How does this view relate to plants?

Ayurveda recognizes that the same five elements constitute plants, the human body, and everything else in the universe. Ayurvedic herbology (Dravya Guna Vigyan) describes the action of foods and herbs through five fundamental principles: 
 
Taste (Rasa), such as sweet, sour, bitter, salt, pungent, astringent

Qualities (Gun), such as heavy, light, cold, hot, dry, oily

Potency (Veerya), i.e. effect on a system or organ.

Post-digestive action (Vipak), such as sweet, sour, and pungent.

Specific effect (Prabhav)

These five factors of herb action take effect through a dominant element or a combination of the five elements. Knowing this combination is the basis for determining the effect of foods and herbs on body-mind and consciousness.

The idea is to use proper foods, herbs, lifestyle, and routine in order to create and maintain a balance (Swa-stha) of vata, pitta, and kapha, bodily tissues, digestion and metabolism, as well as to clear channels and foster happy senses, mind, and consciousness. All these are part of the holistic definition of a healthy individual.
Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Comment cette conception est-elle reliée aux plantes?

L’ayurveda reconnaît que les cinq mêmes éléments sont à la base des plantes, du corps humain et de tout le reste de l’univers. L’herboristerie ayurvédique (Dravya Guna Vigyan) décrit l’action des aliments et des plantes par le biais de cinq principes fondamentaux :  
 
Goût (Rasa) : sucré, acide, amer, salé, piquant, astringent.

Qualités (Gunas) : lourd, léger, froid, chaud, sec, huileux.

Capacité (Veerya) : effet sur un système ou un organe.

Action post-digestive (Vipaka) : sucré, acide et piquant.

Effet spécifique (Prabhava).

Ces cinq facteurs des plantes font effet par l’entremise d’un élément dominant ou d’une combinaison des cinq éléments. Il faut connaître cette combinaison pour déterminer les effets des aliments et des plantes sur le corps, l’esprit et la conscience.

Il s’agit de combiner correctement les aliments, les plantes, le style de vie et les habitudes afin de créer et de maintenir l’équilibre (Swastha) entre vata, pitta et kapha (les tissus organiques, la digestion et le métabolisme), de purger les canaux et de stimuler les sensations de bonheur, l’esprit et la conscience. Tout ce qui précède fait partie de la définition holistique d’une personne en bonne santé.
Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons