What challenges do you and other plant-medicine researchers face?

One of the problems with these herbal treatments is that they have not been subjected to rigorous and validated scientific study, so most of the evidence we have that they work is based on anecdotal case reports or investigators telling us that they work.

One of the major problems we've run into with these compounds is the lack of standardization. It's taken us many, many months to find compounds that are standardized and stable and that we know will be standardized and equivalent from batch to batch.

We've also had to do stability studies, because many of these compounds don't remain stable in the form that we buy them. We've been upset to find that many of the compounds that we can buy do not contain the active ingredient in the dose or the stability that is suggested by the label. And there's significant batch-to-batch variation. So we've had to go back to suppliers and start all over again, and we're making our own supply of Pygeum africanum and Serenoa repens for use in our study.


Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

À quelles difficultés vous et d'autres chercheurs vous heurtez-vous?

Une des difficultés avec les traitements à base de plantes, c'est qu'ils n'ont pas fait l'objet d'études scientifiques rigoureuses et validées, si bien que les preuves de leur efficacité reposent sur des rapports anecdotiques ou sur les affirmations de chercheurs qui nous disent qu'ils sont efficaces.

L'absence de normalisation est une des plus grandes difficultés avec ces composés. Il nous a fallu de nombreux mois pour trouver des composés normalisés et stables et dont nous sommes certains qu'ils seront normalisés et équivalents d'une récolte à l'autre.

Nous avons également effectué des études de stabilité, parce que nombre de ces composés ne demeurent pas stables sous la forme sous laquelle nous les achetons. Nous avons été choqués de voir qu'un grand nombre des composés que nous achetons ne contiennent pas la dose d'ingrédient actif ou n'ont pas la stabilité mentionnées sur l'étiquette. Nous avons donc rappelé les fournisseurs et nous sommes repartis à zéro. Maintenant, nous produisons nous-mêmes les composés de chou palmiste nain et de Pygeum africanum dont nous avons besoin pour notre étude.
Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons