le poète aux bottes en caoutchouc qui vendait des copies de ses divers poèmes à quiconque pouvait lui donner dix sous. »

La plupart des descriptions physiques de Michael mettent l’accent sur sa grandeur. Dorothea Cox, d’après les témoignages qu’elle a recueillis auprès de plusieurs personnes qui se souvenaient de lui, le décrit comme « un homme grand et maigre portant une vieille casquette et des pantalons trop courts de plusieurs pouces – dont la longueur avait été mesurée sur un banc de neige, comme disaient les gens. » Joseph Kehoe, qui l’a une fois conduit en taxi de Grainfield à Blackville avec son cheval et sa calèche, a dit que « Mick mesurait environ six pieds sept pouces et était bel homme ». Un autre homme a dit que Michael « mesurait trois manches de hache de hauteur et était aussi ‘prime’ qu’un piège à ressort. »

Plus tard dans sa vie, Michael a vécu dans la région de Newcastle-Chatham, séparé de sa famille et de son milieu communautaire. De toute évidence, du moins dans sa vieillesse, Michael avait peu d’amis véritables ou d’êtres chers, sinon aucun, parmi ses nombreuses connaissances dans la région de Miramichi, et quand il est devenu incapable de subvenir à ses besoins, il a dû entrer à l’hospice (ou asile pour les pauvres) à Chatham où il est décédé le 10 mai 1937. Le North Shore Leader [Newcastle-Miramichi] du 21 mai publiait la notice nécrologique suivante [traduction] :

"Michael Whalen (sic), poète bien connu de la région de Miramichi, s’est éteint à Chatham le lundi 10 mai à l’âge avancé de soixante-dix-neuf ans. Le défunt, né à Renous River, était le fils de William et Mary (Carey) Whalen, originaires d’Irlande. Il était le dernier membre de sa famille. Il était connu dans toute la région de Miramichi pour sa poésie faisant l’éloge des beautés de la rivière Miramichi et du district de Renous. La vie a été un dur combat pour M. Whalen, car les aspirations poétiques ne produisent pas beaucoup d’argent liquide, et il a sans doute connu bien des jours difficiles, mais il était toujours de bonne humeur et reconnaissant envers ceux qui lui étaient gentils. Il était très cultivé et avait un brin de bel esprit irlandais, et sa capacité de soutenir une conversation était grande. Les funérailles ont eu lieu à la cathédrale St. Michael où une messe de requiem a été célébrée par le révérend Pichette. Il a été enterré au cimetière St. Michael."

L’auteur de l’article nécrologique a évité de mentionner le fait que le défunt était mort à l’asile des pauvres et que sa dépouille avait été mise dans une fosse commune.  (p. 141 et 142)

Cela se voit dans ses écrits que Michael a vécu un fort sentiment de perte à la mort de ses parents et au départ de nombreux autres membres de sa famille [aux États-Unis], mais il appert qu'une grande part du chagrin et de la tristesse exprimés dans les premiers ouvrages de Michael a été causée par la mort de Margaret Singleton, avec qui, selon les ouï-dire, il avait été en amour. Cet évènement aurait soi-disant fixé la destinée de Michael sur la voie du célibat, à laquelle il n’a pas dérogé de sa vie, et marqué aussi le début de son affection bien connue pour la bouteille. « Michael n’avait jamais bu avant ça, déclare un informateur, et il n’a jamais arrêté après. » Le père Grattan déclarait, avec une touche d’humour irlandais, que Michael était devenu dépendant d’ « A drop of the Creature [which he] often ingested as medicine to warm the blood of the weary traveller. » [une goutte de la créature [qu'il a] souvent ingurgitée comme médicament pour réchauffer le sang du voyageur fatigué.] Dans ses écrits, Michael ne révèle rien de son habitude de boire de l’alcool ni de son histoire d’amour tragique dont on dit quelle aurait changé le cours de sa vie. (p. 132)

Durant toute sa vie, Michael a été un poète folklorique apprécié, et cinquante ans après sa mort, il reste un héros, autant dans la tradition folklorique de la région de Miramichi que dans la tradition catholique irlandaise de la province. (p. 143)

Même si on ne connaît pas l’emplacement exact où Michael Whelan est enterré dans le cimetière St. Michael, à Chatham [maintenant fusionnée à la ville de Miramichi], un groupe de citoyens concernés a réuni des fonds pour une pierre tombale « en témoignage de respect et d’appréciation de ce vrai poète de Renous et de l’ensemble de la région de Miramichi. » En 1981, une pierre commémorative a été érigée dans le cimetière St. Michael en l’honneur de Michael Whelan.






W.D. Hamilton
vers 1900
CANADA Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, CANADA
© 1987, W.D. Hamilton, Mi'kmaq-Maliseet Institute, UNB. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons