Vancouver Aquarium Marine Mammal Rescue

Join Sheryl Barber as she takes you on a tour of the Aquarium's Marine Mammal Rescue Centre. Follow this link.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Transcript

Sheryl Barber:

If any person sees any marine mammal that they think is in distress, it’s really important to contact us first before taking any action. We’re trained to assess the situation and determine whether that animal actually needs assistance.

My name is Sheryl, and I work with the Marine Mammal Rescue Program of the Vancouver Aquarium, and we’re here at the Vancouver Harbour at our Marine Mammal Rescue Centre.

Once we’ve made a decision to rescue an animal, and we’ve brought it into our rescue centre, we begin by getting a really thorough assessment of that animal’s condition. So we examine it, and that way we can get a really good picture of what that animal might be suffering from.

In over forty years we’ve had many different species of marine mammals through our program. The most common animal that we get is the harbour seal pup, but we’ve also had sea lions, dolphins, whales, and even sea otters.

The Vancouver Aquarium is dedicated to effecting the conservation of aquatic life. That means taking care of all animals in distress. So, if we have a harbour seal that has lost its mom or, say, an animal is injured because of something that people have done, we have a responsibility to act.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Marine Mammal Rescue de l'Aquarium de Vancouver

Joins-toi à Sheryl Barber qui te fera visiter le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre de l'Aquarium de Vancouver. Suivez ce lien.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Transcription

Sheryl Barber:

Si quelqu’un voit un mammifère marin qu’il ou elle pense être en détresse, il est très important de nous contacter avant de faire quoi que ce soit. Nous sommes formés pour évaluer la situation et déterminer si l’animal a vraiment besoin d’aide.

Mon nom est Sheryl, et je travaille avec le programme de réhabilitation des mammifères marins de l’Aquarium de Vancouver, et nous sommes ici, au port de Vancouver, à notre Centre de réhabilitation des mammifères marins.

Une fois que nous avons décidé d’aider un animal, et que nous avons amené ce dernier au Centre, nous commençons par une évaluation exhaustive de l’état de l’animal. Alors nous l’examinons, et ainsi, obtenons une bonne idée de ce dont cet animal peut souffrir.

En plus de quarante ans, nous avons reçu plusieurs espèces différentes de mammifères marins par l’entremise de notre programme. L’animal le plus communément accueilli ici est le bébé phoque commun, mais nous avons également eu des lions de mer, des dauphins, des baleines et même des loutres de mer.

L’Aquarium de Vancouver se consacre à la conservation de la vie aquatique. Cela inclut de prendre soin de tous les animaux en détresse. Alors, si nous avons un bébé phoque ayant perdu sa mère, ou un animal ayant été blessé à cause de quelque chose que les gens ont fait, nous avons la responsabilité d’agir.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons