Being a marine biologist isn’t always exciting. Sometimes it means sitting in an office, answering phone calls, and entering data into a computer. Yet, this deskwork can be just as important to helping whales, porpoises and dolphins as studying them in the field.

Doug Sandilands and Nadine Pinnell know this. As researchers for the B.C. Cetacean Sightings Network, they spend a lot of time collecting information from members of the public. The reports and pictures arrive by email, over the phone, or via logbooks.

Whale accountants

Once the data is collected, Aquarium volunteers enter the information into a database. This database has over 20,000 entries and is growing every week.

If the information is accompanied by a photograph of a killer whale, experts must identify which individual it is. This is not an easy task, even though they have a catalogue of all known whales for reference. Sometimes the only difference between two whales is a spot on one’s saddle patch or a nick on another’s dorsal fin.

Want to try your hand at identifying killer whales? Check out our Familiar fins section to get the lowdown.
Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Être biologiste marin n’est pas toujours excitant. Parfois cela signifie rester assis au bureau, à répondre au téléphone et à entrer des données sur l’ordinateur. Cela dit, ce travail peut être aussi important pour aider les baleines et les dauphins que de les étudier directement sur le terrain.

Doug Sandilands et Nadine Pinnell le savent très bien. En tant que chercheurs pour le réseau B.C. Cetacean Sightings Network, ils passent beaucoup de temps à recueillir de l’information des membres du publique. Les rapports et les photos arrivent par courriel, par téléphone, ou via les journaux de bord.

Comptables bénévoles

Une fois les données récoltées, des bénévoles de l’Aquarium entrent l’information dans la base de données. Celle-ci compte plus de 20,000 entrées et grandit à chaque semaine.

Si l’information est accompagnée de la photo d’un épaulard, les experts doivent identifier de quel individu il s’agit. Ce n’est pas une tâche facile, même s’ils ont pour référence un catalogue de toutes les baleines connues. Parfois la seule différence entre deux baleines est une tache sur la selle de l’un ou une indentation sur la nageoire dorsale de l’autre.

Tu veux essayer d’identifier des épaulards? Jette un coup d’œil à notre section Nageoires familières pour tester tes habiletés.
Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons