Microorganism: the parasites Plasmodium falciparum, Plasmodium vivax

Disease: malaria, paludism

Occurrence of the disease

History: malaria is the infectious disease that has had the most impact on humans, notably contributing to the fall of the Greek and Roman empires. Ancient Chinese and Hindi texts mention this disease, describing the fever and chills that are typical of malaria. Several researchers, from Hippocrates at the end of the Vth century BC to Ronald Ross in 1902, studied malaria to finally demonstrate that this disease is transmitted by mosquitoes. This explained why people exposed to swampy environments were often affected. In 1955, the Word Health Organization began a malaria eradication program, which was largely unsuccessful: the mosquitoes became increasingly resistant to the insecticides and the parasites became increasingly resistant to medication.

Current situation: In most temperate zones as well as in several sub-tropical regions, malaria has either never existed or has been eradicated. However, it remains one of the most important diseases in nearly all tropical countries. Worldwide, more than 100 million individuals are infected annually and nearly one million of them die.

Mechanism of action of the microorganism: the bite of a Plasmodium-infected mosquito allows the parasite to get into the bloodstream. It travels to the liver to reproduce and then invades the oxygen-carrying blood cells. When the parasite is in the bloodstream, it can be picked up by another mosquito, which can spread the disease to new individuals by biting them.

Symptoms of the disease: fever, cough, chills, sweating, diarrhea, and headaches. Furthermore, the disease can evolve toward renal, pulmonary, or cerebral problems and can even lead to coma and death.

Incubation period: seven to 14 days

Contagious period: a mosquito can transmit malaria during its entire life. In humans, the parasite can be transmitted to mosquitoes for about a year.

Hosts: humans and mosquitoes

Transmission: transmission occurs through the bite of a mosquito of the genus Anopheles. The bite allows the insect to ingest contaminated blood. When the mosquito bites another human, it liberates the parasite into the individual’s blood.

Certain populations of west Africa are resistant to malaria. The hemoglobin of these individuals has a mutation that makes it impossible for the malaria-causing parasite to reproduce. Unfortunately, this mutation is responsible for a disease called falciform anemia, which is accompanied by chronic fatigue. Not an interesting choice to make!

Discoverer or the microorganism: Laveran in 1880

Treatment: chloroquine, if the diagnosis is rapid.

Geographical distribution of the microorganism: the forests of South America, southeast Asia and the southern Sahara in Africa.

Prevention: eliminate the breeding grounds of anopheles mosquitoes when they are near human populations. Administer chloroquine or mefloquine preventively. It is also recommended to use insecticides, to install mosquito nets around the bed and to close the windows in the evening and at night.

Vaccine: not available


Armand-Frappier Museum

© Armand-Frappier Museum, 2008. All rights reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Nom de l’espèce : le parasite Plasmodium falciparum, Plasmodium vivax

Nom de la maladie : malaria, paludisme

Historique de la maladie

Passé : la malaria est la maladie infectieuse qui a eu le plus d’impact sur les humains, contribuant notamment à la chute des empires grec et romain. D'anciens écrits chinois et hindous font mention de cette maladie, décrivant les symptômes de fièvre et de frissons qui sont typiques de la malaria. Plusieurs chercheurs, dont Hippocrate à la fin du Ve siècle avant J.-C. jusqu’à Ronald Ross en 1902, ont étudié la malaria pour finalement démontrer que cette maladie était transmise par des moustiques. Cela expliquait que les gens exposés à des environnements marécageux étaient souvent atteints par cette maladie. En 1955, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé entama un programme d’éradication de la malaria, mais sans succès : les moustiques et les parasites devinrent de plus en plus résistants les uns aux insecticides, les autres aux médicaments.

Présent : La malaria n’a jamais existé ou elle a été éradiquée dans la plupart des zones tempérées et dans plusieurs régions subtropicales. Elle demeure toutefois l’une des maladies les plus importantes dans presque tous les pays tropicaux. Plus de 100 millions d’individus sont infectés annuellement dans le monde et près d’un million en meurt.

Mode d’action du micro-organisme : la piqûre d’un moustique porteur de Plasmodium permet au parasite de pénétrer dans la circulation sanguine. Il se rend d’abord jusqu’au foie pour se reproduire puis envahit les cellules sanguines porteuses d’oxygène. Lorsque le parasite est dans le sang, il peut être repris par un autre moustique qui, en piquant de nouveaux individus, répand la maladie.

Symptômes de la maladie : fièvre, toux, frissons, sueur, diarrhée, maux de tête. De plus, la maladie peut évoluer vers des problèmes rénaux, pulmonaires et cérébraux, voire le coma et la mort.

Période d’incubation : sept à quatorze jours

Période de transmissibilité : chez les moustiques, la malaria demeure transmissible toute leur vie. Chez l’humain, le parasite peut être transmis aux moustiques durant environ un an.

Réservoir : les humains et les moustiques

Propagation : la transmission s’effectue par la piqûre du moustique du genre Anopheles. La piqûre permet à l’insecte d’ingérer du sang contaminé. Lorsque le moustique piquera un autre humain, il libérera le parasite dans le sang de l’individu.

Découvreur de l’espèce : Laveran en 1880

Traitement de la maladie : la chloroquine si le diagnostic est rapide.

Distribution de l’espèce : les forêts de l’Amérique du Sud, le sud-est de l’Asie et dans le sud du Sahara, en Afrique

Prévention : élimination des sites de reproduction des moustiques anophèles à proximité des populations humaines. Chloroquine ou mefloquine en prévention. Il est aussi conseillé d’utiliser des insecticides, des moustiquaires autour du lit, de fermer les fenêtres au crépuscule et durant la nuit.

Vaccin : non disponible

Autres : il existe certaines populations de l’Ouest africain qui sont résistantes à la malaria. L’hémoglobine de ces individus possède une mutation qui rend impossible la reproduction du parasite causant la malaria. Malheureusement, cette même mutation est responsable d’une maladie appelée anémie falciforme qui se traduit par une fatigue chronique. Pas joyeux comme choix !


Musée Armand-Frappier

© Musée Armand-Frappier, 2008. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons