Emily Carr scholar Kerry Mason discusses Carr’s evolution as an artist by highlighting aspects of her training and techniques as well as her influences and by referencing several of Carr’s paintings at the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria.

Art Gallery of Greater Victoria
Kerry Mason, History in Art Instructor, University of Victoria
1927 - 1945
Victoria, British Columbia, CANADA
FRANCE
UNITED STATES
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


Transcript

Hello, I’m Kerry Mason, I teach history in art and the University of Victoria. My specialty is Emily Carr and Northwest Coast Art.

For this brief video I’m going to focus on one chapter of Emily Carr’s fascinating life and works, her mature period. It begins with Emily Carr’s participation in the “Exhibition of West Coast Art” in December, 1927 where she meets the Group of Seven, and the period ends with her death , March 2nd, 1945.

Of the group of seven, Lawren Harris in particular had a profound effect on her. His paintings, she said, spoke to her very soul. He encouraged her to simplify her forms, eliminate the non-essentials and exaggerate the important. His enthusiasm for her work boosted her confidence. The support and encouragement from all the members of the Group of Seven helped propel her to the heights she achieved.

In the late 1920’s Carr as also influenced by the American abstractionist, Mark Tobey, who shared his enthusiasm for Braque, Picasso, and Cubism in general. With Tobey, Carr concentrated in creating more contrast in her work and also experimented in breaking the subject into geometric forms.

Two works from the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria which predate Carr’s mature period illuminate themes and styles as well as subject matter of her later works.

Totem Walk, Sitka, a 1907 watercolour from her trip to Alaska is an example of Carr’s early, academy base representational style and also and early example of two of the main themes in Carr’s work which came to full expression in her “mature period”: First Nations subject matter and forest landscapes.

We see in Brittany Coast, a wonderful watercolour in which Carr has embraced Post Impressionism in the loose and vigorous brushwork, vibrant colour and realization of light. In Fauve style she has made the leap from a detailed, realistic study to an emotional, spontaneous response.

The lessons learned in France come through in Carr’s much later and exuberant paintings of Broom, Beacon Hill Park, and the sky paintings such as Sea and Sky, all of which were painted in the last 15 years of her life. Above the Gravel Pit is another oil on paper work where we see the quick brush strokes, rich colour, disregard for detail and supreme manifestation of emotion in the energetic composition. These 1930s - 1945 paintings are spiritual paintings. Many are ecstatic expressions of Carr’s personal connection with God. For Carr, nature was the manifestation of God and the paintings of the sky and forest landscapes of her mature period are celebrations of this.

Emily Carr’s death at the age of 73 marked the passing of a courageous, vibrant woman whose talents live on in the legacy of her writings and art. At the time of her death Emily Carr was recognized as Canada’s foremost woman artist/writer; today her stature as one of Canada’s greatest artists continues to grow.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Kerry Mason, spécialiste d’Emily Carr, parle de l’évolution de Carr en tant qu’artiste en soulignant des aspects de sa formation, de ses techniques ainsi que de ses influences et en faisant référence à plusieurs peintures de l’Art Gallery of Greater Victoria.

Art Gallery of Greater Victoria
Kerry Mason, instructeur de l’histoire dans l’art, Université de Victoria
1927 - 1945
FRANCE
ÉTATS-UNIS
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
© 2007, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


Transcription

Bonjour, je m’appelle Kerry Mason. J’enseigne l’histoire et les arts à l’Université de Victoria. Ma spécialité est Emily Carr et l’art du littoral du nord-ouest.

Pour cette brève vidéo, je vais me concentrer sur un chapitre de la vie et des œuvres fascinantes d’Emily Carr, sa période de maturité. Cette période commence avec la participation d’Emily Carr à l’Exhibition of West Coast Art en décembre 1927, où elle a rencontré le Groupe des Sept, et se termine à sa mort le 2 mars 1945.

Du Groupe des Sept, Lawren Harris, en particulier, a eu beaucoup d’influence sur elle. Elle disait que les peintures de Harris parlaient à son âme. Harris l’a encouragé à simplifier ses formes, à éliminer les non essentiels et à exagérer l’important. Son enthousiasme pour le travail de Carr a augmenté la confiance de celle-ci. Le soutien et l’encouragement de tous les membres du Groupe des Sept l’ont aidé à la propulser vers les sommets qu’elle a atteints.

À la fin des années 1920, Carr a également été influencée par l’abstractionniste états-unien Mark Tobey, qui partageait son enthousiasme pour Braque, Picasso et le cubisme en général. Avec Tobey, Carr s’est concentrée à créer davantage de contrastes dans ses œuvres et elle a également expérimenté avec la division du sujet en formes géométriques.

Deux œuvres de l’Art Gallery of Greater Victoria qui ont précédé la période de maturité de Carr illustrent les thèmes et les styles ainsi que les sujets de ses œuvres ultérieures.

Totem Walk, Sitka, une aquarelle de 1907, faite lors de son voyage en Alaska, est un exemple de l’ancien style académique représentationnel de Carr et aussi un exemple de deux des thèmes principaux dans les œuvres de Carr, qui ont atteint leur pleine expression dans sa « période de maturité » : les Premières nations et les paysages de forêt.

Dans Brittany Coast, nous voyons une magnifique aquarelle dans laquelle Carr a adopté le postimpressionnisme dans ses coups de pinceau vigoureux, dans ses couleurs vibrantes et sa réalisation de la couleur. Dans le style Fauve, elle est passée d’une étude détaillée et réaliste à une réaction émotionnelle et spontanée.

Les leçons apprises en France ont fait surface beaucoup plus tard dans les peintures exubérantes de Carr de Broom au parc Beacon Hill, ainsi que dans les peintures du ciel telles que Sea and Sky, qui ont été peintes dans les quinze dernières années de sa vie. Above the Gravel Pit est une autre peinture à l’huile sur papier où nous pouvons voir ses coups de pinceau rapides, son indifférence pour les détails et la manifestation suprême de l’émotion dans la composition énergétique. Ces peintures de 1930 à 1945 sont des peintures spirituelles. Plusieurs sont des expressions extatiques du lien personnel de Carr ave Dieu. Pour Carr, la nature était la manifestation de Dieu et les peintures du ciel et des paysages de forêt de sa période de maturité en sont des célébrations.

La mort d’Emily Carr à 73 ans a marqué le passage d’une femme courageuse et pleine de vie dont les talents vivent dans l’héritage de ses écrits et de son art. À sa mort, Emily Carr était reconnue comme une des principales artistes et écrivaines du Canada. Aujourd’hui, sa réputation en tant qu’une des plus grandes artistes du Canada continue de croître.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons