How do you know how strong the active ingredient or ingredients are within the plants you grow in your backyard?

I deal with it internally. I know that this is the plant I want, I ask from the plant what I want, and the plant gives me what it has to give. And I trust that the plant and the person who will use it will be able to find a way to meet and the person to get what they need out of that plant.

This approach has very pragmatic things about it. The plant that I harvest in my backyard is much more full of vitality and life than any plant that was mixed up with things and pressed into a pill, with heat, from plant powders that have been shipped around the globe then into Canada.

Also, the fact that I'm an herbalist and that I know the plants and I have communication with plants, carries over into the relationship that that person is going to have with the plant. This I believe is a way grander approach than focusing on the molecules that came from that plant. What I harvest, when I harvest it, and how I transform it is the very pragmatic way of getting what I want out of that plant.

And the other pragmatic aspect is that my dosage range can vary enormously from one person to another. I always start with very small dosages, and some people stay with that because it's enough for them, they can feel it. And some people will take up to five droppers six times a day, and that's fine, because that's what they need. And the relationship between the person and the plant is beyond me, you know, I'm a matchmaker.

Because we work with living material, with plants and people, all of this can take place. That can never happen with something totally inert.


Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Comment mesurez-vous la puissance des ingrédients actifs des plantes que vous cultivez dans votre jardin?

Je le sens en moi. Je sais que c’est la plante que je veux, je lui demande de me donner ce que je veux d’elle, et elle me donne ce qu’elle a. Je pars du principe que la plante et la personne qui l’utilisera trouveront le moyen d’établir un rapport et que la personne trouvera dans la plante ce dont elle a besoin. 

Cette approche a des aspects très pragmatiques. La plante que je récolte dans mon jardin a beaucoup plus de vitalité que n’importe quelle plante transformée en comprimé, par un procédé thermique, qui contient d’autres plantes réduites en poudre qui ont fait le tour du monde avant d’aboutir au Canada.

De plus, le fait que je suis une herboriste, que je connais les plantes et que je communique avec elles se fait sentir dans la relation qu’une personne aura avec la plante qu’elle prendra. Je pense que c’est une bien meilleure approche que de se concentrer sur les molécules qui viennent des plantes. Le choix de la plante à cueillir, le moment où je la récolte et la manière dont je la transforme : c’est le processus très pragmatique qui me permet d’en tirer ce que je veux.

Les doses que je prescris peuvent varier énormément d’une personne à l’autre, ce qui est un autre aspect pragmatique de mon travail. Je commence toujours par de très légères doses, ce qui suffit pour certaines personnes; elles le sentent. D’autres prennent jusqu’à cinq gouttes six fois par jour parce que c’est ce dont elles ont besoin. Je n’interviens pas dans l’interaction entre la personne et la plante, je suis une
« marieuse » .

Tout cela est possible parce que nous travaillons avec des plantes et des personnes qui sont vivantes. Ce n’est jamais possible avec quelque chose qui est totalement inerte.
Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons