Microorganism: prion

Disease: Creutzfeldt-Jakob

Occurrence of the disease

Current situation: At the end of the 1950s, the American neurologist, Carleton Gajdusek, was vacationing in Australia where, according to some of his colleagues, a tribe from Papua - New Guinea was affected by a disease known as kuru. Gajdosek went to Papua and settled there to study the disease. In the tribe’s language, the word kuru means “to tremble.” Victims of the disease generally lost control of their movements and died three months to a year after the appearance of the first symptoms. Women were more affected than men (3:1) and children, regardless of their sex, were more affected than were adults.

Autopsies of the brains of people affected by kuru revealed holes in their neurons (spongiform encephalopathy). Gajdusek then discovered that the members of the tribe practiced a post-mortem ritual: cannibalism. The causal agent for the disease, located mostly in the brain, was transmitted through this ritual. Certain parts of the deceased, such as the muscles, were reserved for the men. The brain and the internal organs were reserved for women and children. When cannibalism was discontinued, kuru disappeared.

By searching the literature, William Hadlow discovered that humans suffering from Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, fatal familial insomnia, and Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker disease showed the same symptoms. Furthermore, the symptoms of scrapie and mad cow disease were also identical. In fact, the same type of agent causes all these diseases: prions.

Mechanism of action of the microorganism: prions are mainly found in brain neurons (message transmitters and receptors) and in neurons of the central nervous system (certain types of nerves). The cellular protein PrPc is normally present in the nervous systems of animals. In the presence of PrPsc (sc for scrapie, the term used to designate the disease caused by prions in sheep), PrPc undergoes a change in conformation to become an infectious protein itself: a prion.

Symptoms of the disease: confusion, motor disturbances (lack of coordination), dementia, nervous tics, memory impairment, insomnia, etc.

Incubation period: from 15 months to 30 years

Contagious period: the tissues of the central nervous system are contagious while symptoms are present but a few studies have shown that the disease may be transmissible even before the symptoms appear.

Hosts: humans and possibly animals

Transmission: poorly defined. Often, propagation is associated with the transplantation or the injection of infected tissues. Some researchers also believe that the consumption of meat containing prions responsible for mad cow disease can lead to Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease.

Mad cow disease is often associated with Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease because prions are responsible for both diseases. Because the inter-species incubation period is between ten and 40 years, it will take some time before we are able to attribute Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease to the ingestion of prion-contaminated bovine meat.

Discoverer of the microorganism: Stanley B. Prusiner

Treatment: none

Geographical distribution of the microorganism: this disease has been reported worldwide

Prevention: being very careful, during organ transplantation, to avoid using tissue infected with prions. In Canada, we do not accept blood donors who have recently spent time in England.

Vaccine: not available


Armand-Frappier Museum

© Armand-Frappier Museum, 2008. All rights reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Nom de l’espèce : prion

Nom de la maladie : Maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob

Historique de la maladie : À la fin des années 1950, le neurologue américain Carleton Gajdosek prit des vacances en Australie, là où, selon les dires de certains de ses confrères, une tribu de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée se trouvait affectée d’une maladie appelée kuru. Il alla en Papouasie et s’y installa pour étudier la maladie dont le terme, kuru, signifie « trembler » dans la langue des membres de la tribu. Les victimes souffraient d’une perte de contrôle des mouvements puis mouraient entre trois mois et un an après l’apparition des symptômes. Les femmes étaient davantage affectées que les hommes (3 : 1) et les enfants, indépendamment de leur sexe, plus que les adultes.

Les autopsies démontrèrent que le cerveau des personnes atteintes de kuru présentait des trous dans les neurones (encéphalite spongiforme). Gajdosek découvrit ensuite que les membres de la tribu pratiquaient un rituel post-mortem : le cannibalisme. L’agent causant la maladie, localisé de façon prédominante dans le cerveau, était transmis à travers ce rituel. Certaines parties du mort comme les muscles, étaient réservées aux hommes. Le cerveau et les organes internes étaient réservés aux femmes et aux enfants. Lorsqu’on mit un terme au cannibalisme, le kuru disparut.

En cherchant dans la littérature scientifique, Gajdosek découvrit que la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob, l’insomnie familiale mortelle ainsi que le syndrome familial de Gerstmann-Straussler chez les humains se manifestaient par les mêmes symptômes. D’autre part, la tremblante du mouton et la maladie de la vache folle présentent des symptômes identiques. En fait, toutes ces maladies sont causées par le même type d’agents, les prions.

Mode d’action du microbe : les prions se retrouvent surtout dans les neurones (émetteurs et récepteurs de message) du cerveau et du système nerveux central (certains types de nerfs). La protéine cellulaire PrPc serait normalement présente dans le système nerveux des animaux. En présence du prion PrPsc (sc pour scrapie, le terme anglais qui désigne la maladie que causent les prions chez les moutons), cette dernière subirait un changement de conformation pour devenir à son tour une protéine infectieuse : un prion.

Symptômes de la maladie : confusion, troubles moteurs (manque de coordination), démence, tics, troubles de la mémoire, insomnie, etc.

Période d’incubation : de quinze mois à trente ans

Période de transmissibilité : les tissus du système nerveux central sont contagieux durant la période symptomatique, mais quelques études montrent que la maladie pourrait être transmissible même avant.

Réservoir : les humains et possiblement des animaux

Propagation : mal définie. Souvent, la propagation est associée à la transplantation ou à l’injection de tissus infectés. Des chercheurs croient également que la consommation de viande contenant les prions responsables de la maladie de la vache folle peut entraîner la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob.

Découvreur de l’espèce : Stanley B. Prusiner

Traitement de la maladie : aucun

Distribution de l’espèce : cette maladie a été rapportée partout dans le monde

Prévention : porter une attention particulière lors de la transplantation d'organe afin d'éviter d'utiliser des tissus infectés par des prions. Au Canada, on n’accepte pas le sang de donneurs qui ont récemment séjourné en Angleterre.

Vaccin : non disponible

Autres : la maladie de la vache folle est souvent associée à la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob, car les prions sont responsables des deux maladies. Puisque l’incubation inter-espèce est de dix à quarante ans, ce n’est qu’à long terme que l’on pourra éventuellement attribuer la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob à l’ingestion de viande bovine contaminée par les prions.


Musée Armand-Frappier

© Musée Armand-Frappier, 2008. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons